Waste Recycling

This book covers state-of-the-art resource recovery technologies from the different components of solid waste, such as plastics, e-waste, fly ash, sewage sludge, slag and their real applications. Furthermore, it explains various management strategies for agricultural waste, including the generation of bioenergy from agri-crop residue. It also highlights the recent technologies used in the management of industrial waste, their implementation at a large scale and the treatment of industrial effluent with the rationale synthetic approach, hybrid advanced oxidation process and bio-methanation. Features: Provides a technical interpretation for creating wealth from waste by the experts in the research domain. Covers various aspects of waste management, current resource recovery and recycling trends. Presents a unique combination of municipal, agricultural and industrial waste management towards achieving a resilient smart city. Imparts knowledge of policies and regulations in different countries and their impacts on waste management. Illustrates various technologies for waste processing through case studies. This book is aimed at researchers and policymakers in environmental engineering, waste management and clean energy. The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons [Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND)] 4.0 license.

This book presents hard facts, drawn from extensive research, to highlight our unsustainable consumption of the Earth's resources and the limitations of the UK's current management of waste and recycling. Setting out a bleak picture of a world in which we are literally consuming our planet, the book explores the psychological, economic and capitalist drivers behind this behaviour. Controversially, the book examines the drawbacks of the current approach adopted by many local authorities on the kerbside collection of recyclable materials, as well as the UK governments' strategic approaches to household recycling, including the lack of UK-wide infrastructures for packaging re-use, and for product repair and recycling. It challenges the whole concept of waste, leading to a proposed new strategy for the management of household waste, including a simplified household collection system, the introduction of an incineration tax and the banning of all household waste exports. The author proposes reconceptualising waste as unwanted but valuable material and argues that the responsibility for facilitating re-use, repair and recycling, rests with manufacturers who must start designing with the end in mind. Given the current economic climate, and a dampening of the green agenda within UK politics, the book provides a much-needed call for critical discourse on how, and how much, we consume and sets out clear, practical solutions for change. The book will be of interest to manufacturers, retailers, consumers, local authorities, policy makers, students and professionals looking to reduce our impact on the environment.

This volume highlights cutting-edge research on Zero waste management and the associated effects of waste on the environment. Predominantly, it focuses on the challenges of dealing with the amassed production of waste and the cumulative impact of increasing waste on the biosphere. Different sections of this book focus on the comprehensive overview of the technological advancements driving the Zero Waste movement. Furthermore, it explores innovations in waste reduction, recycling, and repurposing, from a global perspective, examining the diverse cultural, social, and economic factors influencing the adoption of zero waste strategies worldwide. In addition, it discusses the challenges, and opportunities inherent in promoting a unified global effort toward sustainable resource management. Discover the latest breakthroughs in waste reduction, recycling, and resource optimization. This essential guide empowers you to implement practical, innovative solutions for a greener future. Whether abusiness owner, environmental enthusiast, or simply curious about sustainable living, this book is a roadmap to a cleaner and healthier planet.

Material and Energy Recovery from Solid Waste for a Circular Economy describes solid waste to material and energy recovery to bridge the gap between theoretical possibilities and on-field criticalities. It includes real-life feasibility analysis and implementation of waste-to-energy systems supported by case studies.

The purpose of this book is to discuss the challenges that have arisen due to petroleum hydrocarbon wastes, their harmful effects to the ecosystem, and limitations as well as improvement of current biological techniques' use for management of petroleum hydrocarbon wastes. This book focuses on the role of advanced green engineering technologies for sustainable petroleum waste management in building an economic supportable society as a basic need of developing countries. The rapid economic growth achieved in last decade has been paralleled by an increase in global energy consumption resulting generation of massive amount of industrial wastes. Petroleum wastes release through spillages and leakage from underground tanks, steamers, unplugging of oil wells, and abandoned oil refinery sites that cause extensive contamination of surface soils, groundwater, seas, and ocean resulting in ecosystem damage. Apart from these, petroleum industries release a significant amount of hydrocarbonwastes during processing of crude oil. Improper waste management technique of these petroleum wastes may cause a serious effect toward the living beings. The presence of these hazardous wastes in the environment will make vulnerable conditions to the aquatic as well as terrestrial life. Till date, a number of conventional techniques have been implemented to treat these petroleum hazardous wastes, but biological treatment is more efficient among all on basics of economic and environmental point of view. Bioaugmentation, biostimulation, and combinatorial bioaugmentation and biostimulation waste management strategies are implemented to treat these wastes. In addition to these techniques, biocomposting/biopile, land treatment, and bio-slurry methods have also been employed to reduce the endanger effects of petroleum wastes. Integrating waste management through environmental sustainability and economic development is one of the prime milestones in the circular economy. There is anexigent necessity for developing countries to go ahead toward a circular economy for achieving its Sustainable Development Goals.

This introductory textbook provides an essential interdisciplinary guide to waste management and circular economy. It helps students to understand the drivers of waste, the environmental, social, and economic impacts of waste generation, and best practices and technologies for waste management, recycling, energy recovery and disposal. With helpful, full-colour diagrams throughout, each chapter includes learning objectives, introduction to concepts and themes, exercises and review sections, to guide students through the book. The textbook is ideal for teaching environmental engineering and science, as well as interdisciplinary environmental programmes. Praise for An Introduction to Waste Management and Circular Economy 'This textbook is a key resource for those studying and working in the waste & resource management sector. Improving waste management has potential to significantly reduce GHG emissions and its impact on the climate crisis. The accessible, student-focused approach within this book makes a valuable contribution to understanding this area and I strongly recommend it.' Phil Longhurst, Professor of Environment and Energy Technology, Cranfield University. 'Waste management and the circular economy are incredibly complex issues, but this textbook breaks them down into easy-to-understand sections, whatever your level of expertise. The use of exercises, illustrations, and examples together with the clarity of the writing mean that you can go from novice to knowledgeable in one book. All the key factors such as material lifecycles, legislation and practice are considered, making this a comprehensive guide to everything you need to know about this topic and what we need to do to help save our planet.' Professor Margaret Bates, visiting Professor of Sustainable Wastes Management University of Northampton and past President of CIWM. 'This new textbook offers readers a comprehensive guide of how to transform waste into resources through the circular economy. I highly recommend for students learning about best practices in waste management and energy recovery.' Ming Xu, Professor of Environmental Ecology, Tsinghua University

Valorization of Wastes for Sustainable Development: Waste to Wealth highlights the various valorization of organic and non-organic waste to offer a way forward to a sustainable world. Categorizing the various types of waste valorization for renewable fuel production and other valorizations utilizing organic and non-organic waste, this book offers the reader a comprehensive view of various waste valorizations together with their potential applications. Split into four sections, the book's chapters cover the general scenarios and challenges of current waste management and the valorization of waste specifically for renewable fuels as the alternative energy source to depleting fossil fuels.Other chapters cover waste valorizations categorized into organic and non-organic waste for various applications and the future prospect of waste valorizations with possible plans and strategies for effective global waste management.- Comprehensively discusses the various types of global waste- Discusses the latest technologies used for waste valorizations- Includes future prospects and strategies for waste valorizations

Technological Advancements in Product Valorization of Tea Waste focuses on recent and advanced topics involved with technologies for valorization of tea waste. The book elaborately explains the fundamental concepts of utilization of such waste in the process of conversion as well as current research accomplishments. It emphasizes technologies involved in the major areas of extraction of several important biomolecules like tea polyphenols, polysaccharides for human bioactivity, metal-based nanomaterial synthesis for environmental removal of aquatic pollutants, generation of various different forms of bioenergy including biogas, biodiesel and bioethanol and advanced applications of tea waste in various emerging sectors.Industries covered include the polymer industry, biorefineries, electrical manufacturing and electrochemistry.- Provides a complete overview from the fundamental basics to advanced knowledge of tea waste valorization- Educates about technologies, analytical techniques and applications towards sustainable utilization of tea waste- Covers the entire field on tea waste valorization

This book examines resource recovery and recycling from waste metal dust, including currently used techniques for waste processing and recycling and their applications, with practical examples and economic potentials of the processes. The focus of this book is on resource recovery by suitable treatments and techniques, including those of recovery by-products. For the first time, this book provides a comprehensive, one-stop reference including seminal principles and methods, the advantages and disadvantages of the processes discussed, and the economics of the technology. It will serve as a technical reference for working scientists and engineers, while serving as an educational reference to students studying the waste recovery of metals.

This open access book reflects aims of the Blue Circular Economy (BCE) project, which focused on small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) aiming to create value using circular economy concepts related to products and services within fishing gear recycling in the Northern Periphery and Arctic (NPA) area. Cluster establishment and operation were carried out in collaboration with academia, industry and government agencies following a triple-helix approach.    Discarded fishing gear constitutes a large part of marine plastics. Preventing future discharge of fishing gear into the ocean is a vital step in combating plastic pollution. Circular economy is one of the tools in the European Green deal, targeting waste minimisation. Closing the loop for waste fishing nets by transferring them to a resource could be a solution for preventing discharge at sea: exploring this opportunity is at the core of this book.

Plastic pollution is one of the biggest challenges of the twenty-first century that requires innovative and varied solutions. Focusing on sub-Saharan Africa, this book brings together interdisciplinary, multi-sectoral and multi-stakeholder perspectives exploring challenges and opportunities for utilising digital innovations to manage and accelerate the transition to a circular plastic economy (CPE). This book is organised into three sections bringing together discussion of environmental conditions, operational dimensions and country case studies of digital transformation towards the circular plastic economy. It explores the environment for digitisation in the circular economy, bringing together perspectives from practitioners in academia, innovation, policy, civil society and government agencies. The book also highlights specific country case studies in relation to the development and implementation of different innovative ideas to drive the circular plastic economy across the three sub-Saharan African regions. Finally, the book interrogates the policy dimensions and practitioner perspectives towards a digitally enabled circular plastic economy. Written for a wide range of readers across academia, policy and practice, including researchers, students, small and medium enterprises (SMEs), digital entrepreneurs, non-governmental organisations (NGOs) and multilateral agencies, policymakers and public officials, this book offers unique insights into complex, multilayered issues relating to the production and management of plastic waste and highlights how digital innovations can drive the transition to the circular plastic economy in Africa. The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives (CC-BY-NC-ND) 4.0 license.

This book uncovers, explores and analyses the cultural and social factors and values that lie behind waste making, recycling and disposal in the Asia Pacific region, where impressive economic growth has led to significant increases in production, consumption and concomitant waste production. This volume demonstrates the immense scope of waste as a multi-sectoral phenomenon, covering discussions on food, menstrual products, sewage, electronics, scrap, nuclear waste, plastics and even entire villages as they are submerged underwater by dam building, considered expendable in favour of economic growth. It discusses the wide range of approaches and contexts through which people interact with waste, including socio-economic analysis, participatory observation, laboratory science, art, video, installations, literature and photography. Case studies focusing on India, China and Japan, in addition to other regional examples, demonstrate the ubiquity of waste, materially and geographically. They reveal the multiple, sometimes contradictory, dimensions of waste: managing it can foster community building but can also exclude marginalized groups; waste can trigger innovative economic concepts and practices, but it can also pollute the oceans in large garbage gyres and it can wondrously change its nature from trash to useful components to new production, before being discarded once again. This timely and wide-ranging collection of essays will be an important read for scholars, researchers and students in sustainability, development studies, discard studies, and social and cultural history, particularly focusing on countries in the Asia Pacific.