LibGuides: Selected Online Reading on EU Policies on Migration and Asylum: E-book chapters

EU policies on migration and asylum

Les dimensions constitutionnelle et opérationnelle de la solidarité dans les politiques d’asile et de contrôle des frontières; Daniel Thym et Evangelia Tsourdi in:

Les solidarités européennes: entre enjeux, tensions et reconfigurations by Ramona Coman, Louise Fromont, Anne Weyembergh
ISBN: 9782802764984

Date de parution: Octobre 2019

La solidarité est l’une des valeurs fondamentales sous-tendant le processus d’intégration européenne. Au centre des discours politiques depuis le début des années 1950, elle a été invoquée comme vecteur de rapprochement des États membres et de leurs populations.De nombreuses dispositions juridiques, dans les traités européens notamment, s’y réfèrent, et ce dans divers secteurs du droit de l’Union. La solidarité pose néanmoins de très nombreuses questions. Elle est aussi au coeur de tensions entre États, de reconfigurations et d’enjeux majeurs pour l’Europe d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Cet ouvrage propose une étude interdisciplinaire et comparative approfondie des implications et des défis que la solidarité représente pour l’Union européenne. Il est le produit d’une recherche collective menée au sein de l’Institut d’études européennes de l’Université libre de Bruxelles (IEE-ULB) dans le cadre d’un projet Jean Monnet (Centre d’excellence). Cette recherche allie les approches politique, juridique, historique de l’intégration européenne.

EU migration and asylum policies; Sybille Münch in:

Handbook of European Policies by Hubert Heinelt (Editor); Sybille Münch (Editor)
ISBN: 9781784719357
Publication Date: 2018-01-26
This definitive Handbook addresses the current lack of research into European policymaking and development using an interpretive perspective. Questioning areas that mainstream approaches tend to neglect, contributors target the ways in which ideas, arguments and discourses shape policies in the institutional context of the EU. The Handbook of European Policies provides an in-depth and comprehensive introduction for all significant policy areas in the EU, highlighting the theories of post-positivism and interpretivism. With rich explanations of different methodological and conceptual approaches to post-positivist research, key chapters consider the essential exchange between EU integration studies and EU policy studies, examining how both can benefit from this new and exciting approach. Offering theoretically grounded answers, this Handbook creates a dialogue between critical policy studies and European integration theory. Academics and practitioners concerned with the functioning of EU policies will benefit from the eminent contributors' insights into issues high on the institutional agenda of the EU and its member states. In addition, the Handbook is suitable for both undergraduate and graduate courses concerned with European integration and EU policies.

A Multifaceted Crisis as an Opportunity and a Risk: The EU’s Long Struggle to Reform the Dublin System for Asylum Seekers; Florian Trauner in:

The State of the European Union by Stefanie Wöhl (Editor); Elisabeth Springler (Editor); Martin Pachel (Editor); Bernhard Zeilinger (Editor)
ISBN: 9783658254186
Publication Date: 2019-07-11
Against the backdrop of combating the financial and economic crisis in the European Union for the past decade, this volume strives to explore the manifold impacts the prevailing crisis management has on the further alignment of European Integration. The efforts targeted at overcoming the financial and economic crisis evoked far-reaching consequences on the societal, economic, and political level within European member states, which in turn challenge the institutional alignment, democratic legitimacy and economic coherence of the European Union. Taking into account current developments in the EU, the contributions presented in this volume focus on the 'fault lines' in the integration process, i.e. questions of policy coherence, democratic accountability, financialization, militarization, migration, gendered social and economic asymmetries as well as the rise of populist and extreme right-wing parties. The volume focuses on how these different developments come together by relating aspects of transdisciplinary research to uncover the fault lines in the European integration project in the subsequent chapters. Content Economic and Democratic Governance * Right Wing Populism and Right Extreme Parties * Financialization and Militarization * Social Exclusion, Welfare and Migration Policies Editors Prof. (FH) Dr. Stefanie Wöhl, University of Applied Sciences BFI Vienna. Prof. (FH) Dr. Elisabeth Springler, University of Applied Sciences BFI Vienna. Mag. Martin Pachel, University of Applied Sciences BFI Vienna. Dr. Bernhard Zeilinger, University of Applied Sciences BFI Vienna.

EU Immigration and Asylum Policies; Alexander Caviedes in:

The Routledge Handbook of European Public Policy by Nikolaos Zahariadis (Editor); Laurie Buonanno (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138927339
Publication Date: 2017-11-15
The Routledge Handbook of European Public Policy provides an in-depth and systematic understanding of EU policies. It covers theoretical approaches on the policy process and the various stages of public policy formulation and decision making, and discusses key questions of contemporary European governance. The handbook introduces major concepts, trends, and methodologies in a variety of comparative settings thereby providing the first systematic effort to include theoretical and substantive analyses of European public policies in a single volume. The handbook is divided into four sections: Concepts and approaches in EU policymaking; Substantive policies of the EU, including economic and social, fiscal and monetary, areas of freedom, security, and justice, and external policies; Elements of the policy cycle; Themes ranging from crisis and resistance to controversies in education. This handbook will be an essential reference for students and scholars of the European Union, public policy, social policy, and more broadly for European and comparative politics.

Migration and the welfare state: welfare magnets and welfare chauvinism; Tim Reeskens in:

Handbook on Society and Social Policy by Nicholas Ellison (Editor); Tina Haux (Editor)
ISBN: 9781788113519
Publication Date: 2020-07-08
This comprehensive Handbook provides a unique examination of the key issues and challenges facing society and social policy in the twenty-first century. Featuring both wide-ranging coverage of major issues and detailed analysis of social policies in different countries, the Handbook explores key concepts, policy areas and institutions, considering welfare and social policy in the context of wider socio-economic and cultural divisions.In addition to examining specific policy areas, contributors engage with the social divisions and complex infrastructures that underpin them on both local and global scales. Chapters also discuss significant challenges to contemporary social policy, including the threats to human and societal well-being posed by austerity, migration and the climate crisis, as well as the opportunities these present to reshape policy conceptually, ideologically and practically in the future in response to these issues. Scholars and students in social policy, sociology and political science looking for a comprehensive overview of the field of social policy will find this Handbook an invaluable resource. It will also prove useful to researchers and practitioners seeking in-depth analyses of particular countries or policy areas covered.

Migration and social justice: parity of participation for asylum-seekers in the UK?; Jenny Phillimore in:

Handbook on Global Social Justice by Gary Craig (Editor)
ISBN: 9781786431417
Publication Date: 2018-07-27
Since the publication of Rawls' seminal work, A Theory of Justice, in the second half of the twentieth century, the concept has been constantly debated, with those on the political right and left advocating very different understandings. This unique global collection, written by an exceptional group of international experts, offers a wide-ranging analysis which challenges claims that the market can provide social justice for all. Comprehensive in both its geographical and thematic coverage, authors link theory to policy and practice. Sections cover how to think strategically about social justice in relation to national perspectives; equality and human rights; and applications of the concept to a range of welfare divisions and professional practices. Reflecting both historical and contemporary debates on the subject, the Handbook provides a strong political focus, as well as widening the view of social justice beyond narrow perspectives on welfare provision. This Handbook will be an excellent tool for students at a postgraduate level in the social sciences, particularly social policy, sociology, politics and philosophy. Established researchers of political and sociological theory, and practitioners and policy-makers in professional areas of welfare provision, will also find the extensive insights into current research exceptionally useful for enhancing and developing their work, and situating it within a clear political and philosophical context.

Solidarity and the refugee crisis

The politics of EU migration law; Rachel Dickson in:

Research Handbook on the Politics of EU Law by Paul J. Cardwell (Editor); Marie-Pierre Granger (Editor)
ISBN: 9781788971270
Publication Date: 2020-07-24
Offering a wealth of thought-provoking insights, this topical Research Handbook analyses the interplay between the law and politics of the EU and examines the role of law and legal actors in European integration.Expert contributors from international and interdisciplinary backgrounds set the politics of EU law in both a historical and contemporary context, exploring the relations between different EU institutions across a variety of substantive policy areas. Identifying the main sites of interaction between law and politics, chapters highlight key theoretical insights providing an in-depth understanding of the field. With up-to-date coverage of the latest developments, this Research Handbook analyses the impact of Brexit, economic and financial crises, migration crises and important trends for law and governance.Discerning and forward-thinking, this Research Handbook will be key reading for students and scholars of European law, European politics, and those with an interest in exploring the interface between the two. Its accessible approach will also engage practitioners in EU law and politics, including lawyers and national government and EU institution officials.

The Refugee Crisis and the Reinvigoration of the Nation-State: Does the European Union Have a Common Asylum Policy?; Magnus Henrekson, Özge Öner and Tino Sanandaji in:

The European Union and the Return of the Nation State by Antonina Bakardjieva Engelbrekt (Editor); Karin Leijon (Editor); Anna Michalski (Editor); Lars Oxelheim (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030350048
Publication Date: 2020-01-23
This chapter discusses the European Union’s refugee policy. It shows that the common treaties leave considerable discretion to the individual member countries, which allows them to regulate refugee migration while still upholding international treaties. Member countries have authority over border controls, the processing of asylum applications as well as economic benefits provided to refugees. The differences in refugee flows are so extensive and systematic that the existence of a common EU refugee policy is debatable. The commitments made by the member countries are largely voluntary, and refugee policy is mainly determined at the national level. The cross-member discrepancies strongly signal that the European Union may not be an optimal region for a common refugee policy. A refugee policy should instead be determined at the national level concordant with the regional and local level, where integration measures are implemented in practice.

Volunteering for Refugees and Asylum Seekers in Greece; Stefania Kalogeraki in:

Solidarity in Europe by Christian Lahusen (Editor); Maria Grasso (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319733340
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
Since 2015 the massive refugee influx has challenged European countries in terms of tackling one of the largest movements of displaced people through European borders since the World War II. Greece became the major entry point by sea receiving massive inflows of refugees and asylum seekers arriving in the Greek shores. While European leaders debated on how to deal with the refugee crisis and traditional donors delayed funding, the role of volunteers has been instrumental in covering basic and urgent needs. Based on a hybrid approach of sociological and political determinants, the study enriches the scarce empirical evidence on volunteering specifically for refugees and asylum seekers, by portraying the profiles of volunteers providing solidarity to refugees and asylum seekers fleeing repression and conflict zones to seek safety in Europe.

The governance of migration in Europe: towards fragmentation?; Andrew Geddes in:

Handbook of Migration and Globalisation by Anna Triandafyllidou (Editor)
ISBN: 9781785367502
Publication Date: 2018-02-23
This Handbook explores the multifaceted linkages between two of the most important socioeconomic phenomena of our time: globalisation and migration. Both are on the rise, increasing in size and scope worldwide, and this Handbook offers the necessary background knowledge and tools to understand how population flows shape, and are shaped by, economic and cultural globalisation.Through central themes which correspond to the four domains of human life - politics, economics (separated into trade and development, and the global division of labour), culture and family life - expert authors from five continents highlight the interdependence between migration and globalisation, and explore the mutual impact of economic, social and political globalisation on international population flows. They also investigate how migrants themselves become agents of the globalisation process.With accessible language that guides the reader easily through complex issues, this Handbook makes an ideal resource for undergraduate and graduate students, researchers and academics interested in migration, ethnicity, development, international relations and international economics.

Self-organization and spatial planning in the face of the European Refugee Crisis; Beitske Boonstra; in:

Handbook on Planning and Complexity by Gert de Roo (Editor); Claudia Yamu (Editor); Christian Zuidema (Editor)
ISBN: 9781786439178
Publication Date: 2020-06-18
Deepening the scientific debate on planning and complexity, this Handbook combines theoretical discussion about planning and governance with modelling complex behaviour in space and place. Linking planning and complexity as a way of understanding dynamic change and non-linear development within cities, it presents critical new insights on complex urban behaviour. Building on the notion that cities have fractal-like structures, chapters look at their behaviour as complex adaptive systems, with co-evolving trajectories and transformative forces. The Handbook offers new perspectives, concepts, methods and tools for understanding the inter-relations between complexity and planning, including adaptive planning, non-linear types of rationality, governance and decision-making, and different methods of experimental learning. Planning, complexity, urban studies and social geography scholars will appreciate the examples of complex urban behaviour and urban planning throughout the Handbook. This will also be an important read for modellers in urban development, urban policymakers and spatial planners.

The political economy of displacement governance: the case of refugees in the European Union; Ali Bhagat and Susanne Soederberg in:

A Research Agenda for Critical Political Economy by Bill Dunn (Editor)
ISBN: 9781789903065
Publication Date: 2020-09-18
The period 2015–16 saw more than 2.5 million asylum claims lodged in the European Union (EU) signalling the so-called European refugee or migrant crisis. The alarmist crisis terminology – used by media, policymakers and government officials – often imparts blame. Refugees are accused of clogging welfare systems and displacing the homeless while media portrayals of refugees have referred to them as a ‘flood’, ‘swarm’, ‘flock’ and as ‘marauders’, likening these migrants to animals, barbarians and natural disasters. Employing a critical political economy (CPE) lens, the main objective of this chapter is to interrupt the refugee crisis by identifying and explaining some core silences around EU migrant governance. To this end, we focus on the role of space, scale, race and class in shaping the survival of refugees by which we mean their struggle to access basic material needs on a day-to-day basis, particularly low-income housing.

Welfare Nationalism Before and After the ‘Migration Crisis’; Maureen A. Eger, Christian Albrekt Larsen and Jan Mewes in:

Welfare State Legitimacy in Times of Crisis and Austerity by Tijs Laenen (Editor); Bart Meuleman (Editor); Wim van Oorschot (Editor)
ISBN: 9781788976299
Publication Date: 2020-08-21
This book explores developments in the social legitimacy of present-day European welfare states since the banking crisis of 2008. It analyses how the welfare attitudes of Europeans have been influenced by economic recession and consequent welfare reforms, as well as reactions to ongoing debates around welfare.Utilizing cross-national perspectives, the book analyses the differences and similarities in welfare attitudes of Europeans between 2008 and 2016. It highlights popular welfare attitudes towards different groups of society, including migrants, the elderly and the unemployed, exploring if and why specific practices and policies would meet popular resistance or approval.Social policy and sociology scholars will find this book helpful, as the cross-national analysis provides new insights into the contextual drivers of welfare attitudes. It will also be useful to policymakers and practitioners working in Europe offering analysis of welfare preferences, evaluations and perceptions.

Further sources

Ebook Central – Request your personal access to this vast collection of e-books from major academic publishers. You can log in from anywhere, including outside the European Parliament or on a mobile device. See how to join and check what it can offer on the topics of migration and asylum
You can also access other e-book platforms via EPRS Library services page, or search EP Library Catalogue.

If you are unable to access the book you need, please contact us and we will get it for you as soon as possible.

Selected Online Reading on EU Policies on Migration and Asylum

Search in EP Library Catalogue

EU policies on migration and asylum

Solidarity and the refugee crisis

Further sources

Journals on all devices

Books, articles, EPRS publications & more

Newspapers on all devices