Selected Online Reading on Migration: Gender, Children's Rights and Protecting the Vulnerable

Drawing on the concept of the 'politics of compassion', this Handbook interrogates the political, geopolitical, social and anthropological processes which produce and govern borders and give rise to contemporary border violence. Chapters map different aspects of structural violence and mobilities in some of the world's most contentious border zones, highlighting the forms and practices that connect with labour exploitation, legal exclusion and a severe absence of human rights. International interdisciplinary contributors, including renowned sociologist Saskia Sassen, draw attention to the forms and spaces of resistance available to migrants and activists, contemplating how advocates attempt to provide protection and human security to those subjected to border violence. Offering empirical analyses of critical border spaces, the book covers extensively the US-Mexico border region and border zones around the Mediterranean. Border issues in South, Central and North America, Eastern Europe, Northern Europe, the Middle East, Central Africa and East and Central Asia are also discussed. The Handbook thus provides a truly transnational approach to borders and migration, demonstrating the dynamic but asymmetric relationship between the social structure of border enforcement and the human agency of migrants and global activists. Combining theoretical insights into structural violence and human rights with key case studies of border zones, this comprehensive Handbook is crucial reading for scholars and researchers of social and political science investigating human migration, the humanitarian, border control and human rights. Its practical insights will also benefit policy-makers involved in borders and migration, as well as advocates and NGOs working with migrants and refugees to create secure environments.

This book focuses on the neglected yet critical issue of how the global migration of millions of parents as low-waged migrant workers impacts the rights of their children under international human rights law. The work provides a systematic analysis and critique of how the restrictive features of policies governing temporary labour migration interfere with provisions of the Convention on the Rights of the Child that protect the child-parent relationship and parental role in children's lives. Combining social and legal research, it identifies both potential harms to children's well-being caused by prolonged child-parent separation and State duties to protect this relationship, which is deliberately disrupted by temporary labour migration policies. The book boldly argues that States benefitting from the labour of migrant workers share responsibility under international human rights law to mitigate harms to the children of these workers, including by supporting effective measures to maintain transnational child-parent relationships. It identifies measures to incorporate children's best interests into temporary labour migration policies, offering ways to reduce interferences with children's family rights. This book fills a gap that emerges at the intersection of child rights studies, migration research and existing literature on the purported nexus between labour migration and international development. It will be a valuable resource for academics, researchers and policymakers working in these areas. The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/e/9781003028000, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license

Capturing the important place and power role that culture plays in the decision-making process of migration, this Handbook looks at human movement outside of a vacuum; taking into account the impact of family relationships, access to resources, and security and insecurity at both the points of origin and destination. Utilising case studies from around the world, chapters look at migration from the perspectives of a broad range of migrants, including refugees, labour migrants, students, highly educated migrants, and documented and undocumented movers. The Handbook moves beyond an understanding of the economics of migration, looking at the importance of love, skilled movers, food and identity in migrants' lives. It analyses the assumption that migrants follow direct pathways to new destinations where they settle, recognising the dynamic ways in which movers travel, following circular routes and celebrating new opportunities. Highlighting the challenges migrants face, disputes around belonging and citizenship are explored in relation to rising nationalism and xenophobia. The insightful studies of the choices migrants make around both perceived and real needs and resources will make this Handbook a critical read for scholars and students of migration studies. It will also appeal to policy makers looking to understand the complexity of the impetus to migrant movement, and the important role that culture plays.

This open access short reader provides a state of the art overview of the discrimination research field, with particular focus on discrimination against immigrants and their descendants. It covers the ways in which discrimination is defined and conceptualized, how it is measured, how it may be theorized and explained, and how it might be combated by legal and policy means. The book also presents empirical results from studies of discrimination across the world to show the magnitude of the problem and the difficulties of comparison across national borders. The concluding chapter engages in a critical discussion of the relationship between discrimination and integration as well as pointing out promising directions for future studies. As such this short reader is a valuable read to undergraduate students, as well as graduate students, scholars, policy makers and the general public.

This book examines gender- and integration-specific needs of women migrants by using a unique analytic framework, covering both qualitative and quantitative methods and techniques. Case studies from Sweden and Germany are presented, investigating how the gender and integration-neutral or integration-blind nature of the reviewed legislation can disadvantage migrant women in the labor market. The book contributes to the discourses of liberal and post-colonial feminism through new methodological and empirical insights. It, therefore, is a must-read for everybody interested in a better understanding of migrant women's chances to enter the labor market, as well as gender and integration studies in general.

This book addresses the intersection of various domains of international law (refugee law, human rights law including child rights international law and humanitarian law) in terms of the implications for State obligations to child refugee asylum seekers in particular; both as collectives and as individual persons. How these State obligations have been interpreted and translated into practice in different jurisdictions is explored through selected problematic significant cases. Further, various threats to refugee children realizing their asylum rights, including refoulement of these children through State extraterritorial and pushback migration control strategies, are highlighted through selected case law. The argument is made that child refugee asylum seekers must not be considered, in theory or in practice, beyond the protection of the law if the international rule of law grounded on respect for human dignity and human rights is in fact to prevail.

As the scale and complexity of global child migration grows, so too does the urgency of understanding this multifaceted phenomenon. This comprehensive, and original, Research Handbook is an essential tool for anyone seeking to engage in the topic. Collecting together a plethora of original intellectual, empirical and legal resources the Research Handbook on Child Migration probes the origins, characteristics and impacts of current child migration situations.Bringing together both leading experts and grass-roots activists, this Research Handbook is a comprehensive and diverse collection of the best and most up-to-date research on global child migration. It covers a wide range of topics from the history of specific child migration flows, the ethnography of child migration, and child specific legal tools and challenges, to the psychological effects of migration on child migrants. Presented in an accessible style, this Research Handbook provides a wealth of evidence and reflection which will enrich and improve the readers ability to tackle this key human rights challenge.This Research Handbook is an innovative tool which will be of use not only for students and scholars interested in migration displacement, immigration, and human rights, but also for policymakers and others actively engaged in the migrant and refugee rights advocacy community.

Junge minderjährige Geflüchtete bedürfen eines besonderen Schutzes und werden innerhalb der Kinder- und Jugendhilfe betreut. In diesem Sammelband sollen die Rechtsgrundlagen sowie Rahmenbedingungen innerhalb der Jugendhilfe fokussiert werden. Hierbei wird insbesondere auf zwei aktuelle Studien zurückgegriffen, die aus der Sicht der jungen Menschen selbst Fragen der Unterbringung und Perspektiven im Hinblick auf Integration in die deutsche Mehrheitsgesellschaft untersucht haben. Zusätzlich wird auf die Frage von Diskrimierungserfahrungen auch im Hinblick auf sexuelle Identität und Orientierung eingegangen, was in bisherigen Werken noch kaum angesprochen wurde. 

With unprecedented numbers of children on the move in search of safety, Protecting Migrant Children explores the complex legal and human rights issues that arise when children cross borders as migrants. It critically examines the strengths and weaknesses of international and domestic laws with the aim of identifying best practice for migrant children.The book brings together an interdisciplinary and multinational group of experts to assess the nature and root causes of child migration in different parts of the world, featuring national and comparative case studies in Australia, Canada, Europe, the United States and parts of Asia and Africa. The contributors address systematically the many challenges experienced and posed by young people who cross borders in search of protection, or a better quality of life. Identifying the many universal issues facing states who play host to these children, the book lays the foundations for new paradigms in law, policy and practice in the reception and management of child migrants, refugees and victims of trafficking. Topical and engaging, this book is an important resource for academics and students in human rights law; migration and refugee law; the administrative and procedural issues of refugee law, and comparative law; as well as in the social sciences and health sciences. Policymakers and workers within the community sector will also find this book stimulating and informative.

This book discusses how human wellbeing is constructed and transferred intergenerationally in the context of international migration. Research on intergenerational transmission (IGT) has tended to focus on material asset transfers prompting calls to balance material asset analysis with that of psychosocial assets - including norms, values attitudes and behaviors. Drawing on empirical research undertaken with Latin American migrants in London, Katie Wright sets out to redress the balance by examining how far psychosocial transfers may be used as a buffer to mediate the material deprivations that migrants face via adoption of a gender, life course and human wellbeing perspective. 

This volume documents the life uncertainties revealed by migrants' biographies. For international migrants, life journeys are less conventional or patterned, while their family, work, and educational trajectories are simultaneously more fragmented and intermingled. The authors discuss the challenges faced by migrants and returnees when trying to make sense of their life courses after years of experience in other countries with different age norms and cultural values. The book also examines the ways to reconcile competing cultural expectations of both origin and destination societies regarding the timing of transitions between roles to provide a meaningful account of their life courses. Migration is, itself, a major life event, with profound implications for the pursuit of migrants' life goals, organization of family life, and personal networks, and it can affect, to a considerable degree, their subjective well-being. Chapter 9 is available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com. 

Considering the dynamic and reciprocal relationship between gender relations and migration, the contributions in this book approach migration dynamics from a gender-sensitive perspective. Bringing together insights from various fields of study, it is demonstrated how processes of social change occur differently in distinct life domains, over time, and across countries and/or regions, influencing the relationship between gender and migration. Detailed analysis by regions, countries, and types of migration reveals a strong variation regarding levels and features of female and male migration. This approach enables us to grasp the distinct ways in which gender roles, perceptions, and relations, each embedded in a particular cultural, geographical, and socioeconomic context, affect migration dynamics. Hence, this volume demonstrates that gender matters at each stage of the migration process. In its entirety, Gender and Migration gives evidence of the unequivocal impact of gender and gendered structures, both at a micro and macro level, upon migrant's lives and of migration on gender dynamics.

Anne-Katrin Schührer beschäftigt sich in diesem Buch mit der Motivation bürgerschaftlichen Engagements im Kontext von Migration und sozialer Ungleichheit. Empirische Grundlage sind 28 Interviews mit Frauen mit Zuwanderungsgeschichte, die sich in Mütter- und Familienzentren und Mehrgenerationenhäusern in Baden-Württemberg engagieren. Dabei soll insbesondere thematisiert werden, inwiefern bürgerschaftliches Engagement als Suche nach Anerkennung, Lebensbewältigung und sozialer Inklusion verstanden werden kann und welchen Beitrag Einrichtungen und Vereine leisten können, um zu anerkennungssensiblen Orten zu werden.

This book addresses the 'three moments' in lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) asylum seekers' and refugees' efforts to secure protection: The reasons for their flight, the Refugee Status Determination process, and their integration into the host community once they are recognized refugee status. The first part discusses one of the most under-researched areas within the literature devoted to asylum claims based on sexual orientation and gender identity, namely the reasons behind LGBTI persons' flight. It investigates the motives that drive LGBTI persons to leave their countries of origin and seek sanctuary elsewhere, the actors of persecution, and the status quo of LGBTI rights. Accordingly, an intersectional approach is employed so as to offer a comprehensive picture of how a host of factors beyond sexual orientation/gender identity impact this crucial first stage of LGBTI asylum seekers' journey. In turn, the second part explores the challenges that LGBTI asylum seekers face during the RSD process in countries of asylum. It first examines these countries' interpretations and applications of the process in relation to the relevant UNHCR guidelines and questions the challenges including the dominance of Western conceptions and narratives of sexual identity in the asylum procedure, heterogeneous treatment concerning the definition of a particular social group, and the difficulties related to assessing one's sexual orientation within the asylum procedure. It subsequently addresses the reasons for and potential solutions to these challenges. The last part of the book focuses on the integration of LGBTI refugees into the countries of asylum. It first seeks to identify and describe the protection gaps that LGBTI refugees are currently experiencing, before turning to the reasons and potential remedies for them.

In a world of increasingly heated political debates on migration, relentlessly caught up in questions of security, humanitarian crisis, and cultural "problems," this book radically shifts the focus to address migration through the lens of inequality.   Taking an innovative approach, Mirna Safi offers a fresh perspective on how migration is embedded in the elementary mechanisms that shape the landscape of inequality. She sketches out three distinct channels which lead to unequal outcomes for different migrating and non-migrating groups: the global division of labor; the production of legal and administrative categories; and the reconfiguration of symbolic ethnoracial groups. Respectively, these channels categorize migrants as "type of workers," "type of citizens," and "type of humans." Examining this intersection across the U.S. and Europe, she shows how studying international migration together with inequality can challenge nationally established paradigms of social justice.   This timely book will be essential reading for all students and researchers interested in the sociology and politics of migration, ethnic and racial studies, and social inequality and stratification.

European public discourse often frames (forced) migration solely as a security issue and ignores the implications of societal diversity for health, quality-of-life and well-being, in both Africa and Europe. The present volume offers an interdisciplinary and international look at the relationship between refugees, diversity, and health, including health care policies, socio-political framework conditions, environmental factors, the situation in refugee camps, quality-of-life approaches and economical perspectives.

This book highlights how climate change has affected migration in the Indian subcontinent. Drawing on field research, it argues that extreme weather events such as floods, droughts, cyclones, cloudbursts as well as sea-level rise, desertification and declining crop productivity have shown higher frequency in recent times and have depleted bio-physical diversity and the capacity of the ecosystem to provide food and livelihood security. The volume shows how the socio-economically poor are worst affected in these circumstances and resort to migration to survive. The essays in the volume study the role of remittances sent by migrants to their families in environmentally fragile zones in providing an important cushion and adaptation capabilities to cope with extreme weather events. The book looks at the socio-economic and political drivers of migration, different forms of mobility, mortality and morbidity levels in the affected population, and discusses mitigation and adaption strategies. The volume will be of great interest to scholars and researchers of environment and ecology, migration and diaspora studies, development studies, sociology and social anthropology, governance and public policy, and politics.

This book is an interdisciplinary attempt to understand the contemporaneous human condition of asylum seekers through analysis of their entrapment and the resultant new forms of resistance that have emerged to combat it. Based on qualitative research data, the chapters support the claim that asylum seekers are entrapped in social, legal and economic precariousness amidst the complex relationship between individual agency and social structure.  By exploring the practices and lived experiences of asylum seekers and other parties involved in their migration and reception, the authors explore the structural and individual agency factors that entrap asylum seekers in precarious livelihoods and lead to marginalization and social exclusion. A bold and timely study, this edited collection will be essential reading for academics and students of criminology, sociology, anthropology, urban studies and social policy.

The wave of migrants arriving in Europe fleeing from war or hard living conditions represents both a challenge and a great educational opportunity for the European school systems. Currently, research and good practice in this field have been mainly developed within the boundaries of national educational politics and policies, addressing distinct populations. This fragmentation has stood in the way of a systematic analysis of the question at the European level, which is a necessary condition for the advancement of successful educational interventions. The book aims to offer substantive insights for researchers, policy makers, and teachers concerned with the effective inclusion of refugees within education by collecting and comparing the growing body of knowledge that is emerging from eight European countries. Contributors are: Oula Abu-Amsha, Miki Aristorenas, Tatjana Atanasoska, Benjamin Brass, Henrik Bruns, Heike de Boer, Sanja Grbic, Hermina Gunn rsd ttir, Laure Kloetzer, T nde Kovacs Cerovic, Louise Pagden, Michelle Proyer, Wayne Veck, Dragan Vesic, and Julie Wharton.

This comprehensive and innovative volume focuses on the usefulness and relevance of extending the scope of protections already in place for national minorities ("old minorities") to migrant populations ("new minorities") in Europe. Delving into a highly relevant but under-researched issue, the book examines the feasibility of expanding the system of protection for national minorities to migrant groups, as well as considering issues of diversity, security, socio-economic concerns and identity. Taking a multidisciplinary perspective, and combining insights from political science, law, sociology, and anthropology, it asks the central question of how far the extension of policies and rights currently specific to national minorities is conceptually meaningful and beneficial to the integration of 'new' minorities. In doing so, it questions the feasibility and appropriateness of extending the scope of the protections already in place for national minorities to other categories of population. This book will be of key interest to scholars, students and practitioners of European Union politics, migration studies, minority studies and more broadly of sociology, international law, and human rights. ation. This book will be of key interest to scholars, students and practitioners of European Union politics, migration studies, minority studies and more broadly of sociology, international law, and human rights.

This book addresses the challenge for social integration posed by immigration into Western liberal democracies. Movement of people, goods and money across borders has increased in recent decades - the phenomenon known as globalisation. But it has been the migration of refugees from civil wars in the Middle East which has most transformed the political life of European societies, causing the decline in support for the traditional conservative and social democratic parties. It has triggered nationalistic mobilisations and authoritarian regimes, as well as attempts to improved integration in societies. The coronavirus pandemic has added a dimension to these processes, but also opened up new possibilities for transformation.      

This important Research Handbook explores the nexus between human rights, poverty and inequality as a critical lens for understanding and addressing key challenges of the coming decades, including the objectives set out in the Sustainable Development Goals. The Research Handbook starts from the premise that poverty is not solely an issue of minimum income and explores the profound ways that deprivation and distributive inequality of power and capability relate to economic, social, cultural, civil and political rights.Leading experts in the human rights field representing a range of disciplines outline a future research agenda to address poverty and inequality head on. Beginning with an interrogation of the definition of poverty, subsequent chapters analyse the dynamics of poverty and inequality in relation to matters such as race, gender, age, disability, sexual orientation, geography and migration status. The rights to housing, land, health, work, education, protest and access to justice are also explored, with a recognition of the challenges posed by corruption, climate change and new technologies.The Research Handbook on Human Rights and Poverty is an essential reference guide for those who teach in these areas and for scholars and students developing future research agendas of their own. This will also be a much-needed resource for people working practically to address poverty in both the Global North and Global South.

Adult women from former Soviet Union countries, play an increasingly central role in Italian labour market. They are occupied mainly in home care services and they support Italian elderly and vulnerable population. However, there is a lack of studies on migrants from these countries to Italy and on their labour market position, especially in the case of quantitative approaches. This chapter explores whether there are specific migratory models of former Soviet Union women citizens.

Children are especially considered to be experiencing vulnerabilities in migration and the best interests of the child principle is set as a baseline in addressing and reducing such vulnerabilities.

This paper focuses on the public narratives concerning New Year’s Eve 2015 in Cologne, which attracted national and international attention and engendered a quarrel over the best policy concerning migration and refugees. The narratives are a typical example of the blurring lines between crime control and migration control. In this context, stories about sexual violence are emphasised by making refugees responsible for said violence. The present analysis shows how stories about sexual violence explicitly highlight links to migration and deny the everyday character of sexual violence in public space.

Nowadays migration is one of the key issues in the international as well as in the European political and public debate. It represents a key challenge for modern societies and, together with the adaptation of welfare, has been extensively investigated in social sciences. One of the most compelling challenges consists in the adaptation of health systems to migration’s new needs. The European Union (EU) presents among its member states (MS) highly differentiated situations in terms of healthcare provision models, contribution systems, and integration policies adopted towards foreigners. Compared to other countries with a longer migratory tradition, the differences in access and use of health systems by intra-EU migrants and migrants from third countries are still considerable within EU MS, and further diversified based on migrants’ legal status. Starting from the traditional types of healthcare systems, a more specific purpose will be to establish and measure a systematic relationship between the costs and performance of health systems, migratory care demand, and the migrants’ contribution to the European systems.

This handbook is an international, comprehensive, reference tool in the field of trafficking in people and slavery. It covers everything from historical perspectives to cutting-edge topics to provide a high-level and systematic examination of the field which is at the forefront of both research and practice. It has an impressive breadth of entries from leading experts and international organisations to NGOs on the ground. This handbook is truly global with contributions from scholars and practitioners on virtually every continent (e.g. Europe, North America, Australia, Africa, Asia, and South America). This book also covers problematic areas that cannot be found in other reference works.

Although the EU received widespread criticism for transferring its refugee protection and migration management responsibilities outside its borders, one aspect that requires further attention is the way in which gender considerations are incorporated within these policies. Addressing this understudied issue, this chapter explores whether gender-specific challenges are integrated into EU cooperation with third countries in the area of migration and asylum policy. The chapter is divided into two sections: the first provides an examination of the EU’s asylum policy from a gendered perspective and also analyses the extent to which Turkish policy development in this area has been subject to Europeanisation; the second investigates the degree to which the EU has integrated gender-related norms and concerns into its cooperation with third countries, looking specifically at the case of Turkey-EU cooperation. The central argument is that EU external migration policies largely neglect issues pertaining to gender. This leads to the EU having limited scope to oversee the incorporation of gender concerns and norms in its partners’ asylum policies.