International Trade

The global economic edifice built after World War II is a source of unprecedented prosperity. It cannot function without open and predictable international trade, and the peaceful international relations that are its foundation. The rules that enable trade are under attack. Social divisions and great power rivalry have eroded the political support for open trade. The consequence is fragmentation of world trade, its separation into blocks that advance domestic producers or favored nations nearby. These blocs are themselves often pulled apart by competing agendas. The prospects are for vastly reduced economic efficiency and - most ominously - heightened geopolitical tensions. The questions about why this is happening, how economic fragmentation will evolve, and how to respond to it, are uppermost in the minds of policymakers and businesses across the world. These are the questions that Uri Dadush seeks to answer. Since the uncertainty cannot be dispelled, it must be better managed.

This open access book examines how international trade agreements apply to domestic regulations on cross-border data flows and then proposes a multilayered framework to align international trade law with evolving norms and practices in global data governance. Digital trade and global data governance are at a unique crossroads, raising significant policy challenges. The book focuses on five policy areas at the interface of digital trade and global data governance: privacy, cybersecurity, governmental access to data, data divide, and competition. In five separate chapters, the book analyses how different types of domestic laws in each of these policy areas interface with existing provisions in international trade law. Thereafter, each of these chapters explores the challenges and possibilities for aligning international trade law with evolving norms, standards and best practices in that specific area of data regulation, both at the domestic and transnational level. Drawing upon these findings, the final chapter proposes a multilayered framework for aligning international trade law with evolving norms and practices in global data governance. (...)

This book bridges the existing gap between the theory and practices related to international finance. It discusses banking theories and operational procedures relating to the methods of payment with special reference to Letters of credit (LCs), like revolving LCs, back-to-back LCs, transferable LCs, and standby LCs, with specific applications of documentary discrepancies. Moreover, this book discusses merchanting trade, buyers' credit and supplier's credit, and bank guarantees with many practical caselets, linked to the applications of the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) and other regulatory rules. It also examines the various roles of banks in financing international trade which are extensively discussed through several cases. (...)

How can policies on trade and culture be coordinated in such a way that both are enabled to flourish? This book makes the argument for moving from viewing trade and culture as "in conflict" to assessing the two fields in coordination—at the domestic, regional and international levels. Juneyoung Lee makes the case for a preference for negotiations and monitoring, as opposed to legalized dispute settlement. Informal law-making processes and preferential trade agreements are also addressed.

This book explores how the European Union designs its trade policy to face the most recent challenges and to influence global policy issues. It provides with an interdisciplinary perspective, by combining legal, political, and economic approaches. It studies a broad set of trade instruments that are used by the EU in its trade policy, such as: trade agreements, multilateral initiatives, unilateral trade policies, as well as, internal market tools. Therefore, the contributions to this volume present the EU's Trade Policy through different lenses providing a complex view of it.

The Multilevel Politics of Trade presents a timely comparative analysis of eight federations (plus the European Union) to explore why some sub-federal actors have become more active in trade politics in recent years. As the contributing authors find, there is considerable variation in the intensity and modes of sub-federal participation. This they attribute to three key factors: the distinctive institutional features of federal systems; the nature and scope of trade policy and trade agreements; and the extent of social mobilization that accompanies a particular trade policy conversation. As a whole, The Multilevel Politics of Trade argues that sub-federal actors’ interests (jurisdictional, political, and economic) are what motivate them to participate in trade debates. However, institutional configurations, coupled with the influence of civil society actors, political parties, and others determine the nature and scope of that participation. Informed by a deep knowledge of federal dynamics, this volume provides extensive comparative analyses of all seven of the North American and European federations and represents a significant intervention into the study of both federalism and political economy.

This comprehensive Research Handbook examines the key drivers of the arms trade, mapping the main trends in Asia, Europe, the Middle East, Africa and Latin America. It also explores the principal defence markets internationally, including the US, China, India, Russia and the UK in greater detail.Across twenty-six chapters, international experts assess the central drivers of the arms trade, such as the insecurities of small states in an increasingly realist world of power politics, the continued presence of conflict, technological change and the presence of corruption. Analysing critical issues from the future of air and naval power and their implications for the trade to the impact of emerging technology and the prospects for arms control, the chapters raise a number of central issues as to the challenges and future direction of the arms trade. The Research Handbook concludes that defence spending and procurement have remained paramount and on a general upward trend since the Cold War, particularly in Asia and the Middle East.This Research Handbook will be a valuable resource for academics and students of international relations, security studies and political science. Its global approach will also be beneficial for arms policy analysts and defence professionals.

This book explains various methods of payment in international trade and trade finance schemes for international trade. It also presents an overview of the concepts, purposes, features, and risks of international trade. A grasp of the features and risks of international trade facilitates a better understanding of the numerous methods of payment in international trade and the relevant trade finance schemes, which is essential to success in international trade transactions. In order to complete an international trade transaction, depending on the terms, both parties need access to funds. Compared with large companies, small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), frequently face difficulties in raising capital or funds, but financing an international trade transaction is often the key to its successful completion. As such, selecting an appropriate financing mechanism from the various options available is vital. This book offers a systematic overview of international trade and payment together with trade finance, providing instructive examples and illustrations of trade documents, each method of payment, and trade finance including export credit insurance or guarantee.

In an era where services play an increasingly vital role in servicified global value chains, this insightful book provides a comprehensive study of legal aspects of rules of origin for services and their importance in international trade.The author identifies and examines the defects in the current approach to rules of origin for services through an astute analysis of these rules in the General Agreement on Trade in Services and in preferential trade agreements. In addition, by asserting that trade in goods and trade in services cannot be separated, the author provides a comparative analysis of rules of origin in these two fields, offering a better understanding of their boundaries and connections. Paving the way for further development, the author concludes that certain aspects of rules of origin for goods, such as the product-based approach, may be repurposed for services.Addressing an area of rule making insufficiently explored to date, this book will prove important reading for students and scholars of international trade, economics, and governance. The focus on new patterns of international trade will also benefit trade experts, policy makers and businesses.

Trade Protectionism in an Uncertain and Interconnected Global Economy presents the results of almost five years of research on the political economy of trade policy. It argues that in a global context dominated by economic uncertainty and interdependencies, the mechanisms that have fueled the diffusion of trade liberalization under the World Trade Organization (preferential trade agreements. (...)

The Research Handbook on Trade Warspresents an informative and in-depth account of the origins, dynamics, and implications of trade wars, which are growing both in scale and scope in today's increasingly interdependent global economy. Timely and comprehensive, it provides a holistic understanding of trade wars, including not only the domestic and international factors that influence the pattern of trade war onset and escalation, but also the stakeholders and processes that shape the outcomes of such highly intense trade conflicts. Leading scholars in the field present original and thought-provoking research material, critically engage with academic and policy debates, and make theoretical contributions as well as valuable policy recommendations. In addition to its in-depth analysis of the global, domestic, political, and economic origins of trade wars, this Research Handbook also examines the variation in the scope of trade wars, the forum for dispute settlement, the factors that influence the pattern of dispute escalation, and the linkages between national security considerations and commercial conflicts. Providing the frameworks necessary for understanding the political and economic logics of trade wars, this Handbook will be a valuable source of reference for researchers, government officials, businesses, and post-graduate students interested in international political economy, international economics, economic statecraft, public policy, and international relations.

This book focuses on the current tension between China and the US on trade imbalance and discusses China's opening-up strategy in the context of this trade conflict. The book is divided into two parts. In the first part, the author presents a detailed analysis of the current state of the China-US trade relationship and describes the potential impacts of China-US trade conflicts. The topics covered in this section include the re-estimate of US trade deficit with China, China's non-market economy status, the impact of China-US bilateral investment treaties on China's manufacturing sectors, and the estimated welfare losses and gains resulting from the China-US trade war. Part II explores China's possible response and development strategy in the context of de-globalization. Based on an overview of China's three stages of economic reform and opening-up policy in the past four decades, the author discusses the future tasks that would move the country into a new stage of all-round opening up. Lastly, the book comprehensively reviews the role of processing trade, trade liberalization, and firm performance in promoting China's miraculous economic growth so as to foster a better understanding of China's experience of opening up over the past 4 decades.

This book tackles the disconnect between social perceptions and expert knowledge regarding trade policy decisions. Using a Polish language internet database, the authors shed light on areas that need to be addressed when considering the adoption of particular trade policies by applying content and statistical analysis to produce an easy to deploy measure of populism in digital media, the "Media Populism Ratio". Defining a mismatch between social perception and expert knowledge may contribute to a better understanding of the controversies on free trade, as well as properly defining possible sources of populism and social conflicts - therefore also revealing some potential weaknesses in the trade policy implementation level which are at times neglected or underestimated. The book will be relevant to students and researchers interested in economic policy, economic narratives and cultural economics.

The European Union ('EU') is promoting a suite of innovations in international economic regulation--among them, reforms for secure and sustainable investment, a comprehensive approach to the mutual recognition of professional qualifications, a viable carbon border adjustment mechanism, heightened intellectual property rights protection, the arm's length principle in taxation, and an increased commitment to non-economic vales. Through a critical analysis of key regulations and policies, this volume explores the evolving architectures of international economic agreements in light of EU practice. A comprehensive analysis indicates that novelties are rooted in geoeconomic considerations, through which a fundamental shift is underway towards the adoption of comprehensive bilateral trade agreements. Whilst innovation has the potential to significantly harmonise cross-border regulatory frameworks, it can also trigger significant fractures, particularly when applied restrictively and asymmetrically. Arguably, the 'Brussels effect' will to a certain extent foster a progressive development of international economic regulation, while in some respects being constrained by the status quo of the international economic regime. This volume is part of the Jean Monnet project Third Country Engagement with EU Trade Policy led by the ANU Centre for European Studies at the Australian National University, and supported by the European Commission under the Erasmus+ actions. The project seeks to explore and improve understanding of the EU's evolving trade policy and its implications for third countries, including Australia and countries in the Asia-Pacific region.

From the pen of highly esteemed trade scholar Alan Sykes, this book presents a rigorous introduction to the law and economics of modern international trade agreements. With a bottom-up approach that requires neither a background in international trade law nor significant economics training, Sykes sets out to map and explain the complex dynamics of international trade agreements and institutions, synthesising legal analysis and cutting-edge economic research in order to present the reader with a sophisticated, holistic view of the field. Against the backdrop of the current impasse in both negotiation and dispute settlement at the World Trade Organisation, the book charts a clear path from the historical origins of trade law and the international system, to the current state of play, including unpacking the major areas of controversy. It exposits the economic theory of trade agreements, discusses the role of international trade law in domestic legal systems and analyzes the role of self-enforcement and formal dispute resolution mechanisms. It provides lucid and detailed analysis of the restrictions, exceptions, obligations and special measures that constitute the core building blocks of international trade rules, including the distinct features of international trade in services. With an international outlook, the book also addresses the role of China in the world trading system, looking at such issues as the credibility of market access commitments, China's industrial policies, "forced technology transfer" and currency manipulation. Providing an eloquent, thorough and technically astute overview of international trade agreements, this title will be invaluable to scholars and teachers of international trade across the disciplines of law, economics and political science.

This book examines the interplay between cooperation on technical barriers to trade (TBT) in free trade agreements and the multilateral framework of the World Trade Organization. In recent years, TBT, especially differences in standards, have attracted increased interest and have been addressed as part of the WTO+ negotiated agenda in trade agreements. Because of a number of political and legal constraints, the process of further cooperation at the WTO have been stalled, which made free trade agreements a central pillar in setting the agenda of international trade governance. This leads us to rethinking the interrelation between the WTO and free trade agreements and to questioning the role of both fora in the future of trade. The book examines some TBT provisions in free trade agreements and highlights their positive and problematic aspects when it comes to the WTO-consistency and the ideas of open and inclusive trade. It also suggests that a more optimal way forward would be toincrease parallel work on TBT cooperation at the WTO, a more inclusive forum that could address issues of global significance, such as environmental protection and regulation of digital goods. The book explores the potential for trade agreements to advance the WTO agenda, but notes that the organization would need to adapt its institutional structure and governance in order to do so. Drawing on the example of the EU and US so-called "new generation" trade agreements, the book provides a detailed analysis of the various methods used to navigate TBT cooperation, and offers insight into how these agreements can serve as inspiration for future multilateral disciplines. This book is a valuable resource for trade law academics, policymakers, and anyone interested in the intersection of technical barriers to trade, regional trade agreements, and the WTO.

This book explores engagement between the trade and investment law regimes and the extent to which this is being driven by Preferential Trade and Investment Agreements (PTIAs). It provides an empirical analysis of engagement between the two regimes using data from 60 PTIAs and 60 Bilateral Investment Treaties concluded between 2005-2019 to see whether PTIAs result in increased engagement and whether they are doing so over time. The book explores eight of the factors identified as evidencing inter-regime engagement. These chapters look at when engagement is appropriate and to what extent it is appropriate in relation to each of these areas. Based on the findings of this book's empirical and comparative law analysis of PTIAs, BITs, and the trade and investment law regimes, the book examines whether the conclusion of PTIAs compared to BITs has resulted in increased levels of engagement between the trade and investment law regimes. This book does not put forth the view that convergence between trade and investment is always appropriate, but provides recommendations as to how treaties may be formulated and interpreted in a manner that takes inter-regime engagement into account with a view to ensuring the harmonious simultaneous development of the two regimes. The question of the future direction for engagement between the trade regime and the investment regime is very topical in light of changes to the architecture of both regimes at present. 

This book unveils the potential of utilizing EU Regional Trade Agreements (RTAs) as an instrument of promoting the rule of law to third states. In doing so, the book combines development economics, foreign policy and legal perspectives at three levels of analysis of four sectors to introduce the concept of "EU value-promoting RTAs". The book demonstrates that the EU RTAs bear considerable potential to be strategized as instruments of promoting the rule of law in third states, requiring, however, overcoming strict divides between EU political and economic cooperation, and values and acquis conditionality in its relations with third countries. This book will be of key interest to scholars and students of European Studies, European Union Law, EU external action/foreign policy, EU trade agreements and Development Studies, as well as to NGOs and think tanks that work on European affairs.

The open access publication of this book has been published with the support of the Swiss National Science Foundation. As tariffs have fallen dramatically over the past decades, behind-the-border measures--such as technical barriers to trade (TBT) and sanitary and phytosanitary (SPS) measures--have become increasingly important for international trade policy. To facilitate trade, governments sign trade agreements in which they agree to base such measures on international standards. But who actually develops these standards? This book takes a close look at the International Organization for Standardization and the Codex Alimentarius - two prominent standard-setting organizations in the area of TBT and SPS - to investigate how international standardization influences the design of international trade agreements, and vice versa.

This book is a machine-generated literature overview that explores the impact of the World Trade Organization (WTO) on international trade and its development. It looks at international trade before and after 1995 when WTO was established. It highlights the journey of the reciprocity-based reforms under WTO that were expected to help the developing and less developed countries (LDCs) more vis-à-vis their developed counterparts, given the existence of systemic and structural bottlenecks in the latter territories. The enabling steps were further expected to promote exports from developing countries and LDCs in line with their comparative advantage patterns, enhance the wage level and in turn, facilitate development of local population. The book showcases how during the first decade after WTO inception, a considerable progress was made for facilitating exports from the lower and lower-middle income countries through crucial provisions like less than full reciprocity (LTFR), Generalized System of Preferences (GSP), support measures under Aid for Trade, zero duty preferences under Special and Differential Treatment (SDT) and so on. However, the pace of WTO reforms has slowed down in the aftermath of the sub-prime crisis in 2008-09 and subsequent focus on formation of regional trade agreements (RTAs). In particular, in the aftermath of Covid-19, a trend towards de-globalization has been noticed, with considerable ramifications for the development of lower-income countries. In this background, there is a need to analyze how the deepening of trade flows and the subsequent de-globalization waves in the global canvas have traversed different paths in different continents and draw the appropriate lessons for the understanding the trade-development interlinkage therein. With insightful observations from the human editors, this machine-generated overview would be of interest to academicians, policy research community, advisory research community, and students ofinternational trade globally. ^

This comprehensive Companion provides an extensive guide to understanding the World Trade Organization (WTO) and its impact on the global economy. Addressing the challenges facing the WTO amidst a rapidly evolving landscape, the book delves into the diverse trade policies of countries and regions, providing rare insights into their impact on the global trade governance frameworks. Featuring insightful contributions from interdisciplinary experts, this essential Companion will aid readers in comprehending the WTO's functions and its significance in international trade and broader economic policies. Chapters explore the influence of regional trade agreements on countries' trade agendas, the WTO's critical role in fostering free and fair trade, and the shifting dynamics of global economic governance. The book further highlights the importance of dispute resolution, regional integration, and coalitions for effective trade policy making. Highlighting the need for increased transparency, flexibility, and adaptability to ensure the WTO's continued relevance in global economic governance, this Companion will be indispensable for scholars and students of institutional economics, international relations, law and politics, and regulation and governance. It will also be beneficial for trade lawyers, experts, and professionals who work in international trade and commerce, as well as NGOs and civil society organizations.

In recent years, the world trading system has been confronted by a range of new and developing challenges: the risk of climate change, the instability of the digital economy, the ongoing impacts of COVID-19 and the threat of future pandemics, to name but a few. In this book, veteran trade negotiator, Ambassador Alan Wm. Wolff, draws from his years of experience at the World Trade Organization to consider the history of trade, the current trading system and how it should be reformed in the future. Offering a rare insight into the inner workings of the WTO, Wolff is uniquely placed to identify deficiencies in the current system and suggest actionable solutions. This essential guidebook to the WTO equips readers with the tools and knowledge required to tackle to emerging and emergent challenges of a global trading system.

This book discusses the most recent developments in the WTO regime. Issues such as E-commerce, security exception clause, China's compliance with the WTO obligations, sustainability development, IP protection in FTZs, trade controls and etc., are at the forefront of WTO studies. These issues strongly influence people's understanding of the current role of WTO and provides possible way to revitalize the function of WTO. Meanwhile,  as the world's second largest economy, the world's largest trading nation and the holder of the world's largest foreign exchange reserves, China is apparently a powerful figure in leading these issues. Therefore, this book explores extensively these issues from a Chinese perspective to see what China could do to reboost the world trade.

In this incisive book, Petros C. Mavroidis examines the complex practice of interpreting the various sources of World Trade Organization (WTO) law. Written by a leading expert in WTO scholarship, the book serves as a broad grounding in the legal theory of the WTO contract and its sources, as well as its application in practice.  Delving into the workings of the Vienna Convention of the Law of Treaties (VCLT) and its use within the WTO courts, the author provides a critical assessment of the interpretation of the WTO contract and illuminates the role of WTO adjudicators and the Secretariat in clarifying obligations. Mavroidis then explores the uncertainty and distortion that emerge as a result of the discretion from adjudicators invited by the VCLT, explaining why this matters and offering steps towards resolving these issues.  Providing an expansive analysis of the interpretation of WTO treaties, this book will be an invaluable resource for scholars and students in the field of WTO law, as well as international trade and economic law more broadly. Its discussion of the possible future of dispute settlement, particularly its proposal for a re-evaluation of the judicial selection process, will also prove insightful to practitioners in this area.

This incisive book provides a comprehensive overview of the WTO dispute settlement practice from 1995 up until the present day, illustrating the need for it to be resurrected from its current state of crisis. By inquiring into the current set-up of WTO adjudication system, the book explores to what extent its original intent has been followed in practice. Its empirical analysis of decades of data regarding the number, duration, and subject matter of dispute adjudications, as well as the frequency of implemented or non-implemented settlements, illuminates the effectiveness of the system and highlights the issues that have led to the WTO's present predicament. Petros C. Mavroidis employs these findings to build a case for the urgent reform of the WTO dispute settlement system by virtue of its accomplishments. He then concludes with a proposal for a reinvigorated "Dispute Settlement Understanding 2.0". The WTO Dispute Settlement Systemwill prove an essential read for students and scholars of WTO law, as well as lawyers, political scientists and policy-oriented economists interested in the WTO dispute settlement system. Its accessible evaluation of the rationale and practice of key provisions of the adjudication regime will also be of benefit to practicing attorneys.

This insightful Handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the most recent developments in the academic debate on the numerous and complex linkages between international trade and climate change.  Adopting a broad interdisciplinary approach, it brings together perspectives from scholars in economics, political science and legal studies to confront the critical environmental challenges posed by globalization. Initial chapters provide an overview of the key debates related to international trade and climate policy, engaging with empirical data from the US and China to assess the impact of new trade initiatives and policy on greenhouse gas emissions, carbon leakage and the increase of trade in carbon-intensive products. Contributors propose policy options that align international trade with climate change mitigation and address crucial legal and practical implications, including the implementation of Border Carbon Adjustments and international trade disputes.  Offering critical and empirically-based perspectives on the future of international trade policy, this timely Handbook is crucial reading for scholars, researchers and graduate students in political science, public policy and climate research. Policymakers will also benefit from its unique and insightful policy recommendations.

This book examines the causes and consequences of social standards in US and EU preferential trade agreements (PTAs). PTAs are the new reality of the global trading system. Pursued by both developed and developing countries, they increasingly incorporate labor and environmental issues to prevent a race to the bottom in social regulation and counter-protectionism. Using principal-agent theory to explore why US PTAs have stricter social standards than those signed by the EU, Postnikov argues that the level of institutional insulation of trade policy executives from interest groups and legislators determines the design of social standards. In the EU, where institutional insulation is high, social standards mirror the normative preferences of the European Commission leading to a softer approach. In the US, where such insulation is low, social standards are driven by interest groups and legislators they control, resulting in a stricter approach. This book shows that both approaches can be effective but work through different causal mechanisms. To test his argument, Postnikov draws on original data collected in Brussels, Washington, Santiago, Bogota, and Seoul. This book will be of interest to all scholars and students working in the fields of international political economy and EU and US trade policy.

This forward-looking book introduces the concept of Ethical Value Networks, building upon a theoretical exploration with primary evidence of their impacts in the Global South. It moves away from focusing on the consumption section of networks, with grounded impact studies that explore ethicality as a concept, how ethical value is created and how this is distributed through the socio-economy. Framed by theoretical exploration and reflection, the book offers a selection of case studies from Africa, Latin America, the Pacific, and Southeast Asia to highlight the implications of Ethical Value Networks for producers and localities in the Global South. Chapters further analyse and critique the rise of the ethical trade and certification schemes, as well as three ethical trade constellations: social justice through fair trade, sustainability through organic agriculture, and authenticity through geographic indications. The in-depth analysis of ethical trading in wine, coffee, fruit and other key sectors combined with theoretical study will make this an important read for ethical trade researchers as well as policy makers and those responsible for the governance and operation of ethical value networks. It will also be an invigorating read for economic geography, development studies, international development and management studies scholars.

This book discusses trade relations and facilitation issues at both the regional and the continental African level, highlighting the increasing business opportunities and challenges that confront Africa in the digital age. It also examines the effects of trade policies and other policy instruments on Africa's economic development and presents workable policy measures for a more business-friendly ecosystem. Discussing various topics, including trade relations between African countries, African and international trade agreements, and trade liberalization policies, the book appeals to scholars of economics, business and management as well as professionals and policymakers interested in fostering free trade and sustainable business development in Africa.

This forward-looking book introduces the concept of Ethical Value Networks, building upon a theoretical exploration with primary evidence of their impacts in the Global South. It moves away from focusing on the consumption section of networks, with grounded impact studies that explore ethicality as a concept, how ethical value is created and how this is distributed through the socio-economy. Framed by theoretical exploration and reflection, the book offers a selection of case studies from Africa, Latin America, the Pacific, and Southeast Asia to highlight the implications of Ethical Value Networks for producers and localities in the Global South. Chapters further analyse and critique the rise of the ethical trade and certification schemes, as well as three ethical trade constellations: social justice through fair trade, sustainability through organic agriculture, and authenticity through geographic indications. The in-depth analysis of ethical trading in wine, coffee, fruit and other key sectors combined with theoretical study will make this an important read for ethical trade researchers as well as policy makers and those responsible for the governance and operation of ethical value networks. It will also be an invigorating read for economic geography, development studies, international development and management studies scholars.

This research monograph argues that Fair Trade constitutes a new type of market, 'a dispersed hybrid market', that due to its specific features contributes to a more pro-social functioning of the entire market and taking responsibility for sustainable development by different market participants.