LibGuides: Selected Online Reading on Children's Rights: E-books

Selected e-books

The Persecution of Children As a Crime Against Humanity by Sonja C. Grover
ISBN: 9783030750008
Publication Date: 2021-07-01
This book addresses age-based persecution of children as a crime against humanity in connection with genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes (persecution - with some variation in the elements of the crime - is an existing offence under the Rome Statute of the permanent International Criminal Court, the statutes of various international criminal tribunals i.e. International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia and under the statutes of other international criminal courts (i.e. the Special Court of Sierra Leone)). The book introduces a completely original concept in international criminal law, however, in discussing age-based persecution of children as an international crime against humanity where (i) the particular discrete child collective is targeted 'as such' for international atrocity crimes or (ii) individual children are targeted based on their age-based group identity as it intersects with other perpetrator - targeted characteristics such as gender, ethnicity, religion etc.
Children and the European Court of Human Rights by Claire Fenton-Glynn
ISBN: 9780198787518
Publication Date: 2021-03-07
The European Convention on Human Rights is one of the most influential human rights documents in existence, in terms of its scope, impact, and jurisdiction. Yet it was not drafted with children, let alone children's rights, in mind. Nevertheless, the European Court of Human Rights hasdeveloped a large body of jurisprudence regarding children, ranging from areas such as juvenile justice and immigration, to education and religion, and the protection of physical integrity. Its influence in the sphere of family law has been profound, in particular in the attribution of parenthood,and in cases concerning child abduction, child protection, and adoption.This book provides a comprehensive and detailed overview of the jurisprudence of the Court as it relates to children, highlighting its many achievements in this field, while also critiquing its ongoing weaknesses. In doing so, it tracks the evolution of the Court's treatment of children's rights,from its inauspicious and paternalistic beginnings to an emerging recognition of children's individual agency.
Unsafe Home by Limor Ezioni
ISBN: 9781793615381
Publication Date: 2020-09-30
In Unsafe Home: Child Harming within the Family, Limor Ezioni focuses on the three major types of child harming within the family-abuse, incest, and filicide-and provides an in-depth exploration of each type historically, legally, and comparatively. In the first part, focusing on abuse executed on children, Ezioni addresses both physical and emotional abuse, discussing what constitutes child abuse, how it should be punished, and whether any damage caused to a child is prosecutable by law. In the second part of the book, Ezioni examines childhood incest, focusing on adult survivors and the multitude of legal problems they face while attempting to pursue justice through the legal system and questioning whether the current legal and criminal provisions provide sufficient protection for survivors. In the final section of the book, Ezioni examine the filicide phenomenon and how the judicial system in western countries deals with the painful reality that reflects the society in which it occurs-filicide is often carried out by parents who are unable to function as a parent in circumstances dictated by the place and time in which they live. Scholars of legal studies, family studies, criminology, and sociology will find this book particularly useful.
The Oxford Handbook of Children and the Law by James G. Dwyer (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780190694395
Publication Date: 2020-03-23
The Oxford Handbook of Children and the Law presents cutting-edge scholarship on a broad range of topics covering the life course of humans from before birth to adulthood, by leading scholars in law, medicine, social work, sociology, education, and philosophy, and by practitioners in law andmedicine. An international collection of authors presents and analyzes the law and science pertaining to reproduction; prenatal life (including fetal exposure to toxic substances and abortion); parentage (including biology-based rights, background checks on birth parents, adoption, the status ofgamete donors, and surrogacy); infant development and vulnerability; child maltreatment (including corporal punishment and religious defences to abuse and neglect); child protection policy and systems; foster care; child custody disputes between parents or between parents and other caregivers;schooling (including financing, resegregation, religious expression in public schools, at-risk students, special education, regulation of private schools, and homeschooling); delinquency; minimum-age laws; and child advocacy. Most chapters follow a format wherein they first describe the most debatedor dynamic issues in each topical area, then explain in depth the law and/or science pertaining to the author's particular focus, and finally offer arguments and recommendations as to law and policy in that area. The normative component aims to advance discussions and debates in vital areas ofcontemporary child welfare law and policy. The Handbook is an essential resource for scholars and professionals interested in the intersection of children and the law.
Errors and Mistakes in Child Protection by Kay Biesel (Editor); Judith Masson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781447350927
Publication Date: 2020-03-18
This comprehensive international study provides a cross-national analysis of different understandings of errors and mistakes and lessons to avoid and handle them in child protection practice, using research and knowledge from eleven countries in Europe and North America. Divided into country-specific chapters, each examines the pathways that lead to mistakes happening, the scale of their impact, how responsibilities and responses are decided and how practice and policy subsequently change. Considering the complexities of evolving practice contexts, this authoritative, future-oriented study is an invaluable text for practitioners, researchers and policy makers wishing to understand why child protection fails - and offers a springboard for fresh thinking about strategies to reduce future risk.
Children's Lives in Southern Europe by Lourdes Gaitán (Editor); Yannis Pechtelidis (Editor); Catarina Tomás (Editor); Natália Fernandes (Editor)
ISBN: 9781789901238
Publication Date: 2020-02-03
This interdisciplinary book provides a sociological view of the contemporary experiences of children in Southern Europe. Focusing on regions deeply affected by the 2008 economic crisis, it offers a detailed investigation into the impact of economic downturn and austerity on the lives of children. Established childhood studies and sociology researchers unpack recent changes in the quality of children's lives and our understanding of children's rights in the modern world. Focusing first on contemporary changes to children's forms of living, the book then turns to the prevalence of poverty in Southern Europe, before scrutinising the experiences of migrant and highly mobile children. Illustrating these experiences with key case studies from across Southern Europe, this book presents a powerful critique of the promises and pitfalls of structural changes to children-centred public policy. This informative book is essential reading for academics and higher-level students of childhood studies. Policy makers and practitioners in education, law, health, social services and children's rights organizations in need of strong, empirical research into childhood experiences will appreciate the thorough case studies analysed in the book.
The Oxford Handbook of Children's Rights Law by Jonathan Todres (Editor); Shani M. King (Editor)
ISBN: 9780190097608
Publication Date: 2020-05-13
Children's rights law is a relatively young but rapidly developing discipline. The U.N. Convention on the Rights of the Child, the field's core legal instrument, is the most widely ratified human rights treaty in history. Yet, like children themselves, children's rights are often relegated tothe margins in mainstream legal, political, and other discourses, despite their application to approximately one-third of the world's population and every human being's first stages of life. Now thirty years old, the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC) signalled a definitive shift in the waythat children are viewed and understood - from passive objects subsumed within the family to full human beings with a distinct set of rights. Although the CRC and other children's rights law have spurred positive changes in law, policies, and attitudes toward children in numerous countries,implementation remains a work in progress. We have reached a state in the evolution of children's rights in which we need more critical evaluation and assessment of the CRC and the large body of children's rights law and policy that this treaty has inspired. We have moved from conceptualizing andadopting legislation to focusing on implementation and making the content of children's rights meaningful in the lives of all children. This book provides a critical evaluation and assessment of children's rights law, including the CRC. With contributions from leading scholars and practitioners fromaround the world, it aims to elucidate the content of children's rights law, explore the complexities of implementation, and identify critical challenges and opportunities for children's rights law.
Violence Against Children in the Criminal Justice System by Wendy O'Brien (Editor); Cédric Foussard (Editor)
ISBN: 9781138340220
Publication Date: 2019-09-25
Children who come into conflict with the law are more likely to have experienced violence or adversity than their non-offending peers. Exacerbating the deleterious effects of this childhood trauma, children's contact with the criminal justice system poses undue risks of physical, sexual, and psychological violence. This book examines the specific forms of violence that children experience through their contact with the criminal justice system. Comprising contributions from leading scholars and practitioners in children's rights and youth justice, this book profiles evidence-based prevention strategies and case studies from around the world. It illustrates the diversity of contexts in which various forms of violence against children unfold and advances knowledge about both the nature and extent of violence against children in criminal justice settings, and the specific situational factors that contribute to, or inhibit, the successful implementation of violence prevention strategies. It demonstrates that specialised child justice systems, in which children's rights are upheld, are crucial in preventing the violence inherent to conventional criminal justice regimes. Written in a clear and accessible style, this book will be of interest to students and researchers engaged in studies of criminology and criminal justice, youth justice, victimology, crime prevention, and children's rights.
Research Handbook on Child Soldiers by Mark A. Drumbl (Editor); Jastine C. Barrett (Editor)
ISBN: 9781788114479
Publication Date: 2019-08-30
Although child soldiers have received considerable media and policy attention, they remain poorly understood and inadequately protected. This Research Handbook addresses this troubling gap by offering a reflective and nuanced review of the complex issue of child soldiering.This comprehensive Research Handbook showcases diverse experiences and unique perspectives. It unpacks the life-cycle of youth and militarization: from recruitment, to demobilization, and return to civilian life. Challenging prevailing assumptions and conceptions, this uplifting Research Handbook focuses on the child soldier's capacity to cope with adversity. In so doing, it emphasizes the resilience, humanity and potential of children affected - rather than 'afflicted' - by armed conflict.The Research Handbook on Child Soldiers will be of interest to academics, practitioners and activists alike, with its extensive incorporation of cutting-edge fieldwork and the voices of the children themselves. Promoting equity between generations, this Research Handbook will also appeal to individuals from many walks of life who are concerned with the rights of the child in times of conflict, peace and the in-between.
Children's Rights by Wouter Vandenhole; Gamze Erdem Türkelli; Sara Lembrechts
ISBN: 9781786433121
Publication Date: 2019-11-19
This comprehensive Commentary presents a contemporary legal perspective on the inherently interdisciplinary field of children's rights. Chapters analyse each article of the Convention on the Rights of the Child, along with its Optional Protocols, providing contextualised information on the interpretation and implementation of the children's rights provisions therein. A detailed introduction examines the history of the Convention and places it within the wider landscape of human rights and other disciplinary approaches such as the sociology of childhood.The Commentary critically engages with the text of the Convention, exploring commonly used concepts and defining pertinent terminology. The authors draw on multiple perspectives and refer to disciplines outside of law to enrich the analysis of the articles, their interpretation and the study of children's rights as a discipline. Featuring examples of case law from regional human rights systems this Commentary provides a well-rounded insight into the status of children's rights on a global scale.Written in an accessible style, this Commentary will be a valuable reference work for students, researchers, practitioners and policymakers alike. The Commentary will be of great interest to those working within children's rights law and human rights law. Researchers in politics, sociology and international studies who are seeking further information and insight on the rights of children will also find this Commentary to be a useful point of reference.
Maternal Sentencing and the Rights of the Child by Shona Minson
ISBN: 9783030327378
Publication Date: 2020-01-25
This book brings to life the experiences of children affected by maternal imprisonment, and provides unique, in-depth analysis of judicial thinking on this issue. It explores the experiences of children whose mothers are sentenced to imprisonment in England and Wales and contrasts their state-sanctioned separation from their mothers in the criminal courts (where the court may not even be aware of the existence of a child) to the state-sanctioned separation of children from their parents in the family courts, where the child has legal representation and their best interests are the court's paramount consideration. Drawing on detailed empirical research with children, caregivers, and Crown Court judiciary, Maternal Sentencing and the Rights of the Child brings together relevant literature on law, criminology, and human rights to provide insight into the reasons for the differentiated treatment and its implications for children, their caregivers, and wider society.
Human Rights for Children and Youth by Magali Reis (Editor); Marcelo dos Santos Isidório (Editor)
ISBN: 9781789730487
Publication Date: 2019-10-07
The condition of childhood and youth in different socio-cultural contexts is an area that is yet to be fully uncovered. Currently, there is a lack of understanding regarding young people's inherent rights, how these translate into day-to-day policy and why the experience of childhood differs across different socio-cultural realities. This book, written by experts in the field from India, The Philippines, Sweden, Romania, Scotland, Brazil, Argentina and Jamaica, seeks to redress this disconnect and take an in-depth exploration into the condition of childhood across 3 different continents. Firstly, the authors explore the fundamental rights of children and young people, in which the boundaries and possibilities of guaranteeing and effecting rights are presented, also drawing attention to the new ways in which contemporary generations have resisted the waves of exclusion and marginalization. This important text then explores the idea of sociocultural differentiation and unity, presented through a series of innovative studies that illuminate the similarities and differences in living conditions of children and young people in different contexts. This volume, with both a comparative focus and global reach, will prove invaluable for researchers in the fields of childhood education and sociology.
Adoption Law and Human Rights by Kerry O'Halloran
ISBN: 9781138121072
Publication Date: 2018-03-13
In recent decades, there have been many changes to adoption law and practice, such as a sharp decline in the voluntary relinquishment of children, an increase in the number consigned to public care, and an abrupt decrease in those made available on an intercountry basis. Additionally, human rights are becoming more prominent, particularly in relation to issues such as: non-consensual adoption; the ethics of intercountry adoption; the eligibility of LGBT adopters; the impact of commercial surrogacy; and the sometimes conflicting rights of birth parents and adoptees when accessing agency birth records.　 In this book, O'Halloran presents a comparative analysis of the interaction between adoption law and human rights in common law (England and the US), civil law (France and Germany), and Asiatic traditions (Japan and China), while also developing a matrix of legal functions to assist in identifying and analysing areas of tension between human rights and adoption.　 This book is intended for a lawyer readership, whether professional, student or academic: researchers and postgraduate students in subjects such as social work, social policy and politics may also find it helpful.
Protecting Migrant Children by Mary Crock (Editor); Lenni Benson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781786430267
Publication Date: 2018-09-28
With unprecedented numbers of children on the move in search of safety, Protecting Migrant Children explores the complex legal and human rights issues that arise when children cross borders as migrants. It critically examines the strengths and weaknesses of international and domestic laws with the aim of identifying best practice for migrant children.The book brings together an interdisciplinary and multinational group of experts to assess the nature and root causes of child migration in different parts of the world, featuring national and comparative case studies in Australia, Canada, Europe, the United States and parts of Asia and Africa. The contributors address systematically the many challenges experienced and posed by young people who cross borders in search of protection, or a better quality of life. Identifying the many universal issues facing states who play host to these children, the book lays the foundations for new paradigms in law, policy and practice in the reception and management of child migrants, refugees and victims of trafficking. Topical and engaging, this book is an important resource for academics and students in human rights law; migration and refugee law; the administrative and procedural issues of refugee law, and comparative law; as well as in the social sciences and health sciences. Policymakers and workers within the community sector will also find this book stimulating and informative.
Research Handbook on Child Migration by Jacqueline Bhabha (Editor); Jyothi Kanics (Editor); Daniel Senovilla Hernández (Editor)
ISBN: 9781786433695
Publication Date: 2018-08-31
As the scale and complexity of global child migration grows, so too does the urgency of understanding this multifaceted phenomenon. This comprehensive, and original, Research Handbook is an essential tool for anyone seeking to engage in the topic. Collecting together a plethora of original intellectual, empirical and legal resources the Research Handbook on Child Migration probes the origins, characteristics and impacts of current child migration situations.Bringing together both leading experts and grass-roots activists, this Research Handbook is a comprehensive and diverse collection of the best and most up-to-date research on global child migration. It covers a wide range of topics from the history of specific child migration flows, the ethnography of child migration, and child specific legal tools and challenges, to the psychological effects of migration on child migrants. Presented in an accessible style, this Research Handbook provides a wealth of evidence and reflection which will enrich and improve the readers ability to tackle this key human rights challenge.This Research Handbook is an innovative tool which will be of use not only for students and scholars interested in migration displacement, immigration, and human rights, but also for policymakers and others actively engaged in the migrant and refugee rights advocacy community.
New International Frontiers in Child Sexual Abuse by Ben Mathews
ISBN: 9783319990439
Publication Date: 2018-10-18
This book offers a timely and detailed exploration and analysis of key contemporary issues and challenges in child sexual abuse, which holds great relevance for scholarly, legal, policy, professional and clinical audiences worldwide. The book draws together the best current evidence about the nature, aetiology, contexts, and sequelae of child sexual abuse. It explores the optimal definition of child sexual abuse, considers sexual abuse in history, and explores new theoretical understandings of children's rights and other key theories including public health and the Capabilities Approach, and their relevance to child sexual abuse prevention and responses. It examines a selection of the most pressing legal, theoretical, policy and practical challenges in child sexual abuse in the modern world, in developed and developing economies, including institutional child sexual abuse, female genital cutting, child marriage, the use of technology for sexual abuse, and the ethical responsibility and legal liability of major state and religious organisations, and individuals. It examines recent landmark legal and policy developments in all of these areas, drawing in particular on extensive developments from Australia in the wake of its Royal Commission Into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse. It also considers the best evidence about promising strategies and future promising directions in enhancing effective prevention, intervention and responses to child sexual abuse.

Des alternatives à l'adoption: Pour les enfants délaissés ou en danger ; Cécile Delannoy ; Marie-Laure Bouet-Simon ; ERES ; 2020
ISBN : 9782749266015
Publication Date: 2020-03-18

Publisher’s note: Qu’elles concernent des enfants français ou venus de l’étranger, les adoptions en France sont de plus en plus rares. Dans le même temps, un nombre croissant d’enfants déjà un peu grands se trouvent délaissés. Pas toujours adoptables, ni juridiquement ni psychologiquement, ils ont pourtant besoin de familles qui les accompagnent pour construire leur future vie d’adulte.

Des alternatives à l'adoption, notamment à l'adoption plénière, existent, les unes déjà anciennes, les autres très récentes, peu connues. Ces alternatives donnent du temps au temps, pour se découvrir, s’habituer les uns aux autres, s’apprécier, approfondir la relation. Elles présentent de la souplesse, s’adaptent aux cas particuliers, peuvent évoluer et déboucher sur de vraies

adoptions, affectives et parfois juridiques : adoption simple, parrainage, tiers bénévole ou tiers digne de confiance. Illustré de témoignages, cet ouvrage montre combien ces statuts sont des chances inouïes pour ces enfants qui découvrent que la vie peut être riche d’échanges, de confiance, de présence... et qu’ils sont aussi des chances inouïes pour les adultes, qui ont ainsi l’opportunité de nouer avec des enfants en manque de liens des relations affectives fortes, sincères, durables, au-delà même de ce qu’ils imaginaient.

La mère n'est pas tout ! : Reconfiguration des rôles et perspectives de cosocialisation; Gérard Neyrand ; ERES ; 2019
ISBN: 9782749263113
Publication Date : 2019-05-27

Publisher’s note: L’omniprésence de la mère dans les soins au bébé et l’éducation du jeune enfant demeure pour beaucoup un dogme inattaquable. Pourtant, depuis cinquante ans, la situation des familles, les rôles parentaux, la place des professionnels se sont profondément modifiés.

L’auteur retrace cette évolution et montre tout ce qui a changé tant du côté des savoirs sur les places familiales, le développement de l’enfant et l’éducation, que du côté des pratiques des acteurs, et de l’attitude des institutions. Il analyse les effets de cette nouvelle configuration des relations au bébé, caractéristique de notre société hypermoderne, et notamment les résistances, parfois violentes, qui se manifestent à son égard : rôle de la mère, rôle du père, nouvelles familles (notamment homoparentales), résidence alternée, prévention des troubles de l’enfant et/ou de la parentalité…

N’est-il pas temps de développer une coéducation renouvelée, ou plus encore une cosocialisation, des jeunes enfants dans une perspective citoyenne et démocratique ?

International Human Rights of Children by Ursula Kilkelly (Editor); Ton Liefaard (Editor)
ISBN: 9811031827
Publication Date: 2020
This book explores the meaning and implementation of international children's rights law, as laid down in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child and related international and regional human rights instruments. It considers the application of international children's rights at the national level and addresses key procedural and institutional matters concerning children's rights implementation, including monitoring, complaints mechanisms, effective remedies, advocacy and international agenda-setting. The book breaks new ground by analysing a wide range of international children's rights issues from a legal perspective. It incorporates a comparative perspective on children's rights law at the international, regional and domestic level and contains information on evidence-based strategies towards the implementation and enforcement of international children's rights law. The book is targeted at academics, legal and other professionals, and advanced students. It analyses children's rights law in the following areas: implementation and enforcement; advocacy and standard setting; complaints and remedies; the child and the family; adoption; alternative care; protection from violence; civil rights of the child; economic, social and cultural rights; education; health; migration and refugees; children and the justice system; children with disabilities; deprivation of liberty; children's rights and digital technologies; war and disaster; sustainable development goals and further contemporary issues.
Children's Rights: New Issues, New Themes, New Perspectives by Michael Freeman (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004356757
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
This collection of essays by a variety of scholars, compiled to celebrate the silver anniversary of The International Journal of Children's Rights, builds on work already in the literature to reveal where we are now at and how the law concerned with children is reacting to new developments. New, or relatively new subject matter is explored, such as film classification, intersex genital mutilation, the right to development. Rights within the context of sport are given an airing. We are offered new perspectives on discipline, on the significance of "rights flowing downhill," on the so-called "General Principles." The uses to which the CRC is put in legal reasoning in some legal systems is critically examined. Though not intended as an audit, the collection offers a fascinating image of where the field of children's right is at now, the progress that has been made, and what issues will require work in the future.
The Child in International Refugee Law by Jason M. Pobjoy
ISBN: 9781316627402
Publication Date: 2017-04-27
Children are the victims of some of the most devastating examples of state-sanctioned and private human rights abuse. In increasing numbers, they are attempting to find international protection, and are forced to navigate complex administrative and legal processes that fail to take into account their distinct needs and vulnerabilities. The key challenges they face in establishing entitlement to refugee protection are their invisibility and the risk of incorrect assessment. Drawing on an extensive and original analysis of jurisprudence of leading common law jurisdictions, this book undertakes an assessment of the extent to which these challenges may be overcome by greater engagement between international refugee law and international law on the rights of the child. The result is the first comprehensive study on the manner in which these two mutually reinforcing legal regimes can interact to strengthen the protection of refugee children.
Human Rights and Children by Barbara Stark (Editor)
ISBN: 9781785361005
Publication Date: 2017-04-28
This volume provides a comprehensive overview of children's human rights, collecting the works of leading authorities as well as new scholars grappling with emerging ideas of 'children' and 'rights.' Beginning with the Convention on the Rights of the Child, the most widely ratified human rights treaty in the world, this book explores the theory, doctrine, and implementation of the legal frameworks addressing child labor, child soldiers, and child trafficking, as well as children's socio-economic rights, including their rights to education. With an original introduction by the Professor Stark, this topical volume is an invaluable resource for scholars, students, and activists
Children's Protection Against Discrimination by Marit Skivenes; Karl Harald Søvig
ISBN: 9780367074630
Publication Date: 2019-03-21
Societies and states are at a crossroad in how children are treated and how their rights are respected and protected. Children´s new position and their strong rights create tensions and challenge the traditional relationships between family and the state. The United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child was adopted unanimously by the General Assembly of the United Nations in 1989 and came into force in 1990. Article 2 places states under an obligation to accord primacy to the best interests of the child in all actions concerning children and to ensure and regulate child protection. This book offers a comparative and critical analysis of the implementation of Article 2 of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child. In order to examine how Article 2 is being implemented, it is essential to have a sound understanding of the obligations it emposes. The opening chapters will explore the precise content of these obligations in terms of the legislative history of the text, its underlying philosophy, its amplification by the United Nations Committee on the Rights of the Child, and subsequent authoritative interpretations of it by courts around the world. The book will then drill down into the conceptual and theoretical challenges posed by the very nature of the obligations and will offer in-depth exploration of the long-running 'rights v welfare' debate that has always presented something of a challenge in giving effect to children's rights. Contributors are leading academics in the children's rights field drawn from a wide range of countries and jurisdictions worldwide, including those with common law, civilian and mixed traditions. Disciplines represented in the book include law, psychology, political science, childhood studies, social work and anthropology. By drawing together the various facets of Article 2 and analysing it from a range of perspectives, the volume provides a coherent and comprehensive inter-disciplinary analysis on discrimination and the rights of the child.
Philosophy and Child Poverty by Nicolás Brando (Editor); Gottfried Schweiger (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030224516
Publication Date: 2019-09-25
This book offers a broad and diverse reflection of the ways in which child poverty could be conceptualised, and the ways in which it is intertwined with childhood as a specific social condition. Furthermore, the responsibilities towards children and the possible mechanisms required for dealing with this condition will be analysed and clarified. This is the first volume on philosophy and child poverty. Despite the increasing number of publications on poverty, the particular phenomenon of poverty during childhood has not received much philosophical attention. This is surprising, given the severity and depth of child poverty around the globe. This volume brings together various philosophical approaches and how they understand and tackle child poverty. This is an important addition to the philosophical literature, which is also of wider interest to scholars working in the social sciences and with an interest in child poverty.

E-chapters

Recognizing children’s rights in relation to digital technologies: challenges of voice and evidence, principle and practice; Amanda Third, Sonia Livingstone, Gerison Lansdown in:

Research Handbook on Human Rights and Digital Technology by Ben Wagner (Editor); Kilian Vieth (Editor); Matthias C. Kettemann (Editor)
ISBN: 9781785367717
Publication Date: 2019-01-25
In a digitally connected world, the question of how to respect, protect and fulfil human rights has become unavoidable. Uniting research from scholars and practitioners, this contemporary Research Handbook offers new insights into well-established debates surrounding digital technologies by framing them in terms of human rights.An international group of expert contributors explore the issues posed by the management of key Internet resources, the governance of its architecture, the role of different stakeholders, the legitimacy of rule-making and rule-enforcement, and the exercise of international public authority over users. Highly interdisciplinary, the Research Handbook draws on law, political science, and international relations, as well as computer science and science and technology studies in order to engage with human rights aspects of the digitally connected world. The chapters examine in depth current topics relating to human rights and security, Internet access, surveillance, automation, trade, and freedom of expression.This comprehensive and engaging Research Handbook will be vital reading for both researchers and students in law, human rights, international politics, international relations and technology studies. Policy-makers seeking an understanding of the state of human rights in technology will also find this book a highly useful resource.

Protecting the most vulnerable: embedding childrens rights in the business and human rights project ; Jonathan Kolieb in :

Research Handbook on Human Rights and Business by Surya Deva (Editor); David Birchall (Editor)
ISBN: 9781786436399
Publication Date: 2020-07-08
This authoritative Research Handbook brings together leading international scholars and practitioners to provide in-depth analysis of some of the most hotly debated topics and issues concerning the interface of human rights and business. In addition to offering critical insights on the historical evolution of the business and human rights field and its relationship with the domain of corporate social responsibility, contributions to this comprehensive Research Handbook are split into several thematic parts to facilitate cohesive analysis. Chapters explore the themes of corporate human rights due diligence, regulatory role of states, human rights' intersection with trade, investment and finance, heightened risks for certain groups and contexts, and corporate accountability. Containing a detailed examination of the challenges and the potential solutions in the field, the Research Handbook on Human Rights and Business will be an indispensable resource for scholars, researchers, policymakers and practitioners working at the intersection of business and human rights.

Quality of Non-resident Father-Child Relationships: Between “Caring for” and “Caring About”; Aušra Maslauskaitė, Artūras Tereškinas in:

Divorce in Europe by Dimitri Mortelmans (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030258375
Publication Date: 2020-01-31
This open access book collects the major discussions in divorce research in Europe. It starts with an understanding of divorce trends. Why was divorce increasing so rapidly throughout the US and Europe and do we see signs of a turn? Do cohabitation breakups influence divorce trends or is there a renewed stability on the partner market? In terms of divorce risks, the book contains new insights on Eastern European countries. These post socialist countries have evolved dramatically since the fall of the Wall and at present they show the highest divorce figures in Europe. Also the influence of gender, and more specifically women's education as a risk in divorce is examined cross nationally. The book also provides explanations for the negative gradient in female education effects on divorce. It devotes three separate parts to new insights in the post-divorce effects of the life course event by among others looking at consequences for adults and children but also taking the larger family network into account. As such the book is of interest to demographers, sociologists, psychologists, family therapists, NGOs, and politicians. "This wide-ranging volume details important trends in divorce in Europe that hold implications for understanding family dissolution causes and consequences throughout the world. Highly recommended for researchers and students everywhere."

« L’intérêt de l’enfant », clair-obscur des droits fondamentaux de l’enfant ; Anne-Catherine Rasson in:

L'étranger, la veuve et l'orphelin. Le droit protège-t-il les plus faibles ? by Géraldine Mathieu, Nathalie Colette-Basecqz, Stéphanie Wattier

ISBN : 9782807918825

Publication date : 03-2020

Évaluer et déterminer l’intérêt de l’enfant est un travail complexe d’équilibre, de juste poids et de mesure. Pour y parvenir, il faut prendre l’intérêt de l’enfant au sérieux. Et l’on y parvient en se référant aux lignes directrices du Comité des droits de l’enfant. En respectant, toujours, les droits de l’enfant. En pesant, concrètement, les droits et intérêts de chacun. En prenant en compte la vulnérabilité de l’enfant et en lui donnant un plus grand poids. En faisant sérieusement le travail d’équilibriste que l’effectivité des droits de l’enfant requiert. En montrant aux enfants qu’ils ne sont ni des pantins instrumentalisés par les adultes ni des enfants-rois mais de véritables sujets de droits, dont l’humanité et la vulnérabilité sont reconnues et respectées.

Le statut de l’enfant en droit international ; Carmen Lavallée in:

La protection internationale des droits de l'enfant : entre idéalisme et pragmatisme by Carmen Lavallée

ISBN : 9782802749042

Publication date: 06-2015

Le respect des droits de la personne constitue l'un des principes fondamentaux des sociétés démocratiques. L'émergence des droits de l'enfant découle des luttes antérieures menées contre les autres formes d'inégalité. Les instruments internationaux relatifs aux droits de la personne sont applicables aux enfants, mais ils se sont avérés inadéquats pour assurer leur protection spécifique. En effet, les enfants peuvent être doublement discriminés ; à la fois en tant qu'enfant et en tant que membre d'un autre groupe vulnérable. De plus, les enfants sont des personnes en développement, et cette situation justifie qu'on leur octroie une protection spécifique. Cette vulnérabilité constitue le fondement traditionnel de l'incapacité juridique des mineurs. Or, cette reconnaissance de l'enfant en tant que sujet de droits est maintenant de plus en plus souvent critiquée. La théorie des droits de l'enfant met en avant de nouveaux paramètres, tels que la capacité progressive, l'autonomie, l'intérêt et le droit de participation de l'enfant. Ces paradigmes sont désormais relayés par le droit international, et plus particulièrement par la Convention internationale relative aux droits de l'enfant, adoptée par l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies en 1989. Or, la mise en œuvre des droits de l'enfant s'avère complexe à cause de cette dualité de l'enfant, à la fois sujet de droit et objet de protection. Cet ouvrage constitue une mise en contexte des droits de l'enfant. La première partie est consacrée à l'étude du statut juridique de l'enfant en droit international. L'analyse porte également sur les textes régionaux applicables aux enfants, en Amérique, en Europe et en Afrique. La deuxième partie montre la nécessité d'un équilibre entre le droit à l'autonomie et le droit à la protection de l'enfant. En effet, l'adoption d'une approche holistique et respectueuse des capacités progressives de l'enfant dans la mise en œuvre de ses droits ne doit pas nous faire oublier que l'enfant a également droit à une protection efficace contre les différentes formes d'exploitation dont il est encore aujourd'hui trop souvent l'objet

Child impoverishment and the human rights of children ; Wouter Vandenhole in:

Research Handbook on Human Rights and Poverty by Martha F. Davis (Editor); Morten Kjaerum (Editor); Amanda Lyons (Editor)
ISBN: 9781788977500
Publication Date: 2021-03-26
This important Research Handbook explores the nexus between human rights, poverty and inequality as a critical lens for understanding and addressing key challenges of the coming decades, including the objectives set out in the Sustainable Development Goals. The Research Handbook starts from the premise that poverty is not solely an issue of minimum income and explores the profound ways that deprivation and distributive inequality of power and capability relate to economic, social, cultural, civil and political rights.Leading experts in the human rights field representing a range of disciplines outline a future research agenda to address poverty and inequality head on. Beginning with an interrogation of the definition of poverty, subsequent chapters analyse the dynamics of poverty and inequality in relation to matters such as race, gender, age, disability, sexual orientation, geography and migration status. The rights to housing, land, health, work, education, protest and access to justice are also explored, with a recognition of the challenges posed by corruption, climate change and new technologies.The Research Handbook on Human Rights and Poverty is an essential reference guide for those who teach in these areas and for scholars and students developing future research agendas of their own. This will also be a much-needed resource for people working practically to address poverty in both the Global North and Global South.

Further sources

Ebook Central – Request your personal access to this vast collection of e-books from major academic publishers. You can log in from anywhere, including outside the European Parliament or on a mobile device. See how to join and check what it can offer on children's rights topics .
You can also access other e-book platforms via EPRS Library services page, or search the EP Library Catalogue.

If you are unable to access the book you need, please contact us and we will get it for you as soon as possible.

Selected Online Reading on Children's Rights

Search in EP Library Catalogue

Contact us

Selected e-books

E-chapters

Further sources

Journals on all devices

Books, articles, EPRS publications & more

Newspapers on all devices