Artificial Intelligence and Ethics

Experts predict that in 5 years' time, more than 90% of all digital content will be wholly or partially AI generated. In a synthetic society, it may no longer be possible to establish what is real and what is not. Central to this open access book are 4 technologies on the frontline of this trend: humanoid robots, deepfakes, augmented reality, and virtual reality. Although they are only in their relative infancy, these technologies can already produce content that is indistinguishable from authentic material. The impact of this new reality on democracy, the judicial system, the functioning of the press, as well as on personal relationships will be unprecedented. Van der Sloot describes the technological fundaments of each of those technologies and maps their positive uses for educational purposes as well as for the treatment of patients, for the entertainment and creative industries, and the retail and financial sectors. The book also conceptualises their negative uses for fraud, deception, exploitation, identity-theft and exploitation, and shows their deeper effects on the post-truth society, the privatisation of the public sphere, and the loss of individual autonomy and societal trust. The book evaluates how the current European legal paradigm applies to these technologies, focussing on the right to privacy and data protection, freedom of expression, procedural law, tort law, and the regulation of AI. It discusses regulatory alternatives to solve existing regulatory gaps and shows that there are no easy answers. The ebook editions of this book are available open access under a CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 licence on bloomsburycollections.com.

As artificial intelligence (AI) continues to seep into more areas of society and culture, critical social perspectives on its technologies are more urgent than ever before. Bringing together state-of-the-art research from experienced scholars across disciplines, this Handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the current state of critical AI studies. Moving beyond narrow technological definitions of AI, the Handbook provides readers with an in-depth understanding of its social, ethical and political implications. Chapters cover a broad range of timely issues related to AI, including the risk of bias and discrimination in its systems, its impact on democracy and governance, concerns surrounding privacy and surveillance, and the use of its technologies in decision-making processes. Underscoring the urgent need for deeper critical analyses of AI, the Handbook constitutes a major contribution to the ongoing discussion about what critical studies of AI can entail, what questions they may pose, and what concepts they can offer to address them. Rich in theoretical and empirical analysis, this cutting-edge Handbook will prove an invaluable resource for students and scholars of digital sociology and science and technology studies. Its extensive coverage of this emerging field will also appeal to practitioners, developers and policymakers seeking orientation in the complex social and political dynamics of AI.

This open access collection of AI ethics case studies is the first book to present real-life case studies combined with commentaries and strategies for overcoming ethical challenges. Case studies are one of the best ways to learn about ethical dilemmas and to achieve insights into various complexities and stakeholder perspectives. Given the omnipresence of AI ethics in academic, policy and media debates, the book will be suitable for a wide range of audiences, from scholars of different disciplines (e.g. AI science, ethics, politics, philosophy, economics) to policy-makers, lobbying NGOs, teachers and the educated public.

Can there even be an applied ethics of digital images? What content could such a normative ethics have? And finally: What is the relationship between ethics and the law of digital images? This book collects contributions of an interdisciplinary German-Italian conference in the Villa Vigoni funded by the DFG to explore the ethical questions raised by digital images.

How did racism creep into the algorithms that govern our daily lives, from banking and shopping, to job applications? Connecting the legacy of enlightenment racism to forms of discrimination in modern day algorithms and Artificial Intelligence, this volume examines what data feeds into AI technology - and how this data will shape the future of humanity. Delving into the narratives enveloping the development of AI systems, with a particular emphasis on "tech-giants" and the ideas of Mark Zuckerberg, Elon Musk and Bill Gates, Arshin Adib-Moghaddam explains how and why technology aids and abets various forms of extremism, entrenches social hierarchies and discriminatory boundaries and how this will impact international security and human rights in the future.

Data sharing - broadly defined as the exchange of health-related data among multiple controllers and processors - has gained increased relevance in the health sciences over recent years as the need and demand for collaboration has increased. This includes data obtained through healthcare provisions, clinical trials, observational studies, public health surveillance programs, and other data collection methods. The practice of data sharing presents several notable challenges, however. Compliance with a complex and dynamic regulatory framework is essential, with the General Data Protection Regulation being a prominent example in a European context. Recent regulatory developments related to clinical trial transparency, trade secrecy, data access, AI training data, and health data spaces further contribute to the difficulties. Simultaneously, government initiatives often encourage scientists to embrace principles of "open data" and "open innovation." The variety of regulations in this domain has the potential to impede widespread data sharing and hinder innovation. This edited volume, therefore, compiles comparative case studies authored by leading scholars from diverse disciplines and jurisdictions. The book aims to outline the legal complexities of data sharing. By examining real-world scenarios from diverse disciplines and a global perspective, it explores the normative, policy, and ethical dilemmas that surround data sharing in the health sciences today. Chapter Patient Perspectives on Data Sharing, Chapter Supplementary Measures and Appropriate Safeguards for International Transfers of Health Data after Schrems II are available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com.

This volume examines how the adoption of AI technologies is likely to impact strategic and operational planning, and the possible future tactical scenarios for conventional, unconventional, cyber, space and nuclear force structures. In addition to developments in the USA, Britain, Russia and China, the volume also explores how different Asian and European countries are actively integrating AI into their military readiness. It studies the effect of AI and related technologies in training regimens and command structures. The book also covers the ethical and legal aspects of AI augmented warfare. The volume will be of great interest to scholars, students and researchers of military and strategic studies, defence studies, artificial intelligence and ethics.

This book addresses issues of legal and moral governance arising in the development, deployment, and eventual uses of emerging technologies in military operations. Proverbial wisdom has it that law and morality always lag behind technological innovation. Hence, the book aims to identify, enumerate, and constructively address the problems of adequate governance for the development, deployment, and eventual uses of military technologies that have been newly introduced into military operations or which will be available in the near future. Proposals for modifications in governance, the book argues, closely track the anxieties of many critics of these technologies to the extent that they will proliferate, prove destructive in unanticipated ways, and partially or wholly escape regulation under current treaties and regulatory regimes. In addition to such concerns in domestic and especially in international law, the book addresses ethical norms in the professions involved in the design and eventual use of specific technologies, principally involving the professional norms of practice in engineering and the military (as well as biomedical and health care practice), which impose moral obligations on their members to avoid reckless endangerment or criminal negligence in the course of their activities. Thus, in addition to exploring the application of existing legal regimes and moral norms, the book examines how these professions might develop or improve the voluntary constraints on forms of malfeasance that are enshrined in their histories and codes of best practices. This book should prove of great interest to students of ethics, military studies, philosophy of war and peace, law, and international relations.

The Ethics of Artificial Intelligence in Education identifies and confronts key ethical issues generated over years of AI research, development, and deployment in learning contexts. Adaptive, automated, and data-driven education systems are increasingly being implemented in universities, schools, and corporate training worldwide, but the ethical consequences of engaging with these technologies remain unexplored. Featuring expert perspectives from inside and outside the AIED scholarly community, this book provides AI researchers, learning scientists, educational technologists, and others with questions, frameworks, guidelines, policies, and regulations to ensure the positive impact of artificial intelligence in learning.

This interdisciplinary textbook serves as a solid introduction to the future of legal education against the background of the widespread use of AI written by colleagues from different disciplines, e.g. law, philosophy/ethics, economy, and computer science, whose common interest concerns AI and its impact on legal and ethical issues. The book provides, first, a general overview of the effects of AI on major disciplines such as ethics, law, economy, political science, and healthcare. Secondly, it offers a comprehensive analysis of major key issues concerning law: (a) AI decision-making, (b) rights, status, and responsibility, (c) regulation and standardisation, and (d) education.

Transportation typically entails crucial "life-death" choices, delegating crucial decisions to an AI algorithm without any explanation poses a serious threat. Hence, explainability and responsible AI is crucial in the context of intelligent transportation. In Intelligence Transportation System (ITS) implementations such as traffic management systems and autonomous driving applications, AI-based control mechanisms are gaining prominence. Explainable artificial intelligence for intelligent transportation system tackling certain challenges in the field of autonomous vehicle, traffic management system, data integration and analytics and monitor the surrounding environment. The book discusses and inform researchers on explainable Intelligent Transportation system. It also discusses prospective methods and techniques for enabling the interpretability of transportation systems. The book further focuses on ethical considerations apart from technical considerations.

This book gives a comprehensive overview of the state of Artificial Intelligence (AI), especially machine learning (ML) applications in public service delivery in Estonia, discussing the manifold ethical and legal issues that arise under both European and Estonian law. Final conclusions and recommendations set out and analyze various policy options for the public sector, taking into account recent developments at the European level - such as the AIA proposal - as well as the experience of countries that have issued principles and guidelines or even laws for the use of ML in the public sector.  "For two reasons, this study is relevant not only for an audience which is interested in Estonian administrative law. First, the authors base their legal analysis primarily on EU law and provide a state of the art-analysis of the relevant secondary legislation. This makes the book a reference text for the European debate on public sector AI governance. Second, this study is part ofa larger research project in which four specific use cases of public sector AI have been developed and tested. The practical insights gained in these projects have provided the authors with an excellent understanding of the opportunities and risks of the technology, which distinguishes this legal analysis from similar enterprises." Excerpt from the foreword by Professor Thomas Wischmeyer (University of Bielefeld) 

This timely book presents a detailed analysis of the role of law and regulation in the utilisation of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in the media sector. As well as contributing to the wider discussion on law and AI, the book also digs deeper by exploring pressing issues at the intersections of AI, media, and the law. Chapters critically re-examine various rights and responsibilities from the perspectives of incentives for accountable utilisation of AI in the industry. Featuring chapters from leading scholars in the field, Artificial Intelligence and the Media provides a timely and in-depth research-based contribution to complex themes - especially at the interface of new technology (including AI) with media and regulation. Analysing both legislative and ethical solutions, chapters explore what "AI" and "accountability" mean in terms of media practices, principles, and power relations, as well as how to address the AI revolution with informed law and policy in order to incentivise accountable utilisation of AI and to reduce negative societal impacts. Offering ideas for further research in the area, this book is key reading for academics and researchers in the fields of information and media law, regulation, and technology law. It may also interest media law practitioners, with research-based guidance for everyday practices and tools to prepare for future developments in the area.