LibGuides: Selected Online Reading on European Citizenship: E-books

Selected e-books

European Union Citizenship Law and Policy by Dora Kostakopoulou
ISBN: 9781786431585
Publication Date: 2020-09-22
This theoretically ambitious work combines analytical, institutional and critical approaches in order to provide an in-depth, panoramic and contextual account of European Union citizenship law and policy. Offering a refreshing perspective on the origins, evolution and trajectory of EU citizenship law, Dora Kostakopoulou explores recent developments, controversies and challenges, including Brexit, and fills a lacuna in the existing literature. Through an interdisciplinary approach, this insightful book combines legal studies with normative political theory, political science, sociology and critical migration studies in order to arm readers with the tools required to appreciate and understand the constructive potential and transformative effects of this fascinating and unique institution. Provocative and forward-thinking, it provides glimpses of an alternative future for EU citizenship. Students and scholars working in European law and policy, citizenship, migration and internal market law will find this book to be an engaging and timely read. Its more practical elements will also appeal to government officials, lobbyists and practitioners involved in law and policy-making, as well as to individuals working on transnational processes and globalisation.
European Papers on EU Citizenship and Rights by Dimitry Kochenov (Editor); Elise Muir (Editor); Nathan Cambien (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004433076
Publication Date: 2020-09-10
European citizenship is facing numerous challenges, including fundamental rights and social justice considerations. These get amplified in the context of Brexit and the general rise of populism in Europe today. This book takes a representative selection of these challenges, which raise a multitude of highly complex issues, as an invitation to provide a critical appraisal of the current state of the EU legal framework surrounding EU citizenship. The contributions are grouped in four parts, dealing with constitutional developments posing challenges to EU citizenship; the limits of the free movement paradigm in the context of EU citizenship; EU citizenship beyond free movement; and, lastly, EU citizenship in the context of the outside world, including Brexit, the EEA and Eurasian Economic Union.
EU Citizenship and Free Movement Rights by Sandra Mantu (Editor); Paul Minderhoud (Editor); Elspeth Guild (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004411784
Publication Date: 2020-04-09
This collective volume examines how EU citizenship reconstructs in unexpected ways what citizenship as a status means and stands for. EU citizenship can neither be accurately described as a citizenship status similar to national citizenship, nor as an immigration one. The book examines the tension at the heart of attempts to grasp the nature of EU citizenship as supranational status in relation to family reunification, social rights and expulsion. It shows that while events such as Brexit stress the importance of EU citizenship, the construction of supranational citizenship along the axis of non-discrimination and equality remains a work in progress that requires the efforts of all actors involved - institutions, implementing authorities, courts and citizens.
European Citizenship and Identity Outside of the European Union by Agnieszka Weinar
ISBN: 9781138543638
Publication Date: 2019-07-30
This book critically engages with the concept of European identity and citizenship, and the role of the European Union in diaspora, membership and emigration policies. It presents original research on European governance of emigration and citizenship and considers European integration in a global context. It questions whether there can be a European diaspora outside the European Union, if European governance of emigration is possible, and whether the EU can or should govern its diasporas in the global era. By engaging with concepts of European citizenship, diaspora and identity, the author examines the weak meaning of Europe for EU nationals living abroad and finds that European public spaces, present and sustained within the European Union territory, are largely not exported outside of it. Equal treatment and equal rights become empty concepts for Europeans leaving the European Union as they lose their European citizenship. This book will be of key interest to scholars and students of European Union politics, European studies, migration studies, American and Canadian studies, and the sociology of migration.
Boundaries of European Social Citizenship by Anna Amelina
ISBN: 9780367249830
Publication Date: 2019-10-10
This edited collection contributes to studies of intra-EU migration and mobility, welfare, and European social citizenship by focusing on transnational labour movements from new to the old EU member states (Hungary-Austria, Bulgaria-Germany, Poland-UK and Estonia-Sweden). The volume provides a comparative analysis of formal organization and mobile individuals' use of European social security coordination, which involves mobile Europeans' access to and portability of social security rights from the sending to the receiving country (and back). The book discloses the selectivity criteria of welfare provision in four areas (unemployment, family benefits, health insurance, and pensions) that lay at heart of European cross-border social security governance. It also identifies specific discourses of belonging (gendered, ethnicized/racialized and class-related images of 'Us' and 'Them') that frame the institutional selectivity by constructing images of mobile EUcitizens' 'deserving' or 'non-deserving' social membership. The collection offers a detailed examination of inequality experiences mobile EU citizens from the new EU countries encounter while accessing and porting social security rights across borders. It will be of interest to a wide range of social science and interdisciplinary researchers, students, and practitioners as well as those interested in intra-EU migration and mobility, social security, European social citizenship, and transnational studies.
European Citizenship in Perspective by Jan van der Harst (Editor); Gerhard Hoogers (Editor); Gerrit Voerman (Editor)
ISBN: 9781786435798
Publication Date: 2018-06-29
Since 1992 the EU has incorporated a concept previously exclusive to states: citizenship. In embracing supranational citizenship the EU entered terra incognita, creating a concept resembling, but essentially different to traditional citizenship. This book provides an in-depth historical, political and constitutional analysis of the first 25 years of EU citizenship.Bringing together scholars from the fields of law, political science and history, this book takes a multidisciplinary approach to EU citizenship. It examines the history and development of EU citizenship, the roles of institutional and political actors, and the dynamics which it created in the post-Maastricht accession process, providing readers with a unique multifaceted examination of the topic. Exploring new insights into the nature and importance of EU citizenship, this book shows that after a quarter of a century EU citizenship has lost none of its game-changing potential, and remains one of the most important features of EU law.Students of European law and politics and international relations will find this concise book an invaluable tool, with interesting and original insights into the present status of a key aspect of EU law. Its multidisciplinary approach will also help professionals working in fields relating to the subject.
Debating European Citizenship by Rainer Baubock (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319899046
Publication Date: 2018-09-24
This open access book raises crucial questions about the citizenship of the European Union. Is it a new citizenship beyond the nation-state although it is derived from Member State nationality? Who should get it? What rights and duties does it entail? Should EU citizens living in other Member States be able to vote there in national elections? If there are tensions between free movement and social rights, which should take priority? And should the European Court of Justice determine what European citizenship is about or the legislative institutions of the EU or national parliaments? This book collects a wide range of answers to these questions from legal scholars, political scientists, and political practitioners. It is structured as a series of three conversations in which authors respond to each other. This exchange of arguments provides unique depth to the debate.
Challenging European Citizenship by Agustín José Menéndez; Espen D. H. Olsen
ISBN: 9783030222802
Publication Date: 2019-08-20
This book provides a critique of the way in which European citizenship is imagined and practiced. Setting their analysis in its full historical context, the authors challenge preconceived ideas about European citizenship on the basis of a detailed reconstruction of political, social and economic practice. In particular, they show the extent to which the elimination of formal internal borders within Europe has come hand in glove with the emergence of new socio-economic boundaries and the hardening of external borders. The book concludes with a number of concrete proposals to forge a genuinely post-national form of membership.
The EU Citizenship Directive: a Commentary by Elspeth Guild; Steve Peers; Jonathan Tomkin
ISBN: 9780198849384
Publication Date: 2019-12-10
The EU Citizenship Directive defines the right of free movement for citizens of the European Economic Area. It applies to EU citizens and their family members who move to another Member State. This might at first seem like a straightforward definition, but immediately questions arise. Whodetermines if a person is an EU citizen at all? What about dual citizens of two Member States, or of one Member State and a non-Member State (a "third State")? What is the position of EU citizens who move to one Member State, and then return to their home Member State?This book provides a comprehensive commentary of the EU's Citizens' Directive tracing the evolution of the Directive's provisions, placing each article in its historical and legislative context. Special emphasis is placed on highlighting the connections and interactions between the Directive'sconstituent provisions so as to permit a global appreciation of the system of free movement rights to which the Directive gives effect. Each provision is annotated containing a detailed analysis of the case-law of the Court of Justice as well as of related measures impacting upon the Directive'sinterpretation including European Commission reports and guidelines on the Directive's implementation.This fully-updated new edition includes dscussion of relevant case law since the first edition, and has been expanded to include detailed discussion of rights of EU and UK citizens after Brexit in the withdrawal agreement.
The Politics of Mobile Citizenship in Europe by Nora Siklodi
ISBN: 9783030490539
Publication Date: 2020
The Politics of Mobile Citizenship in Europe explores contemporary models of national and European Union (EU) citizenship in the context of intra-EU mobility. Scholars have often addressed these models from separate disciplinary standpoints. National citizenship has been studied through the prism of citizenship studies and EU citizenship from an EU studies viewpoint. To contribute to their ongoing discussion and offer a politically embedded perspective, Siklodi applies the citizenship studies lens to the analysis of EU-wide survey data and original focus group evidence of young and highly educated EU mobiles and stayers in Sweden and Britain. Specifically, she investigates political community building processes, including processes of differentiation and exclusion, and the dimensions of citizenship – identity, rights and participation – at the national and EU levels. Siklodi proposes a redefinition of the active/passive citizen dichotomy in terms of mobiles/stayers to provide a more accurate description of contemporary citizen attitudes and behaviours across the European community.
EU Citizenship at the Edges of Freedom of Movement by Katarina Hyltén-Cavallius
ISBN: 9781509937257
Publication Date: 2020-11-26
This book critically analyses the case law on EU citizenship in relation to its personal free movement rights, its status on the primary law level, and EU fundamental rights protection. The book exposes the legal space where EU citizenship variably loses or gains legal relevance, and questions how this space can be overcome. Through a thorough analysis of the core personal free movement rights of residence, family reunification, equal treatment and equal political participation, the book demonstrates how the development of the case law of the Court of Justice of the European Union has generated a two-tiered legal concept of EU citizenship. Depending on the nature of the legal claim at hand, EU citizenship may appear as a poor legal personhood for exercising free movement rights; sometimes pushing the individual who is in a factual cross-border situation out of the scope of Union law. Contrastingly, in other strands of the jurisprudence, we see EU citizenship and its primary law levelled-rights stretch the jurisdictional scope of Union law, triggering the EU's Charter of Fundamental Rights for review of the individual case. The book enhances the understanding of the legal concept of EU citizenship in Union law and contributes to the debate on the future development of EU citizenship, its relationship to the Charter, and the strength of its legal position for the person who exercises freedom of movement.
Reconsidering EU Citizenship by Sandra Seubert (Editor); Oliver Eberl (Editor); Frans van Waarden (Editor)
ISBN: 9781788113533
Publication Date: 2018-04-27
Twenty-five years after the introduction of European citizenship, it seems as though the EU has overreached itself. In its current state the EU provokes much negative political reaction among its citizens. Conversely, interest in European issues has increased during the crisis, pro-European social movements have emerged and new debates on reforms of the Union's architecture are flaring up. Through updated and integrated multidisciplinary research this book reconsiders the contradictions and constraints, as well as the promises and prospects, for the future of EU citizenship.With chapters from leading researchers in the field, Reconsidering EU Citizenship is an innovative contribution to the lively debate on European and transnational citizenship. Bringing together policy research and reflections from political theory, this book offers an up-to-date critique of the current state of EU citizenship as well as new insights for its future.As citizenship rights issues become more prominent on the EU policy-making agenda, Reconsidering EU Citizenship will be an invaluable resource to students of EU policy as well as policy-makers and practitioners in the field.
The Rise and Decline of Fundamental Rights in EU Citizenship by Adrienne Yong
ISBN: 9781509917938
Publication Date: 2019-03-21
This book argues that there is an inherent relationship between EU fundamental rights and EU citizenship- they both have the same objective of guaranteeing protection for the individual. This is underpinned by the development of case law in the field by the Court of Justice of the EU (CJEU). Here, however, the author proposes that that relationship has weakened in recent years as the CJEU has entered increasingly sensitive territory in regard to the protection of citizenship rights and fundamental rights. Writing in the post UK oEU referendum environment, the author argues that this decline is attributable to increasing Euroscepticism, which has worsened since the Eurozone crisis and even more so in light of Brexit, and arguments made that leaving the EU would reduce immigration. This argument is particularly important to note given the rising fears of immigration that underlie much of the dissatisfaction with the EU project- a feeling prevalent not only in the UK. The chapters look at the rights of migrant EU citizens in Member States other than their own, and the guarantees that exist as a matter of protecting their fundamental human rights, which are present alongside rights enjoyed as part of being an EU citizen.
Questioning EU Citizenship by Daniel Thym
ISBN: 9781509914685
Publication Date: 2017-12-28
The question of supranational citizenship is one of the more controversial in EU law. It is politically contested, the object of prominent court rulings and the subject of intense academic debates. This important new collection examines this vexed question, paying particular attention to the Court of Justice. Offering analytical readings of the key cases, it also examines those political, social and normative factors which influence the evolution of citizens' rights. This examination is not only timely but essential given the prominence of citizen rights in recent political debates, including in the Brexit referendum. All of these questions will be explored with a special emphasis on the interplay between immigration from third countries and rules on Union citizenship.
Moving Beyond Barriers by Sandra Seubert (Editor); Marcel Hoogenboom (Editor); Trudie Knijn (Editor); Sybe de Vries (Editor); Frans van Waarden (Editor)
ISBN: 9781788113632
Publication Date: 2018-05-25
The concept of supranational European citizenship has become one of the core concepts of the EU's unique polity. It has, however, been one of the most difficult to actualise. This book examines the challenges of, and barriers to, exercising full citizenship rights for European citizens and considers how they might best be overcome.Drawing on cutting-edge research from interdisciplinary areas of study, this book examines the key issues surrounding EU citizenship. Reflecting on the diversity of European societies, it identifies, analyses and compares the many barriers that citizens face to fully exercising their rights. With chapters examining key issues from migration to democratic governance and social rights, Moving Beyond Barriers critically analyses concepts of citizenship and the way that EU citizenship is politically, legally, economically and socially institutionalised, and elaborates alternatives to the current paths of realising EU citizenship.Citizenship issues feature prominently in the European policy-making agenda and the insights offered by this book will be of benefit to those with an interest in EU law, social and public policy and administration. Policy-makers and practitioners will also benefit from the reflections on citizenship and the practical guidance on how to move beyond current issues regarding EU citizenship.
EU Citizenship and Federalism by Dimitry Kochenov (Editor)
ISBN: 9781107072701
Publication Date: 2017-04-13
Kochenov's definitive collection examines the under-utilised potential of EU citizenship, proposing and defending its position as a systemic element of EU law endowed with foundational importance. Leading experts in EU constitutional law scrutinise the internal dynamics in the triad of EU citizenship, citizenship rights and the resulting vertical delimitation of powers in Europe, analysing the far-reaching constitutional implications. Linking the constitutional question of federalism and citizenship, the volume establishes an innovative new framework where these rights become agents and rationales of European integration and legal change, located beyond the context of the internal market and free movement. It maps the role of citizenship in this shifting landscape, outlining key options for a Europe of the future.
European Citizenship after Brexit by Patricia Mindus
ISBN: 9783319517742
Publication Date: 2017-04-12
This book is open access under a CC BY 4.0 license. This Open Access book investigates European citizenship after Brexit, in light of the functionalist theory of citizenship. No matter its shape, Brexit will impact significantly on what has been labelled as one of the major achievements of EU integration: Citizenship of the Union. For the first time an automatic and collective lapse of status is observed. It is a form of involuntary loss of citizenship en masse, imposed by the automatic workings of the law on EU citizens of exclusively British nationality. It does not however create statelessness and it is likely to be tolerated under international law. This loss of citizenship is connected to a reduction of rights, affecting not solely the former Union citizens but also second country nationals in the United Kingdom and their family members. The status of European citizenship and connected rights are first presented. Chapter Two focuses on the legal uncertainty that afflicts second country nationals in the United Kingdom as well as British citizens, turning from expats to post-European third country nationals. Chapter Three describes the functionalist theory and delineates three ways in which it applies to Brexit. These three directions of inquiry are developed in the following chapters. Chapter Four focuses on the intension of Union citizenship: Which rights can be frozen? Chapter Five determines the extension of Union citizenship: Who gets to withdraw the status? The key finding is that while Member states are in principle free to revoke the status of Union citizen, former Member states are not unbounded in stripping Union citizens of their acquired territorial rights. Conclusions are drawn and policy-suggestions summed up in the final chapter.
Civility and Participatory Democracy by Thomas P. Boje
ISBN: 9781789907766
Publication Date: 2021-07-15
This thought-provoking book conceptualizes the importance of civil society and citizenship in building a sustainable and participatory democracy. It considers the ways in which networks and organizations promoting common interests contribute to this mediating space between the public and private spheres, examining the impacts of the diversity of values and attitudes held by these organizations. Taking a normative position, Thomas P. Boje argues for the importance of social justice and civility in an active, liberating, equitable and participatory society. He presents a series of ideas for democratic involvement and emancipation through civil society organizations, as well as societal institutions more generally. This innovative book concludes with a detailed discussion of the conditions required for a participatory democratic system in which all citizens are involved in the planning, decision-making and implementation of crucial decisions influencing the development of an equitable society.

E-book chapters

Des identités françaises et européennes davantage définies par le vivre-ensemble que par les origines; Bruno Cautrès; in:

La France des valeurs: Quarante ans d'évolutions; Sous la direction de Pierre Bréchon, Frédéric Gonthier, Sandrine Astor; Presses universitaires de Grenoble; 2019

Publisher's note: Famille, sociabilité, morale, travail, économie, religion, politique, environnement, etc. ? Quelles sont les valeurs qui, aujourd’hui, font sens pour les Français ? Comment ont-elles évolué depuis 40 ans ? L’ouvrage propose une analyse approfondie des opinions et attitudes des Français et permet de mesurer les tendances de fond de l’opinion publique. Il s’appuie sur la dernière vague de l’enquête internationale de référence, la European Values Study, réalisée en 1981, 1990, 1999, 2008 et 2018. Organisé sous forme d’une cinquantaine de notices courtes classées selon huit grands thèmes, il est conçu comme une encyclopédie avec un index de mots-clés. Les notices présentent les résultats de 2018 et en proposent une interprétation claire, le plus souvent en comparaison avec les enquêtes antérieures. Un ouvrage de référence indispensable, aussi bien pour les étudiants que pour les observateurs de la société, pour les professionnels du monde des médias et les acteurs associatifs, sociaux et politiques.

Être citoyen européen; Paul Magnette; in:

Le régime politique de l’Union européenne; Paul Magnette; Presses de Sciences Po; 2017

Publisher's note: Le rejet du Traité constitutionnel européen en 2005 par les peuples français et néerlandais, suivi du « non » irlandais de 2008 et du Brexit de 2016, a plongé l’Union européenne dans une crise grave. Il a fait resurgir doutes et incertitudes quant à sa nature institutionnelle, à la répartition des pouvoirs, à la place des citoyens et des opinions et à sa capacité à faire face aux enjeux mondiaux actuels.
Comprendre cette crise, et ses répercussions profondes sur la politique des États membres, exige d’affronter la complexité de l’Union, sans en exagérer la portée. Ce livre a pour ambition de mettre en évidence la cohérence et l’originalité du régime politique européen.
Il analyse la nature de la « fédération d’États » et montre comment les conflits de compétence sont résolus en son sein. Il revient sur l’équilibre institutionnel original du « modèle communautaire » et sur les mécanismes de décision qu’il génère. Il se penche sur la « vie politique » qui s’ébauche dans l’Union et s’interroge sur la manière dont cette fédération d’États peut devenir pleinement démocratique.
Dépassant les dichotomies classiques et posant le compromis comme principe constitutif de la vie politique européenne, cet ouvrage constitue une véritable référence qui permet de mieux saisir les enjeux de l’Union européenne.

Le citoyen : héritage d’une idée, incertitudes du présent; Lucien Jaume; in:

La vie politique : Pour Pascal Perrineau; Sous la direction de Piero Ignazi, Dominique Reynié; Presses de Sciences Po; 2021

Publisher's note: Cet ouvrage salue un éminent professeur, un chercheur et un expert électoral particulièrement reconnu. Les textes réunis ici sont représentatifs des grandes préoccupations scientifiques de Pascal Perrineau, autour des transformations de la démocratie et de la montée en puissance du phénomène populiste. Tout au long de sa carrière, il a défendu une science politique ouverte aux différents savoirs, disciplines et méthodes, et tenant à distance les dogmatismes ; il a enseigné la vie politique à des cohortes de jeunes citoyens et les a sensibilisés à l’importance d’en comprendre les principes et les rouages. Par leurs contributions, les auteurs expriment leur gratitude et leur amitié à Pascal Perrineau, directeur du Centre de recherches politiques de Sciences Po, le Cevipof, jusqu’en 2013, professeur à Sciences Po jusqu’en 2018 et désormais président de Sciences Po Alumni.

La citoyenneté revisitée; Catherine Wihtol de Wenden; in:

La question migratoire au XXIe siècle : Migrants réfugiés et relations internationales; Catherine Wihtol de Wenden; Presses de Sciences Po; 2017

Publisher's note: La crise des réfugiés qui secoue l'espace européen depuis 2015 a mis en lumière l’incapacité des institutions politiques à fournir des réponses satisfaisantes à tous les profils de migrants. Fruits de globalisations contradictoires, les flux migratoires s’accélèrent à travers le monde. Alors même que des frontières se ferment et que des murs s’érigent, les catégories de migrants et de réfugiés se brouillent, les pays de départ deviennent pays de transit et d’accueil et inversement, le contenu de la citoyenneté se diversifie, l’expression d’un droit à la mobilité des personnes émerge partout dans le monde. Réel enjeu planétaire, longtemps oubliées des grandes questions mondiales, les migrations transforment et affectent les relations internationales, redéfinissent la souveraineté des États. Elles disent surtout l’urgence d’une diplomatie nouvelle intégrant leur gouvernance mondiale et régionale.

Further sources

Ebook Central – Request your personal access to this vast collection of e-books from major academic publishers. You can log in from anywhere, including outside the European Parliament or on a mobile device. See how to join and check what it can offer on the European citizenship topics.
You can also access other e-book platforms via EPRS Library services page, or search the EP Library Catalogue.
You will find a number of books on the topic also via EBSCOHost.

If you are unable to access the book you need, please contact us and we will get it for you as soon as possible.

Selected Online Reading on European Citizenship

Search in EP Library Catalogue

Contact us

Selected e-books

E-book chapters

Further sources

Journals on all devices

Books, articles, EPRS publications & more

Newspapers on all devices