Cybersecurity

The Dictionary of Privacy, Data Protection and Information Securityexplains the complex technical terms, legal concepts, privacy management techniques, conceptual matters and vocabulary that inform public debate about privacy. The revolutionary and pervasive influence of digital technology affects numerous disciplines and sectors of society, and concerns about its potential threats to privacy are growing. With over a thousand terms meticulously set out, described and cross-referenced, this Dictionary enables productive discussion by covering the full range of fields accessibly and comprehensively. In the ever-evolving debate surrounding privacy, this Dictionary takes a longer view, transcending the details of today's problems, technology, and the law to examine the wider principles that underlie privacy discourse. Interdisciplinary in scope, this Dictionary is invaluable to students, scholars and researchers in law, technology and computing, cybersecurity, sociology, public policy and administration, and regulation. It is also a vital reference for diverse practitioners including data scientists, lawyers, policymakers and regulators.

This book explores how to leverage the power of artificial intelligence (AI) to create a secure digital identity, and how to leverage those capabilities with digital infrastructure, such as mobile ID, to make internet access safer, more available, and more equitable for everyone. Digital identification is a long-overdue and necessary tool for the U.S. economy to transition into the digital age, while preventing fraud, ensuring privacy, and improving equity.

This book presents a fresh approach to cybersecurity issues, seeking not only to analyze the legal landscape of the European Union and its Member States, but to do so in an interdisciplinary manner, involving scholars from diverse backgrounds - ranging from legal experts to ICT and engineering professionals. Cybersecurity requirements must be understood in a broader context, encompassing not just conventional aspects, but also emerging topics. This can only be achieved through an interdisciplinary approach. Indeed, cybersecurity should be consistently considered in relation to cybercrime and/or cyber defense, while examining it through the lens of specific domains that are intertwined with various legal fields. Moreover, it is crucial to uphold ethical standards and safeguard fundamental rights, particularly regarding personal data protection. By adopting this comprehensive perspective, the significance of cybersecurity in the exercise of public authority becomes apparent. It also plays an essential role in upholding the fundamental values of both individual Member States and the EU as a whole, such as the rule of law. Moreover, it fosters trust, transparency, and effectiveness in market relations and public administration interactions. In turn, the book draws on the expertise of its authors to provide insights into ICT components and technologies. Understanding these elements holistically is essential to viewing every "cyber" phenomenon from a legal standpoint. In addition to the holistic and interdisciplinary approach it presents, the book offers a captivating exploration of cybersecurity and an engaging read for anyone interested in the field.

This open access book provides cybersecurity practitioners with the knowledge needed to understand the risks of the increased availability of powerful large language models (LLMs) and how they can be mitigated. It attempts to outrun the malicious attackers by anticipating what they could do. It also alerts LLM developers to understand their work's risks for cybersecurity and provides them with tools to mitigate those risks. The book starts in Part I with a general introduction to LLMs and their main application areas. Part II collects a description of the most salient threats LLMs represent in cybersecurity, be they as tools for cybercriminals or as novel attack surfaces if integrated into existing software. Part III focuses on attempting to forecast the exposure and the development of technologies and science underpinning LLMs, as well as macro levers available to regulators to further cybersecurity in the age of LLMs. Eventually, in Part IV, mitigation techniques that should allow safe and secure development and deployment of LLMs are presented. The book concludes with two final chapters in Part V, one speculating what a secure design and integration of LLMs from first principles would look like and the other presenting a summary of the duality of LLMs in cyber-security. This book represents the second in a series published by the Technology Monitoring (TM) team of the Cyber-Defence Campus. The first book entitled "Trends in Data Protection and Encryption Technologies" appeared in 2023. This book series provides technology and trend anticipation for government, industry, and academic decision-makers as well as technical experts.

This book offers a critical analysis of cybersecurity from a legal-international point of view. It evaluates the ability of existing international law to address the threat and use of force in cyberspace, redefining cyberwar and cyberpeace for the era of the Internet of Things.

This book offers crucial solutions and insights on how transportation companies can enhance their cybersecurity management and protect their corporate reputation and revenue from the increasing risk of cyberattacks. The movement of people and goods from one location to another has always been essential to human development and survival. People are now exploring new methods of carrying goods. Transportation infrastructure is critical to the growth of a global community that is more united and connected. The presented cybersecurity framework is an example of a risk-based method for managing cybersecurity risk. An organisation can find opportunities to strengthen and explain its management of cybersecurity risk by using its existing procedures and leveraging the framework. The framework can provide a foundation for businesses that do not currently have a formal cybersecurity program. However, there is a strong temptation to give in when a transportation company is facing a loss of millions of dollars and the disruption of the worldwide supply chain. Automobile production, sales, trucking, and shipping are high-value industries for transportation enterprises. Scammers know that these corporations stand to lose much more in terms of corporate revenue and reputation than even the highest ransom demands, making them appealing targets for their schemes. This book will address the increasing risk of cyberattacks and offer solutions and insight on the safety and security of passengers, cargo, and transportation infrastructure to enhance the security concepts of communication systems and the dynamic vendor ecosystem.

This second edition of Critical Infrastructure Protection, Risk Management, and Resilience continues to be an essential resource for understanding and protecting critical infrastructure across the U.S. Revised and thoroughly updated throughout, the textbook reflects and addresses the many changes that have occurred in critical infrastructure protection and risk management since the publication of the first edition. This new edition retains the book's focus on understudied topics, while also continuing its unique, policy-based approach to topics, ensuring that material is presented in a neutral and unbiased manner. An accessible and up-to-date text, Critical Infrastructure Protection, Risk Management, and Resilience is a key textbook for upper-level undergraduate or graduate-level courses across Homeland Security, Critical Infrastructure, Cybersecurity, and Public Administration.

The book discusses and analyses current posture of cyberterrorism, cyberwarfare, and hybrid threats, sector specific cyber-attacks that have the form of cyberterrorism and presents the recent actions that EU, USA and other Nations have taken in order to strengthen their systems against such attacks.

What are cyber crimes on the dark web? How people are doing business, and which areas are mostly focused on the dark web. Discover the hidden depths of the digital underworld in this comprehensive, interdisciplinary exploration of the dark web. Ideal for security agencies, professionals, counter-terrorism experts, and policymakers alike, this work offers invaluable insights that will enhance understanding and fortify strategies. By shedding particular light on the nuances of the 'dark market,' this book provides readers with a detailed understanding of the dark web, encompassing both its sinister underbelly and unexpected potential. This book also uncovers the latest trends and cutting-edge mitigation techniques. From illicit transactions to thriving business ventures, it examines the key domains and sectors that thrive within this clandestine environment. This book consolidates myriad perspectives on security and threats on the dark web.

The book starts by providing an overview of common threats and the risk management view of cybercrime. It explores the different types of threats, such as hacking, malware, phishing, and social engineering, and the various ways in which they can impact individuals, businesses, and society at large. It also introduces the concept of risk management and the different approaches that can be used to manage cyber risks, such as risk avoidance, mitigation, transfer, and acceptance.
From there, the book delves into the three key areas of cybersecurity: people, process, and technology. It explores the role of people in cybersecurity, including staffing, psychological profiling, role sensitivity, awareness, training, and education. It also examines the importance of process, including strategy and governance, policy, configuration management, and physical security. Finally, the book explores the critical role of technology, including system security, identification and authentication, authorisation and access control, and cryptography.
The book is designed to be accessible to a wide range of readers, from first-year students studying cybercrime and cybersecurity for the first time to seasoned professionals who need to better understand the purpose of cybersecurity programmes and controls. It is written in a clear and concise manner, with each chapter building on the previous one to provide a comprehensive overview of the field.

A penetrating look at the dark side of emerging AI technologies In The Language of Deception: Weaponizing Next Generation AI, artificial intelligence and cybersecurity veteran Justin Hutchens delivers an incisive and penetrating look at how contemporary and future AI can and will be weaponized for malicious and adversarial purposes. In the book, you will explore multiple foundational concepts to include the history of social engineering and social robotics, the psychology of deception, considerations of machine sentience and consciousness, and the history of how technology has been weaponized in the past. From these foundations, the author examines topics related to the emerging risks of advanced AI technologies, to include: The use of Large Language Models (LLMs) for social manipulation, disinformation, psychological operations, deception and fraud The implementation of LLMs to construct fully autonomous social engineering systems for targeted attacks or for mass manipulation at scale The technical use of LLMs and the underlying transformer architecture for use in technical weapons systems to include advanced next-generation malware, physical robotics, and even autonomous munition systems Speculative future risks such as the alignment problem, disembodiment attacks, and flash wars. Perfect for tech enthusiasts, cybersecurity specialists, and AI and machine learning professionals, The Language of Deception is an insightful and timely take on an increasingly essential subject.

This book provides a comparison and practical guide of the data protection laws of Canada, China (Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan), Laos, Philippines, South Korea, United States and Vietnam. The book builds on the first book Data Protection Law. A Comparative Analysis of Asia-Pacific and European Approaches, Robert Walters, Leon Trakman, Bruno Zeller.
As the world comes to terms with Artificial Intelligence (AI), which now pervades the daily lives of everyone. For instance, our smart or Iphone, and smart home technology (robots, televisions, fridges and toys) access our personal data at an unprecedented level. Therefore, the security of that data is increasingly more vulnerable and can be compromised. This book examines the interface of cyber security, AI and data protection. It highlights and recommends that regulators and governments need to undertake wider research and law reform to ensure the most vulnerable in the community have their personal data protected adequately, while balancing the future benefits of the digital economy.

Countering Cyber Sabotage: Introducing Consequence-Driven, Cyber-Informed Engineering (CCE) introduces a new methodology to help critical infrastructure owners, operators and their security practitioners make demonstrable improvements in securing their most important functions and processes. Current best practice approaches to cyber defense struggle to stop targeted attackers from creating potentially catastrophic results. From a national security perspective, it is not just the damage to the military, the economy, or essential critical infrastructure companies that is a concern. It is the cumulative, downstream effects from potential regional blackouts, military mission kills, transportation stoppages, water delivery or treatment issues, and so on. CCE is a validation that engineering first principles can be applied to the most important cybersecurity challenges and in so doing, protect organizations in ways current approaches do not. The most pressing threat is cyber-enabled sabotage, and CCE begins with the assumption that well-resourced, adaptive adversaries are already in and have been for some time, undetected and perhaps undetectable. Chapter 1 recaps the current and near-future states of digital technologies in critical infrastructure and the implications of our near-total dependence on them. Chapters 2 and 3 describe the origins of the methodology and set the stage for the more in-depth examination that follows. Chapter 4 describes how to prepare for an engagement, and chapters 5-8 address each of the four phases.
The CCE phase chapters take the reader on a more granular walkthrough of the methodology with examples from the field, phase objectives, and the steps to take in each phase. Concluding chapter 9 covers training options and looks towards a future where these concepts are scaled more broadly.

This book will raise awareness on emerging challenges of AIempowered cyber arms used in weapon systems and stockpiled in the global cyber arms race. Based on real life events, it provides a comprehensive analysis of cyber offensive and defensive landscape, analyses the cyber arms evolution from prank malicious codes into lethal weapons of mass destruction, reveals the scale of cyber offensive conflicts, explores cyber warfare mutation, warns about cyber arms race escalation and use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) for military purposes. It provides an expert insight into the current and future malicious and destructive use of the evolved cyber arms, AI and robotics, with emphasis on cyber threats to CBRNe and critical infrastructure. The book highlights international efforts in regulating the cyber environment, reviews the best practices of the leading cyber powers and their controversial approaches, recommends responsible state behaviour. It also proposes information security and cyber defence solutions and provides definitions for selected conflicting cyber terms. The disruptive potential of cyber tools merging with military weapons is examined from the technical point of view, as well as legal, ethical, and political perspectives.

Cybersecurity Fundamentals: A Real-World Perspective explains detailed concepts within computer networks and computer security in an easy-to-understand way, making it the perfect introduction to the topic. This book covers fundamental issues using practical examples and real-world applications to give readers a rounded understanding of the subject and how it is applied. The first three chapters provide a deeper perspective on computer networks, cybersecurity, and different types of cyberattacks that hackers choose to unleash on cyber environments. It then goes on to cover the types of major computer malware and cybersecurity attacks that shook the cyber world in the recent years, detailing the attacks and analyzing their impact on the global economy. The details of the malware codes that help the hacker initiate the hacking attacks on networks are fully described. It then covers high-tech cybersecurity programs, devices, and mechanisms that are extensively adopted in modern security systems. Examples of those systems include intrusion detection systems (IDS), intrusion prevention systems (IPS), and security firewalls. It demonstrates how modern technologies can be used to create and manage passwords for secure data. This book also covers aspects of wireless networks and their security mechanisms. The details of the most commonly used Wi-Fi routers are provided with step-by-step procedures to configure and secure them more efficiently. Test questions are included throughout the chapters to ensure comprehension of the material. Along with this book's step-by-step approach, this will allow undergraduate students of cybersecurity, network security, and related disciplines to gain a quick grasp of the fundamental topics in the area. No prior knowledge is needed to get the full benefit of this book.