Selected Online Reading on Beating Cancer

This open access book provides a valuable resource for hospitals, institutions, and health authorities worldwide in their plans to set up and develop comprehensive cancer care centers. The development and implementation of a comprehensive cancer program allows for a systematic approach to evidence-based strategies of prevention, early detection, diagnosis, treatment, and palliation. Comprehensive cancer programs also provide a nexus for the running of clinical trials and implementation of novel cancer therapies with the overall aim of optimizing comprehensive and holistic care of cancer patients and providing them with the best opportunity to improve quality of life and overall survival. This book's self-contained chapter format aims to reinforce the critical importance of comprehensive cancer care centers while providing a practical guide for the essential components needed to achieve them, such as operational considerations, guidelines for best clinical inpatient and outpatient care, and research and quality management structures. Intended to be wide-ranging and applicable at a global level for both high and low income countries, this book is also instructive for regions with limited resources.  The Comprehensive Cancer Center: Development, Integration, and Implementation is an essential resource for oncology physicians including hematologists, medical oncologists, radiation oncologists, surgical oncologists, and oncology nurses as well as hospitals, health departments, university authorities, governments and legislators.

While a number of books have looked at the intersection between human health in general and other topics, such as climate change or diet, this book focuses specifically on cancer as it impacts and is impacted by social justice issues. The massive explosion of research knowledge of cancer immunology and genomics is holding out great promise of therapeutic advances, yet other human actions--climate change, pollution, business decisions, advertising - are fostering health inequalities as well as increasing risks. Those involved in cancer care and research are in a unique position to let their experiences and knowledge inform the public, yet very often have not taken strong public roles when it comes to discussing issues surrounding tobacco, climate change and health risks, financial toxicity of treatments, and diet choices.  Written by a multidisciplinary team of authors and for medical oncologists, cancer researchers, occupational health workers, and related medical students, residents, and fellows, this book encourages oncologists to address public health care and the societal issues associated with cancer risk. This volume discusses the overarching theme of environmental justice and oncology, focuses on business and cancer (such as clinical trials, drug development and profits, and global disparities), as well as animals and cancer. 

The multidisciplinary book assesses the legal and economic uncertainties surrounding the collection, storage, provision and economic development of biological samples (tumors, tissues, cells) and associated personal data related to oncology. Public, partly public and private sector actors in the field of cancer care and research hold collections supported by significant public and social funding. Under certain conditions, particularly in the context of networking (sometimes promoted by public authorities), these collections can also represent major economic assets and scientific resources. However, this involves a number of issues and institutional constraints: legal: the will of the source person; non-pecuniary damage; freedom to establish collections; competence in deciding on their use; legal frameworks for their distribution; desire for return on investment for public institutions, notably in terms of industrial and intellectual property. economic: cost of establishing and running biological resource centres; destroying resources; emerging markets; profit sharing. public health policy choices: prioritisation of therapeutic measures over research (fundamental or clinical trials); conservation of resources; promotion of scientific (and not commercial) value of collections. The establishment, heritage recognition ("patrimonialisation"), development and sharing of these resources thus merit our calling into question present practices and their evolution, as well as the leverage available to public authorities (incentives, legislation, regulation) in a context where norms emerge from professional practice to become widely used in collaborative networks. Filling a gap in the current literature on law and economics, which pays little heed to these specific considerations, this book explores these considerations to bring to light the economic implications of ethical choices and governance issues in the health sector (structural organisation of local, national and European actors in oncology). It is intended for researchers in fields such as law, economics and biomedical sciences, as well as for public policymakers.

In Horizons in Cancer Research. Volume 76, the molecular drivers associated with prostate cancers at different stages which can be exploited as drug targets are discussed. This information will be useful for designing rational targeted therapeutic strategies for treatment of this disease.Following this, the authors discuss lung cancer early diagnosis with traditional and alternative approaches. In lung cancer, smoking exposure has been identified as the main causative agent in smokers.A critical appraisal of the different updated techniques in the mediastinal staging of lymph nodes in lung cancer is provided.The authors also provide an overview of colorectal cancer and Ca2+ signalling in cells, focusing their discussion on a specific component of the Ca2+ signalling machinery, the transient receptor potential cation channel subfamily V member 4 channel.Breast cancer, a serious public health problem, is assessed, maintaining that women need accurate and effective information in order to attain early diagnosis.Lastly, a simple technique to decreases cell-culture pH while maintaining sterile technique is described.

Diagnosis can be a deep investigative process, complex by nature. The diagnostic processes have become much more multidisciplinary, demanding the use of an eclectic set of technological methodologies and tools, especially from the Fourth Revolution. Biosensors, Artificial Intelligence, Internet of Things and 3D Printing have become common terms in health research. Cancer in all its forms has become one of the biggest public health issues of the twentieth century. Among all types of cancer, breast cancer is the most dangerous for older and middle-aged women; it is also the most common form of cancer among the female population. Breast cancer is among the five most common cancers worldwide. This disease has been proliferating in developed, underdeveloped and developing countries. Its incidence rate is increasing with the average life expectancy of the population and with the adoption of new forms of consumption. There are some preventive strategies for breast cancer, such as stimulating visual inspection and touching of the breasts. However, they are not efficient enough to impact breast cancer mortality rate because the disease is still being diagnosed late in many cases. Therefore, a deeper understanding of the disease is necessary, including its risk factors and strategies for early identification and efficient treatment. The existence of these tools in public healthcare systems is important because they may contribute to increasing the chances of cure and the treatment options, decreasing mortality rates. Herein this collection book, we present to readers a set of works from the state-of-the-art dealing with cancer diagnosis using biosensors, artificial intelligence and other approaches. We hope this collection could present some of the state of the art of innovative techniques based on the Fourth Industrial Revolution to support early and accurate diagnosis of cancer, especially breast cancer.

This book covers the latest environmental issues based on current research objectives. All chapters are fundamentally interlinked and focus on deciphering the networking of mutagens in environmental toxicity and human health. Our changing environment, climate, and lifestyle factors are growing concerns in the 21st century. The existing mutagens, either physical or chemical, are responsible for environmental toxicity. These toxicants are carcinogenic and not limited to naturally occurring chemicals or biologicals, but can also be man-made, such as 'radiation'. The networking of mutagens can have a broad range of effects on both the environment and human health. Accordingly, the respective chapters explore the networking of mutagens in connection with environmental toxicity, and address:   1. Extant types of man-made radiation and their effects on the environment and biological systems 2. Heavy metal contaminations: Effects on environmental health 3. Networking of environmental pollutants in the air, dust, soil, water, and natural toxins in the environment: Exposure and health 4. The molecular interaction of environmental carcinogens with DNA: An oncoinformatics approach 5. Fundamentals of nonotoxicity, carcinogenicity, mutagenic and neurotoxicity in environmental health 6. The role of antioxidants and medicinal plants in reducing the impacts of disease-causing pollutants   A sequel to Perspectives in Environmental Toxicology, this book highlights the latest developments in the field of environmental toxicology. It offers a valuable resource for researchers, scholars and graduate students alike.

Equitable Access to High-Cost Pharmaceuticals seeks to aid the development and implementation of equitable public health policies by pharmaco-economics professionals, health economists, and policymakers. With detailed country-by country analysis of policy and regulation, the Work compares and contrasts national healthcare systems to support researchers and practitioners identify optimal healthcare policy solutions. The Work incorporates chapters on global regulatory changes, health technology assessment guidelines, and competitive effectiveness research recommendations from international bodies such as the OECD or the EU. Novel policies such as horizon scanning, managed-entry agreement and post-launch monitoring are considered in detail. The Work also thoroughly reviews novel pharmaceuticals with particular research interest, including cancer drugs, orphan medicines, Hep C, and personalized medicines.

In this compilation, the authors describe the psychological consequences and effects of predictive cancer genetic testing in both breast and ovarian cancer. Predictive genetic tests are being offered to an increasing number of women as the availability and public awareness of genetic testing increases. Next, A Comprehensive Guide to Genetic Counseling assesses the parental psychosocial implications, such as emotions and coping, regarding the earlier diagnosis of Usher syndrome via genetic testing compared to parents of children who were diagnosed later via ophthalmologic findings The closing chapter reports on a comprehensive analysis of the studies performed on genetic counseling, particularly those pertaining to the Israeli Arab society. Furthermore, an overview of the various socio-demographic, economic, cultural and religious aspects is provided.

Health Effects of Pesticides covers various aspects of the use of pesticides, their behaviour, degradation, and impacts on the agrarian environment. It focuses on pesticide poisoning incidents and farm practices in developing countries. The health impacts of pesticides, including neurological, respiratory, and dermal effects, are examined. Other repercussions caused as a result of pesticides, including reproductive abnormalities and cancer, are comprehensively discussed. Effects of pesticides on general health and agrarian health surveys have been touched upon. Please note: This volume is Co-published with The Energy and Resources Institute Press, New Delhi. Taylor & Francis does not sell or distribute the Hardback in India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka

This book gathers scientific contributions on comprehensive approaches to personalized medicine. In a systematic and clear manner, it provides extensive information on the methodological, technological, and clinical aspects of high-throughput analytics, nanotechnology approaches, microbiota/human interactions, in-vitro fertilization and preimplantation, and various diseases like cancer. Moreover, the book analyzes the social and legal aspects of social security systems, healthcare systems and EU law - e.g. the role of solidarity, regulatory possibilities and obstacles, justice and equality, privacy/disclosure of data, and the right to know - from an interdisciplinary perspective. Lastly, it explores the economical and ethical context in the fields of business models, intellectual property issues, the patient/physician relationship, and price discrimination.

Health at a Glance compares key indicators for population health and health system performance across OECD members, candidate and partner countries. It highlights how countries differ in terms of the health status and health-seeking behaviour of their citizens; access to and quality of health care; and the resources available for health. Analysis is based on the latest comparable data across 80 indicators, with data coming from official national statistics, unless otherwise stated. Alongside indicator-by-indicator analysis, an overview chapter summarises the comparative performance of countries and major trends, including how much health spending is associated with staffing, access, quality and health outcomes. This edition also includes a special focus on patient-reported outcomes and experiences, with a thematic chapter on measuring what matters for people-centred health systems.

This book examines in detail the clinical implications of those diseases that either are primarily triggered by air pollution or represent direct consequences of air pollutants. The aim is to provide medical practitioners with practical solutions to issues in diagnosis and treatment while simultaneously furnishing other interested parties with crucial information on the field. The book introduces the concept that air pollution-related diseases constitute a new class of pathologies. A wide range of conditions mainly attributable to air pollution are discussed, covering different body systems and pollution impacts in subsets of the population. In addition to presenting state of the art overviews of clinical aspects, the book carefully examines the implications of current knowledge for social and public health strategies aimed at disease prevention and prophylaxis. The Clinical Handbook of Air Pollution-Related Diseases will greatly assist doctors and healthcare workers when dealing with the consequences of air pollution in their everyday practice and will provide researchers, industry, and policymakers with valuable facts and insights.

From a managerial perspective, the biopharmaceutical industry represents a competitive, fast-changing, intellectually-powered, innovation-driven sector. Many management scholars have studied this discontinuous era to make sense of strategic behavior and the cognition of firms and top managers. A past look at the biopharmaceutical industry provides answers to questions that most managers have. For example, what options do you have and what actions do you take when new firms enter your industry? In the 1970s, new biotechnology firms, funded by venture capitalists, appeared in the pharmaceutical industry with new knowledge. Successful pharmaceutical firms decided to collaborate with the new entrants and forge relationships to develop and create new, biotechnology engineered drugs. Thus, the addition of new biotechnology firms ushered in a new business model based on strategic alliances. Strategic alliances have now become an industrial norm called open innovation. The author looks at the historical path of the biopharmaceutical industry, particularly in the United States. While the pharmaceutical industry's main contributions to society are substantial, there are pressing challenges the industry must face, such as an increase in infectious disease outbreaks or the global aging population, which require new types of care, additionally, mental health care and prescription painkiller addiction are persistent issues with economic repercussions to both federal and local governments. This book presents a holistic view of the biopharmaceutical industry, putting it in a historical context. It will best serve those who are eager to learn about this dynamic, fast-evolving industry and who would like to tackle current biopharmaceutical industry issues in the United States and be prepared for future industry challenges.

A POLITICAL PROVOCATION FROM A PAIR OF PHYSICIANS WRITING OUTSIDE THEIR LANE Americans care about their health. Americans pay lots of money in hopes of maintaining their health. So why are Americans so unhealthy? The reason is simple: as a country, the United States overinvests in medical care at the expense of the social, economic, and cultural forces that produce health. The rise of medicine as a cornerstone of American life and culture has coincided with a social and political devaluation of factors demonstrated to mean more to our vitality than anything else -- influences like where we live, work, and play; livable wages that create opportunity for healthy living; and gender and racial equity. In Pained, physicians Michael Stein and Sandro Galea push the conversation around American health where it belongs: toward matters of class, money, and culture. Across more than 50 essays and data illustrations, Pained casts a light on how the structural components of everyday life -- like school, housing, police, even cell phones -- ultimately determine who gets to be healthy in today's America. In doing so, it makes a case for reframing our political discourse in less myopic, more effectual terms. Accessible and surprising, political but not partisan, Pained is the urgent, uncomfortable conversation that American needs in this challenging moment. It will delight and infuriate readers of all political stripes.

How can a smartwatch help patients with diabetes manage their disease? Why can't patients find out prices for surgeries and other procedures before they happen? How can researchers speed up the decade-long process of drug development? How will "Precision Medicine" impact patient care outside of cancer? What can doctors, hospitals, and health systems do to ensure they are maximizing high-value care? How can healthcare entrepreneurs find success in this data-driven market? A revolution is transforming the $10 trillion healthcare landscape, promising greater transparency, improved efficiency, and new ways of delivering care. This new landscape presents tremendous opportunity for those who are ready to embrace the data-driven reality. Having the right data　and　knowing how to use it will be the key to success in the healthcare market in the future. We are already starting to see the impacts in drug development, precision medicine, and how patients with rare diseases are diagnosed and treated. Startups are launched every week to fill an unmet need and address the current problems in the healthcare system. Digital devices and artificial intelligence are helping doctors do their jobs faster and with more accuracy. MoneyBall Medicine: Thriving in the New Data-Driven Healthcare Market, which includes interviews with dozens of healthcare leaders, describes the business challenges and opportunities arising for those working in one of the most vibrant sectors of the world's economy. Doctors, hospital administrators, health information technology directors, and entrepreneurs need to adapt to the changes effecting healthcare today in order to succeed in the new, cost-conscious and value-based environment of the future. The authors map out many of the changes taking place, describe how they are impacting everyone from patients to researchers to insurers, and outline some predictions for the healthcare industry in the years to come.

Over the last few decades, the rapid and vast development of advanced microbial bioresources and metagenomics techniques has completely transformed the field of microbial biotechnology. Our understanding of microbial diversity, evolutionary biology, and microbial interaction with their animal and plant hosts at molecular level has been revolutionized with an abundance of new research. This new volume, Advances in Microbial Biotechnology: Current Trends and Future Prospect, focuses on the application of microorganisms for several purposes: for plant protection and improvement, for environmental remediation purposes, and for the improvement of human health. Various applications of microorganisms are covered broadly and have been appropriately reflected in depth in different chapters. The book is divided into four major sections: applied microbiology in agriculture microbes in the environment microbes in human health microbes in nanotechnology The book provides insight into the diverse microorganisms that have been explored and exploited in the development of various applications for agricultural improvements. The book also looks at the application of microbes for the removal of pollutants and the recovery of metals and oils. Also discussed is the detection and exploitation of microorganisms in the diagnosis of human diseases, providing possible holistic approaches to health. This new volume will provide a wealth of information on new research on the application of microbial biotechnology today.

Phytomedicine has become more important and gained constant improvement today for the betterment of health. Herbal medicine plays a significant role in the development of new drugs, contrary to the modern medicinal systems. For more than a decade, there has been a drastic improvement in phytomedicine across the world. This growth has reached a higher level in development by pharmaceutical industries everywhere. People have drifted toward herbal medication and practices for their food and health care. Therefore, in order to create abundant interest in the research of phytosciences, this book is one of the better reference tools. The bioactive compounds in plants need to be explored to know the scientific value and therapeutic properties of the medicinal plants against many diseases. This book contains chapters that are relevant to the advanced research in herbal medicines and will enlighten readers to the importance of medicinal plants as daily sources of nutrition and cures for diseases. This book highlights the unique features of the plants that have not been studied so far for their therapeutic potential. To prove the efficacy of medicinal plants, they have to be studied, examined, and scientifically verified. Hence, this book will better serve the researchers working under different aspects of phytomedicine. Features * The information provided through scientific validation is useful to study the pharmacological activity of herbals and their administration in the modern era. * The readers can find clear understanding in the research and development of phytopharmaceutical drugs. * The ideas incorporated in each chapter reveal the knowledge gained in studying the biological activities of the compounds present in the plant, which are indeed most worthy for the development of drugs. * The harvesting of new ideology toward modern scientific technologies that are employed in the field of pharmacological research.

This book represents a comprehensive overview of the distribution of the various forms of mobile communications devices, with increasing variations and intensities that constitute a serious hazard to both the biosphere and mankind. Contributors stress the lack of controls over mobile communication signal sources, as well as the absence of monitoring the health of individuals exposed to microwave radiation. The work also entails a review of the engineering behind mobile communication technology, including a summary of basic scientific evidence of the effects of biological exposure to microwaves, and unique coverage on potential hazards of mobile communication for children. Marko S. Markov has been professor and chairman of the Department of Biophysics and Radiobiology of Sofi University for 22 years. With over 45 years of basic science research experience, and over 40 years in the clinical application of electromagnetic fields, he is recognized as one of the world's best experts in the subject. His list of publications includes 196 papers and 18 books. Presents an overview of what modern science knows about mobile communications signals Details the latest research on potential hazards related to uncontrolled use of mobile devices Provides information related to children's organisms not developed biologically prior to exposure to microwave signals Offers methods of control of the house and work environment Explores the link between science and electromagnetics hazards.

Cannabis is one of the oldest cultivated plants dating back 12,000 years and demonstrates medicinal properties including immune support, anti-inflammatory effects, and cancer-fighting potential. As cannabis receives regulatory approval in the United States, clinicians will need guidelines to prescribe medical marijuana for various health conditions. This book presents information to healthcare professionals focusing on medical cannabis. It is a science-based overview providing clinical recommendations and dosing guidelines for practitioners to advise patients appropriately. Features: Discusses the endocannabinoid system role in homeostasis, pain control, and regulatory function in health and disease Advises clinicians on cannabis use in patients with cancer; cardiovascular, brain, and liver function; mood disorders; and patients receiving palliative care Includes information on cannabis nutrition as well as the cannabis microbiome Features information on cannabis quality control for safe and effective delivery Cannabis: A Clinician¿s Guide is written for clinicians providing a resource guide to help them assess the medicinal value of cannabis, answer patient and consumer questions, and recommend its use optimally. The book is divided into three sections covering cannabis science, use in clinical practice, and regulations and standards. It includes practical information on dosing guidelines and dispensary insights, personal cannabis stories, and an in depth look at the nutritional benefits of cannabis and how to use it in daily life. From the Author: "As a clinical nutritionist, I have been involved in the use of cannabis since 1981 while researching diabetes in India. Ayurvedic medicine listed cannabis as a beneficial herb with curing properties. In 1983, a Chinese medicine doctor in the Peoples Republic of China gave me a cannabis herbal supplement for sleep that he claimed Chairman Mao took regularly. Upon returning to the United States, no one would even talk to me about cannabis because of its Schedule I status. During an Antioxidants class taught for Everglades University, I included information on cannabis, but was restricted from including it in the course description. Cannabis: A Clinician¿s Guide unveils deceit on this herbal medicine used for thousands of years providing insight into the science behind its use and how to incorporate cannabis into daily life, especially for those suffering from neurological disorders, cancer, and mood disorders."