Terrorism and the EU Counter-Terrorism Policies

This book seeks to provide a comparative assessment of the significance of 'human factors' in effective counter-terrorism. The phrase 'human factors' is used to describe personal relationships, individual capabilities, effective leadership, technical interface, organisational culture and the community engagement necessary to effectively minimise, counter and control the threat of terrorism. Unlike many works in the field, this book is constructed around the input of 'experienced knowledge' from over 170 semi-structured interviews of specialist military, policing, intelligence and security practitioners - those actors actually involved in countering terrorism. These practitioners come from seven countries - the United Kingdom, Ireland, France, Spain, Israel, Turkey and the United States - all of which have suffered over the years from different types of terrorist threat and responded with a mixture of counter-terrorist measures. Where military practitioners also discussed overseas counter-insurgency measures, that material has been included, since terrorism forms a key aspect of such wider insurgencies. The resulting interview data was analysed through a variant of 'Grounded Theory' to identify key emerging themes and issues, both positive and negative, relevant to 'human factors' in the individual countries and more generically. This book incorporates the informed operational experiences and insights of the interviewees while seeking to provide examples of successful counter-terrorist measures at the strategic, operational and tactical levels. This book will be of much interest to students of counter-terrorism, defence studies and security studies in general.

This book examines the evolution of global terrorism, including the people and groups who have perpetuated the worst attacks and the people and agencies working to stop them. Although it was 9/11 that first awakened many Americans to the very real threat of global terrorism, global terrorism has been a reality for millions of people around the world for many years, with both foreign and "home-grown" terrorists striking fear in their hearts. Whether driven by fanatical religious beliefs or radical political ideologies, the threat of global terrorism has been and will continue to be a serious issue, warranting vigilance from governments around the world. This one-stop resource highlights key points about global terrorism. Furthermore, it discusses the social, economic, religious, and cultural issues that are connected to terrorist activities. It also examines the history of global terrorism more broadly in order to contextualize current events, using tables, primary documents, personal essays, and other illuminating resources.

Countering Terrorist and Criminal Financing provides an up-to-date overview and critical analysis of terrorism financing, focusing on tactics and practical measures directed at preventing money laundering and countering the flow of terrorism funding. In doing so, the book details some of the major doctrines, outlining policies of states and key regional and global partnerships in Europe, Asia, North America, South America, the Middle East, and Africa. Chapters bring together a diverse range of expert scholars and practitioners who specialise in theoretical principles, utilising empirical research and an analysis of the cross-national networks and cross-group collaborations that underpin the illicit activities that fund such groups. The book serves as the most current and comprehensive resource in the area of countering the financing of terrorism and organised crime--incorporating regional and group-specific approaches, challenges, and consequences. This focus encompasses legal measures, social policies, and military operations and security force responses by states and non-state actors to assemble the most up-to-date counter-terrorist financing information into a single volume.

Based on the methodological approach of a trend-and-key factor analysis of transnational terrorism and processed on the virtual platform "Foresight Strategy Cockpit" (FSC), the volume seeks to examine what potential future variants of transnational terrorism may evolve. Focusing on the latest structural developments in the sphere of politically or religiously motivated violence, the handbook considers the tactical, strategic, and not least the systemic dimension of terrorism. Divided into seven thematic sections, the handbook’s contributions cover a wide range of issues, dealing among others with strategic and hybrid terrorism, the systemic dimension of extremist violence, prevalent actors, counter-narratives, the crime terror-nexus, the role of digitalization and the spiral dynamic between Islamist and right-wing terrorism. The expert contributions provide a condensed overview of current developments, structural linkages and important academic debates centering around transnational salafi-jihadi terrorism, but also right-wing terrorism and counter-terrorism. A key objective of the work is to make the effects of prevention/preemption, (de-) radicalization and (non-) intervention both transparent and assessable. As such, it contributes well-founded strategies, feasible solutions and options for policy-makers and counter-terrorism experts.

Through a pioneering analysis of two critical junctures in EU counter-terrorism, this topical book examines the drivers, conditions and impediments for policy integration and information-exchange institutionalisation in EU counter-terrorism. Taking a deep dive into the key questions surrounding EU counter-terrorism, Christine Andreeva utilises distinct terrorism case studies over two decades to investigate the evolution of information-sharing in EU counter-terrorism. Using an innovative theoretical framework combining historical and constructivist institutionalism, the book examines key events in EU counter-terrorism development: the 2015-2016 Paris and Brussels attacks and the 2004-2005 Madrid and London attacks. Identifying a post-2015 paradigm policy shift, the book traces the increased efficiency of cross-border and inter-agency co-ordination in the EU's counter-terrorism policy. Andreeva demonstrates how institutionalisation, information-sharing and improved legislative frameworks have led to further policy integration and added significant value to international EU counter-terrorism efforts. Illustrating the importance of practitioners' perception of EU added value in counter-terrorism, this book will be essential to scholars and students of public policy, particularly those studying EU and international politics and EU counter-terrorism. Its empirical findings will also be useful to policymakers and practitioners in security and counter-terrorism fields.

This significant book provides a comprehensive analysis of the global dimension of European Union (EU) counter-terrorism. It focuses on the growth of the EU as a global counter-terrorism actor, from it having almost no role in 2001 to becoming a significantly greater force in recent years. Analysing one of the most important policy areas of European integration, authors Christian Kaunert, Alex MacKenzie and Sarah Léonard consider the key question of why the EU may have become a global actor in counter-terrorism. The authors then develop a unique theoretical approach in the form of actorness and collective securitization, which analyses the EU's evolution as a counter-terrorism actor in different case studies, such as counter-terrorism in the transatlantic relationship, North Africa, the Middle East and South Asia. Overall, this book highlights that the EU is, in fact, becoming a counter-terrorism actor of growing importance and with an ever-diversifying number of policy options available. Addressing topical matters, this book will be a key resource for scholars, researchers and students in fields such as European studies, international relations, political science and governance. It will also attract the attention of practitioners, politicians, non-governmental and civil society organisations.

Counter-terrorism law and policy has been prominent and widespread in the years following 9/11, touching on many areas of everyday life from policing and border control to financial transactions and internet governance. The European Union is a major actor in contemporary counter-terrorism, including through its development of counter-terrorism laws for application within the Union. This book undertakes a multi-disciplinary and empirically informed analysis of the impact, legitimacy and effectiveness of EU counter-terrorism. Taking into account legal, societal, operational and democratic perspectives, this collection connects theoretical and practical perspectives to produce an interdisciplinary and multi-stakeholder study of how we might measure and understand the impact, legitimacy and effectiveness of EU counter-terrorism. Bringing together a select group of experts in the field, particular emphasis is placed on understanding the practical experience of implementing and assessing these measures gathered from and with end users, including law-makers, policy-makers, security services, industry partners and civil society. This edited collection will be of great relevance to scholars and policy makers with an interest in counter-terrorism law, EU law and security studies.

In the aftermath of the 9/11 attacks, concerns that terrorists might utilise vessels to transport weaponry, terrorist operatives and/or to finance their activities prompted several international legal developments. This book evaluates the extent to which the international maritime security measures developed following the 9/11 attacks would be likely to prevent the utilisation of vessels to facilitate terrorist activities. It considers the likely effectiveness of the International Ship and Port Facility Security Code for improving vessel and port security, and the 2005 Protocol to the Convention for the Suppression of Unlawful Acts Against Maritime Navigation in facilitating the interdiction of suspected terrorist vessels. It also explains how the US-led Proliferation Security Initiative - a cooperative effort through which participant governments agree to prevent the illicit transfers of Weapons of Mass Destruction and related materials - has provoked debate about the legality of vessel interdictions under the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (the LOSC). After exploring alternative interpretations of the LOSC, and states' self-defence rights under Article 51 of the Charter of the United Nations, it formulates suggested guidelines for the unilateral interdiction of suspected terrorist support vessels in exceptional circumstances. The book also discusses the relevant recommendations by the OECD's Financial Action Taskforce for preventing the financing of terrorism, and the national maritime security legislation for preventing the maritime facilitation of terrorist activities in the United Kingdom and in Australia. The book concludes by emphasising the importance of the continual active implementation of ship, port facility and supply chain security measures, and of further enhancing international cooperation to facilitate vessel interdictions. It will be of interest to those working in the areas of Law and Terrorism, Law of the Sea, Maritime Law and Insurance and International Law.

This newly revised and updated second edition of the Research Handbook on International Law and Terrorism provides a comprehensive overview of international counter-terrorism law and practice from the perspectives of human rights, the law of armed conflict, the law on use of force, and international criminal law. Brand new and revised chapters provide critical commentary on the law from leading scholars and practitioners in the field.Major controversies in the global legal response to terrorism are examined, including up-to-date analyses of the war on terror, drone strikes and targeted killings, torture and rendition, indefinite detention, military trials, and UN Security Council measures and sanctions. New topics for this edition are assessed, focusing on foreign terrorist fighters, the nexus between organized crime and terrorism, and the prevention of violent extremism. Exploring developments from before and after the terrorist attacks of 9/11, the Research Handbook also includes new analysis of contemporary threats such as Islamic State, and discusses the law of regional organizations and selected national practice. International law scholars and practitioners, as well as government and United Nations legal advisers, will find this an invaluable reference on a complex area of legal inquiry. It will also prove a critical read for academics and students in international relations, terrorism studies, security studies, war studies, and human rights.

The events of 9/11 gave rise to a new epoch in world history. This Handbook examines how the world order and our understanding of war and peace has been transformed since the global war on terror began. Bringing together expert commentators and academics from Asia, US, Europe and the Middle East, the Handbook of Terrorism and Counter Terrorism Post 9/11 assesses regional responses to terrorism and evaluates the emergence of new threats. This timely reflection on the consequences of the global war on terror considers the future of asymmetric conflict in the context of the fourth industrial revolution, and the evolution of cyberwarfare. Providing an analysis of terrorism since 2001, from Al-Qaeda to Daesh, and a critical evaluation of counter terrorism and counter insurgency, this Handbook is an essential primer for students, at all levels, researching terrorism, insurgency, global warfare and international relations. It will also benefit defence and security personnel enrolled on postgraduate courses in military academies.

This book reviews the state of the art approaches and issues in researching and teaching about terrorism and counterterrorism. It also maps the fast-growing field of research that has emerged since 9/11, identifying both the analytical advancements and key challenges that remain.

Intelligent data analytics for terror threat prediction is an emerging field of research at the intersection of information science and computer science, bringing with it a new era of tremendous opportunities and challenges due to plenty of easily available criminal data for further analysis. This book provides innovative insights that will help obtain interventions to undertake emerging dynamic scenarios of criminal activities. Furthermore, it presents emerging issues, challenges and management strategies in public safety and crime control development across various domains. The book will play a vital role in improvising human life to a great extent. Researchers and practitioners working in the fields of data mining, machine learning and artificial intelligence will greatly benefit from this book, which will be a good addition to the state-of-the-art approaches collected for intelligent data analytics. It will also be very beneficial for those who are new to the field and need to quickly become acquainted with the best performing methods. With this book they will be able to compare different approaches and carry forward their research in the most important areas of this field, which has a direct impact on the betterment of human life by maintaining the security of our society. No other book is currently on the market which provides such a good collection of state-of-the-art methods for intelligent data analytics-based models for terror threat prediction, as intelligent data analytics is a newly emerging field and research in data mining and machine learning is still in the early stage of development.

Counterterrorism and Investigative Detention explores the practice of investigative detention of terrorist suspects in the legal systems of the United States, the United Kingdom, and France. In addition to illuminating the characteristics, capabilities, and limitations of various investigative detention regimes, this book examines ways in which international law and national security imperatives have served as vectors for change and convergence in these otherwise divergent legal systems. The chapters include an examination of the way in which each country has experienced and confronted terrorism; an overview of each country's legal system; a detailed analysis of each country's counterterrorism laws; and a discussion of the ways in which international law has impacted their respective counterterrorism approaches. This book, therefore, is situated at the nexus of comparative law, international law, and national security, providing scholars and policymakers with insight into how different countries with contrasting legal traditions address a common national security threat. This compelling discussion of how different legal systems use their detention laws to address the threat of terrorism will be of interest to comparative lawyers, international lawyers, and national security professionals.

This open access book brings together a range of contributions that seek to explore the ethical issues arising from the overlap between counter-terrorism, ethics, and technologies. Terrorism and our responses pose some of the most significant ethical challenges to states and people. At the same time, we are becoming increasingly aware of the ethical implications of new and emerging technologies. Whether it is the use of remote weapons like drones as part of counter-terrorism strategies, the application of surveillance technologies to monitor and respond to terrorist activities, or counterintelligence agencies use of machine learning to detect suspicious behavior and hacking computers to gain access to encrypted data, technologies play a significant role in modern counter-terrorism. However, each of these technologies carries with them a range of ethical issues and challenges. How we use these technologies and the policies that govern them have broader impact beyond just the identification and response to terrorist activities. As we are seeing with China, the need to respond to domestic terrorism is one of the justifications for their rollout of the "social credit system." Counter-terrorism technologies can easily succumb to mission creep, where a technology's exceptional application becomes normalized and rolled out to society more generally. This collection is not just timely but an important contribution to understand the ethics of counter-terrorism and technology and has far wider implications for societies and nations around the world.

This insightful book provides an analysis of the central ethical issues that have arisen in combatting global terrorism and, in particular, jihadist terrorist groups, notably Al Qaeda, Islamic State and their affiliates. Chapters explore the theoretical problems that arise in relation to terrorism, such as the definition of terrorism and the concept of collective responsibility, and consider specific ethical issues in counter-terrorism. The book discusses a range of key topics including targeted killing, enhanced interrogation of terrorists, preventive detention, freedom of expression and terrorist content on social media, bulk metadata collection and responding to terrorist attacks that use weapons of mass destruction. It also explores ethical issues that have often been neglected, such as psychological warfare and stings. Taking a practical approach, the book offers recommendations for resolving these ethical problems in counter-terrorism. Integrating philosophical and legal analysis with empirical evidence, this book will be critical reading for scholars and students of human rights, international relations and terrorism and security law. Its use of specific examples of terrorist organisations, tactics and outcomes will also be valuable for policy-makers in the field.

In this book, it is explained that despite a current drop in the number of deaths, terrorism should still be considered a serious and widespread problem. However, the responses to this phenomenon are often more problematic from a long-term perspective. With the human rights framework under serious pressure, this edited volume offers a timely, important and critical in-depth analysis of human dignity and human security challenges in the lead-up, and in the responses, to current forms of terrorism. It aims to map how human dignity and human security can be secured and how law can constitute a source of trust at a time when Europe and the rest of the world continue to be plagued by terrorism. The authors are both established names and upcoming talent in this fastchanging and exciting field of law. They thoroughly analyse a variety of topical subjects, in more conceptual chapters--for example calling for the humanisation of the security discourse--and in highly practical contributions, in which for instance the Kafkaesque situation in which rendition and torture victim Abu Zubaydah still finds himself today is considered. This book, which focuses on, but is not limited to the situation in Western countries, aims to inspire not only academics--through further theorisation on the sometimes elusive but important concepts of human dignity and human security--but also practitioners working in the field of countering terrorism. It will hopefully convince them (even more) that following a human rights approach will be indispensable in securing human dignity and human security for all. Even--or in fact: especially--in times of terrorism. Christophe Paulussen is a Senior Researcher in the Research Department of the T.M.C. Asser Instituut in The Hague, The Netherlands and Martin Scheinin is Professor of International Law and Human Rights in the Department of Law of the European University Institute (EUI) in Florence, Italy.

This book provides theoretical and practical guidance to those interested in understanding the dilemmas found at the heart of counter-terror decision-making. It addresses fundamental questions such as: should terror organizations be engaged in the human rights discussion? How can we counter extremist ideology? What is the role social media plays in terrorism? The book compares the practices of different countries to determine if a cohesive approach to counter-terrorism can be achieved. It not only analyses different aspects of terrorism and counter-terrorism (ideology, recruitment, financing, education, support etc) but also explores the roles of the relevant players (courts, security forces, the press, public opinion, inter-governmental organizations, non-governmental organizations etc) and their influence on the measures taken to fight terrorism on the one hand, and safeguarding basic human rights on the other.

European armed forces have frequently had to participate in counter-terrorist operations while abroad. For many, however, counter-terrorist operations in their home country are a relatively new phenomenon. Armed and uniformed soldiers can now be seen doing work which is, in some respects, comparable to that of the civilian security forces. What are the ethical implications of this phenomenon? To what extent does it change the relationship between the soldier and the democratic state? Do emerging technologies encroach on democratic freedoms? Does the phenomenon re-define the relationship between the police and the military? Under what conditions can soldiers be trained to achieve victory by force of arms, be used effectively in crowded city centres? Conversely, do we also risk over-militarising our police?

Using Human Rights to Counter Terrorism uses practical examples to argue that a State's lack of respect for human rights is counter-productive and hinders its fight against terrorism. Through analysing legislative developments since 2001, this book examines how and why many counter terrorism measures have so far been unsuccessful; arguing that longer term, a human rights-centric approach is required.The book's expert contributors have a wide breadth of experience at a national and international level. They have worked with institutions such as national intelligence agencies, the UN Security Council, the UN Human Rights Council as well as a number of UN bodies specializing in Human Rights and Terrorism.Various counter terrorism measures, including mass digital surveillance, the use of drones, and the use of torture are examined. The impact of counter terrorism measures on migration, civil society, and the delivery of humanitarian assistance are assessed. The chapters serve to show that a lack of accountability for human rights violations in these areas can be conducive to an increase in terrorist activity.Those working within State authorities, international and non-governmental organizations will find the arguments presented in this work compelling. Legal practitioners working in the security and human rights sectors will also find this book a useful source of evidence to support human rights countering the challenges of terrorism.

This insightful book provides a unified repository of information on jihadist terrorism. Offering an integrated treatment of terrorist groups, zones of armed conflict and counter-terrorism responses from liberal democratic states, it presents fresh empirical perspectives on the origins and progression of conflict, and contemporary global measures to combat terrorist activity.  Bringing together a multi-disciplinary team of scholars and professionals, the book examines the growth and activities of four key terrorist organizations: Al Qaeda, Islamic State, Hamas and Lashkar-e-Taiba. It discusses their theologies, motivations and the threat that they pose to liberal democracies through terrorist attacks. Chapters contain perspectives and case studies on zones of armed conflict in which terrorist organizations are being fought directly in Afghanistan, Iraq, Syria and Israel/Palestine, evaluating the historic roots of these conflicts and their evolution over time. It also examines national efforts in the US, the UK, France, India and Israel in combating terrorism, considering the preventative measures and activities of intelligence and security agencies through personal interviews conducted with service and retired professionals.  Based on crucial empirical investigations conducted by intelligence professionals, scholars, research specialists and journalists, this is critical reading for researchers and advanced students in terrorism studies, international studies and conflict resolution, as well as those studying political science more broadly. It will also benefit policymakers and intelligence and law enforcement specialists in need of a comparative study of contemporary counter-terrorism responses.

This highly topical book is an original contribution to the current literature on counter-terrorist financing, compliance and soft law. Specifically, the book focuses on Financial Action Task Force recommendations and counter-terrorism financing legislation. This thought-provoking investigation demonstrates that an understanding of the counter-terrorism financing regime can shed light on the departure from regular international law-making processes, and on the emerging forms of international governance in an era of globalisation. An understanding of the regime's multi-layered approach shows how this can be replicated as a tool in the prevention and resolution of conflict and the promotion of international justice in areas such as human trafficking, drug trafficking, and weapons of mass destruction.This book will be an invaluable resource for those studying and researching in law, terrorism studies, criminal justice and finance, in particular comparative law and compliance with hard and soft law. It will also be relevant to policymakers and practitioners working in counter-terrorism.

In Counter-Terrorism Financing: International Best Practices and the Law, Nathalie R b , offers a new comprehensive framework for CTF worldwide and reviews the strengths and weaknesses of current regulations and policies. Both accessible, interesting and engaging in how it approaches chronic problems of Counter-Terrorism Financing, this book provides general understanding of this topic with a literature review and a gap-analysis based on CTF experts' advices, as well as a very detailed analysis of current international regulatory tools. Nathalie R b 's 'all-in'one' CTF manual is innovative in this field and provides answers for the international community to fight terrorism financing together more effectively, using a set of standards which promotes strong and diligent cooperation between countries concerning reporting, information exchange and gathering, as well as enforcement.

Terrorist attacks in Norway, Germany, Belgium, Holland, France and Turkey showed that Europe faces new security challenges. Based on their purpose, terrorist organisations vary widely: They range from large state-like structures to small, decentralised and self-directed networks. How these networks develop and maintain depends to a large degree on their financial sources and funding. The authors look at those aspects of terrorism. They analyse different methods of funding - how terrorist organisations, terrorist cells and individuals raise, move and spend money to support or carry out terrorist activities. The study also takes international responses into account to combat the funding of terrorism.

Making a timely contribution to the legal literature, this important book discusses an under-analysed issue of great importance to international peace and security. It provides a comprehensive overview and analysis of the prevention of nuclear terrorism specifically through an international (arms control) law lens. Jonathan Herbach sets out a basis for better understanding how the international legal framework for nuclear security is structured and why it is structured that way, and offers a critical analysis of the component instruments that make up the framework. He highlights the strengths and analyzes possible gaps and weaknesses of these instruments and the legal framework as a whole, as well as explaining the framework's key characteristics, approaches and rationale. As nuclear security is by no means a static topic, with changing circumstances a defining feature of the area, the book also offers ideas for the path forward and conceptualizes ways to further strengthen the nuclear security legal framework. Offering a fresh perspective on the prevention of nuclear terrorism, this book will benefit academics and students of public international law, counter-terrorism and conflict and security law. It will also be a useful resource for governmental legal advisors, think-tanks and diplomats to inform their work on means and mechanisms to help strengthen the global nuclear security regime and to provide guidance for decision-making.

This volume provides insights on how recruitment patterns develop for two related types of criminal networks: organized crime and terrorism. It specifically explores the social, situational, psychological, and economic drivers of recruitment. Although organized crime networks and terrorism networks can differ in underlying goals and motivations, this volume demonstrates common drivers in their recruitment, which will provide insights for crime prevention and intervention. The goal of the book is to explore the current knowledge about these common drivers, as well as highlight emerging research, to identify and prioritize a research agenda for scholars, as well as policymakers. The research presented in this work aims to fill existing gaps in the knowledge of recruitment to both organized crime and terrorism. For each area, it provides a systematic review of the existing research on social, psychological, and economic drivers of recruitment. It then presents findings from independent original research aimed to explore new ground not covered in these previous studies. The contributions to this volume were the result of a research project funded by a European Union Horizon 2020 grant, and present a diverse, international mix of expertise and cases. It will be of interest to researchers in criminology and criminal justice, as well as related fields such as sociology, psychology, and international relations.   Chapter 13 of this book is available open access under a CC BY 4.0 license.

As the attacks in Norway, Munich and most recently Christchurch have shown: a new threat is now shaking liberal Western societies. Radicalized right-wing extremists - so-called lone wolves - are engaging in individually planned terror attacks. Written by an expert on terrorism and populism, this book highlights the dynamics of this new breed of terrorism. By providing in-depth insights into the biographies of individual perpetrators, it illustrates the changing profile of the typical lone terrorist. This new kind of terrorist engages in violence without being a member of a party or organization, yet is radicalized by a global right-wing subculture that communicates in virtual networks. This startling and well-written book reveals the ideological roots of lone wolf terrorism and urges governments and civil society to take the threat seriously and implement suitable countermeasures.