The new EP Library Catalogue allows you to search the EP collection for:
- Journals, books and articles in paper or electronic format
- EPRS and Policy Department publications
Abstract: We systematically reviewed up-to-date information on plastics and plastic waste. It covers applications, benefits, production, consumption, and classifications of plastics. We also discuss the major issues of plastic waste on the environment and human health. This article includes process-oriented practices in plastic and plastic waste management. It also covers legal frameworks and policies for sustainable environmental management. People discover various materials from time to time that break the boundaries of traditional materials. Plastic is a revolutionized material, and is referred to as “a material with 1,000 uses”. This review summarized up-to-date research on plastic and its waste pollution. Plastic has a domain throughout human life with its versatile properties such as lightweight, high durability, flexibility, and low production cost. This article describes the applications, benefits, production, consumption, and classifications of plastics. Plastic commercialization began with the Second World War and grew all over the world within less than a century. The global annual production of plastic is more than 359 million tons. Despite all the benefits, plastics cause severe environmental and public health issues. Accordingly, this study addresses the major issues of plastic waste on the environment and human health. Plastics can degrade into micro to nano sizes, and those fine particles are more spreadable in air, water, and soil. Therefore, both terrestrial and aquatic animals go through various negative impacts such as ingestion, entangling, ulcers, low reproduction, and oxidative stress. Microplastics also degrade human health due to cardiovascular diseases, chronic kidney disease, birth defects, cancer, etc. The closing contains the developed end-of-life options (e.g., recycling and reprocessing, incineration with energy recovery, modification reuse, value addition, and landfilling) of biodegradable and non-biodegradable plastic wastes. Several international, regional/national level legislations and policies/concepts (e.g., plastic trade, 3R policy, and circular economy) are available to manage plastic and plastic waste generation. Plastic waste management is also discussed offering practical insights and real-world scenarios. Solutions and challenges in effective plastic waste management guide to create a more sustainable and environmentally responsible approach. Finally, this review article highlights the importance of judicious decisions and the involvement of all stakeholders to overcome the plastic waste crisis.
Abstract: The growing use of plastics has simultaneously increased the accumulation of ubiquitous plastic waste in landfills and the environment, posing global aesthetic and ecological challenges. Consequently, various waste disposal procedures are implemented, with recycling or waste recovery occupying a prominent position in the waste management hierarchy. Plastic waste recovery includes mechanical, chemical, or energy-related processes, yielding products suitable for reuse. This method of plastic waste disposal is currently the most cost-effective solution, aiming to avoid landfill dumping and reduce waste volumes. In the past two decades, the focus of waste management has shifted increasingly from disposal methods to prevention and recycling, with European Union (EU) member states committed to implementing and harmonising current legal measures related to plastic items prescribed by EU directives. The ultimate goal is to transition toward a circular economy model, promoting the sustainable use of plastics and minimising waste generation. Despite the increasing waste production rate in the EU, the quantity of municipal waste dumped in landfills has decreased overall, partly due to the introduction of European legislation, such as the Directive 62/1994 on packaging and packaging waste. However, Croatia’s plastic packaging waste recycling rate still lags behind the EU average.
Abstract: The escalating use of plastics in agriculture, driven by global population growth and increasing food demand, has concurrently led to a rise in Agricultural Plastic Waste (APW) production. Effective waste management is imperative, prompting this study to address the initial step of management, that is the quantification and localization of waste generated from different production systems in diverse regions. Focused on four Southern European countries (Italy, Spain, Greece, and Portugal) at the regional level, the study uses Geographic Information System (GIS), land use maps, indices tailored to each specific agricultural application and each crop type for plastic waste mapping. Furthermore, after the data was employed, it was validated by relevant stakeholders of the mentioned countries. The study revealed Spain, particularly the Andalusia region, as the highest contributor to APW equal to 324,000 tons per year, while Portugal's Azores region had the lowest estimate equal to 428 tons per year. Significantly, this research stands out as one of the first to comprehensively consider various plastic applications and detailed crop cultivations within the production systems, representing a pioneering effort in addressing plastic waste management in Southern Europe. This can lead further on to the management of waste in this area and the transfer of the scientific proposition to other countries.
Abstract: This systematic literature review employs the PICOC framework to structure research questions and the PRISMA method for comprehensive and transparent analysis. The study identifies key strategies to manage multilayer plastics effectively, including advanced chemical recycling technologies and policy interventions. A European case study highlights the development and application of innovative recycling techniques like solvent-targeted recovery, emphasizing the need for substantial investment and policy support. The review underscores the global disparity in recycling infrastructure, particularly between developed and developing countries, and advocates for tailored, context-specific solutions to advance circular economy principles in multilayer plastic waste management.
Abstract: Pathogenic viruses and antibiotic-resistant bacteria thrive on plastic. The biohazard risks of this ‘plastisphere’ shouldn’t be overlooked in efforts to tackle the pollution crisis. Pathogenic viruses and antibiotic-resistant bacteria thrive on plastic. The biohazard risks of this ‘plastisphere’ shouldn’t be overlooked in efforts to tackle the pollution crisis.
Abstract: The last century was dominated by the widespread use of plastics, both in terms of invention and increased usage. The environmental challenge we currently face is not just about reducing plastic usage but finding new ways to manage plastic waste. Recycling is growing but remains a small part of the solution. There is increasing focus on studying organisms and processes that can break down plastics, offering a modern approach to addressing the environmental crisis. Here, we provide an overview of the organisms associated with plastics biodegradation, and we explore the potential of harnessing and integrating their genetic and biochemical features into a single organism, such as Drosophila melanogaster. The remarkable genetic engineering and microbiota manipulation tools available for this organism suggest that multiple features could be amalgamated and modeled in the fruit fly. We outline feasible genetic engineering and gut microbiome engraftment strategies to develop a new class of plastic-degrading organisms and discuss of both the potential benefits and the limitations of developing such engineered Drosophila melanogaster strains.
Abstract: Effective management of recyclable plastic waste is critical for environmental sustainability and economic viability. Blockchain technology has transformative potential in addressing the challenges of plastic waste management. Currently, the inefficiency of plastic recycling systems results in low recycling rates and significant environmental impacts due to poor sorting, contamination, and limited technology application. However, innovations such as chemical recycling, solvent-based techniques, and biotechnology offer promising advances in the management of plastic waste. Blockchain technology provides a transparent, decentralized ledger that enhances traceability and incentives through smart contracts, decentralized applications (DApps), and digital watermarks. These blockchain solutions can improve waste tracking, automate payments, and reward participants who recycle responsibly. Although significant investment in technology and education is required, integrating blockchain with the Internet of Things (IoT) and artificial intelligence (AI)-driven analytics could revolutionize plastic waste management by creating transparent, efficient, and collaborative recycling ecosystems. Blockchain technology has immense potential to redefine the management of plastic waste and promote a sustainable, circular economy.
Abstract: Recovery of plastics may need to move beyond traditional mechanical methods and adopt emerging recycling processes including dissolution/precipitation, solvolysis, and pyrolysis. We investigate the costs and climate impacts of optimal solid waste management (SWM) strategies when deploying emerging recycling processes. Introducing a mix of emerging recycling technologies can reduce SWM system costs, increase plastic recycling rates, and potentially help SWM systems achieve net reductions in life cycle emissions. Recycling programs that rely solely on traditional mechanical recycling incur higher system costs, but can achieve the lowest life cycle emissions, regardless of whether the rejected plastic streams are landfilled or treated in waste-to-energy. In a future with increased recycling, SWM systems that utilize fully commercialized dissolution/precipitation and chemical recycling can further improve the cost advantage and the emission reduction potential. The sensitivity analysis demonstrates that enhancing waste collection and refining emerging recycling technologies can considerably increase the economic and environmental performance of SWM.
Abstract: Plastic and mixed plastic waste (PW) has received increased worldwide attention owing to its huge rate of production, high persistency in the environment, and unsustainable waste management practices. Therefore, sustainable PW management and upcycling approaches are imperative to achieve the objectives of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. Numerous recent studies have shown the application and feasibility of various PW conversion techniques to produce materials with better economic value. Within this framework, the current review provides an in-depth analysis of cutting-edge thermochemical technologies such as pyrolysis, gasification, carbonization, and photocatalysis that can be used to value plastic and mixed PW in order to produce energy and industrial chemicals. Additionally, a thorough examination of the environmental impacts of contemporary PW upcycling techniques and their commercial feasibility through life cycle assessment (LCA) and techno-economical assessment are provided in this review. Finally, this review emphasizes the opportunities and challenges accompanying with existing PW upcycling techniques and deliver recommendations for future research works.
Abstract: Due to its highly recalcitrant nature, the growing accumulation of plastic waste is becoming an urgent global problem. Biodegradation is one of the best possible approaches for the treatment of plastic waste in an environmentally friendly manner, but our current knowledge on the underlying mechanisms, as well as strategies for the development and enhancement of plastic biodegradation are still limited. This review aims to provide an updated and comprehensive overview of current research on plastic waste biodegradation, focusing on enhancement strategies with ongoing research significance, including the mining of highly efficient plastic-degrading microorganisms/enzymes, utilization of synergistic additives, novel pretreatment approaches, modification via molecular engineering, and construction of bacterial/enzyme consortia systems. Studying these strategies can (i) enrich the high-performance microbial/enzymes toolbox for plastic degradation, (ii) provide methods for recycling and upgrading plastics, as well as (iii) enable further molecular modification and functional optimization of plastic-degrading enzymes to realize economically viable biodegradation of plastics. To the best of our knowledge, this is the first review to discuss in detail strategies to enhance biodegradation of plastics. Finally, some recommendations for future research on plastic biodegradation are listed, hoping to provide the best direction for tackling the plastic waste dilemma in the future.
Abstract: Over the past few years, microplastics (MPs) pollution in the marine environment has emerged as a significant environmental concern. Poor management practices lead to millions of tons of plastic waste entering oceans annually, primarily from land-based sources like mismanaged waste, urban runoff, and industrial activities. MPs pollution in marine environments poses a significant threat to ecosystems and human health, as it adsorbs pollutants, heavy metals, and leaches additives such as plasticizers and flame retardants, thus contributing to chemical pollution. The review article provides a comprehensive overview of MPs pollution, its sources, and impacts on marine environments, including human health, detection techniques, and strategies for mitigating microplastic contamination in marine environments. The paper provides current information on microplastic pollution in marine environments, offering insights for researchers, policymakers, and the public, as well as promoting sustainable practices to protect the environment. Marine microplastics pollution is a global issue resulting from land-based and ocean-based activities. Microplastics (less than 5mm in size) pose significant environmental and health risks. Microplastics enters in marine food chain through trophic transfer and adversely affect marine life. Consumption of microplastics contaminated sea food results adverse biochemical effects on human health. Policy, regulation, public awareness, biodegradable plastic use, and technological solutions are promising strategies to reduce microplastics pollution.
Abstract: This research analyzes data on the microplastic (MP) contamination in the environmental systems (atmosphere, lithosphere, hydrosphere) and the levels of MPs in freshwater of cities with different levels of national income. This study investigates the influencing factors of MP generation, i.e., mismanaged plastic waste, untreated wastewater, number of registered motor vehicles, and stormwater runoff. The statistical correlations between the MP contamination in urban freshwater and the four influencing factors of MP generation are determined by linear regression. The results indicate that MPs are most abundant in aquatic systems (i.e., hydrosphere) and pose a serious threat to the human food chain. The regression analysis shows a strong correlation between mismanaged plastic waste and microfragment smaller than 300 μm in particle size in urban freshwater with high goodness-of-fit (R2 = 0.8091). A strong relationship with high goodness-of-fit also exists between untreated wastewater and microfragment of 1000–5000 μm in particle size (R2 = 0.9522). The key to mitigate the MP contamination in urban freshwater is to replace improper plastic waste management and wastewater treatment with proper management practices. Among all, the aquatic systems are the most concerned with microplastics (MP). MP are the most abundant in aquatic systems and threatening human food chains. MP pollution is also rampant in urban areas with good environmental management. Conventional waste and wastewater managements are inadequate to regulate MP. Augmenting systems, e.g., at-source treatment, are needed to curb fibrous MP.
Abstract: The increasing production of plastic products and generation of plastic waste have had increasingly negative environmental impacts. Although recycling could reduce plastic pollution, microplastics can be generated during the process of crushing plastic products during mechanical recycling. We conducted crushing tests with 13 different plastics and documented the size distribution of particles generated. We then estimated the discharge of microplastics associated with recycling and their removal in wastewater treatment plants. We estimated that the global discharge of microplastics would increase from 0.017 Mt in 2000 to 0.749 Mt in 2060. Although mechanical recycling was estimated to account for 3.1% of the total emissions of microplastics for 2017, discharges of microplastics from plastic recycling may increase, even if plastic pollution from well-known sources decreases. Non-OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development) Asia could be a major discharging region and would play a vital role in reducing discharges of microplastics. Reduction of the discharge of microplastics will require less use of plastic products and upgrading wastewater treatment in many countries.
Abstract: The increasing commercial, industrial, and medical applications of plastics cannot be halted during the coming years. Microplastics are a new class of plastic pollutants which have emerged as escalating environmental threats. The persistence, effects, and removal of MPs present in soil, water, and numerous organisms have become an important research field. However, atmospheric microplastics (AMPs), which are subcategorized into deposited and suspended, remain largely unexplored. This review presents the recent developments and challenges involved in fully understanding suspended and deposited AMPs. The evaluation of indoor suspended MP fibers needs to be critically investigated to understand their implications for human health. Furthermore, the transportation of AMPs to isolated locations, such as cryospheric regions, requires immediate attention. The major challenges associated with AMPs, which have hindered advancement in this field, are inconsistency in the available data, limited knowledge, and the lack of standardized methodologies for the sampling and characterization techniques of AMPs.
Abstract: Globally, human activities generate 400 million tons of plastic waste annually. Plastics refuse to degrade naturally, and remain in our environment indefinitely. Engineered microorganisms is a groundbreaking solution for microplastic pollution. Plastic waste is a critical threat to both terrestrial and 700 marine species. Genetically engineered microbes directly or indirectly will tackle plastic problem. Globally, an overwhelming amount of plastic waste, approximately 400 million tons (Mt), is generated each year. The ocean plastic waste alone is expected to grow from 50 Mt in 2015 to 150 Mt by 2025, primarily due to poor waste management. Approximately 700 marine species interact with plastic debris, thriving in these threatened ecosystems. The challenge of plastic pollution, including microplastics and nanoplastics, is substantial. Plastics resist natural degradation due to their hydrophobic nature, stable covalent bonds, resistant functional groups, and large surface area that attracts other substances. Current efforts to tackle microplastics face significant challenges and require more mature and effective methods for widespread applications. Certain natural microorganisms can degrade plastics by 1) colonizing the surface, 2) producing exogenous enzymes to break-down polymers, and 3) metabolizing the resulting molecules. However, this process is still under research, with ongoing efforts to find the best natural and genetically modified microbes for more effective plastic degradation. Therefore, identifying the best microbe and efficient methods is crucial for reducing plastic pollution. This review summarizes the plastic problem, its types, accumulation, and natural degradation processes. It also examines current technologies and recently screened microorganisms for their potential to tackle plastics and microplastics for a cleaner future.
If you are unable to access the article you need, please contact us and we will get it for you as soon as possible.
| Data Protection Notice | Cookie Policy & Inventory |
 |
 |
 |
Journals on all devices |
Books, articles, EPRS publications & more |
Newspapers on all devices |