Public International Law

Public International Law: A Multi-Perspective Approach is a comprehensive yet critical introduction to the diverse field of public international law. Bringing together a unique range of perspectives from around the world and from different theoretical approaches, this textbook introduces both the overarching questions and doctrines of public international law, as well as the specialised sub-fields. These include emerging fields such as international law in cyberspace, international migration law, and the international climate regime. The book includes numerous case examples, references to debates and controversies in the literature, and focus sections addressing topics in more depth. Featuring an array of pedagogical features, including learning objectives, suggested further reading and resources, and QR codes to interactive exercises, this book is ideal for students studying this field for the first time and also offers something new for students who would like to deepen their knowledge via a diverse and engaging range of perspectives. The Open Access version of this book, available at www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike (CC-BY-SA) 4.0 License

This comprehensive Research Handbook provides a detailed exploration of the principles and rules that impact the procedures and operation of international courts and tribunals. Within this framework, leading experts examine how the evolution of procedural rules and concepts has given rise to a distinct body of rules known as international procedural law. Diverse contributors from common and civil law backgrounds discuss the significance, sources and general principles of international procedural law and highlight crucial, yet often overlooked, international dispute resolution regimes. Specific problems related to the emergence of international procedural law, such as the interaction between international judicial regimes, are also unpacked and potential practical solutions investigated. The Research Handbook concludes by looking forwards, using a comparative analysis of the interactions between distinct international dispute resolution regimes to outline how mutual consideration and comity can lead to procedural congruence. The Research Handbook on International Procedural Lawis an authoritative reference for students and scholars of arbitration and dispute resolution, constitutional and administrative law, and public international law. Discerning and practical, it will also act as a core resource for practitioners, government officials, judges, and members of adjudicative bodies.

This volume provides an innovative and engaging way of assessing the development of international law scholarship and practice by focusing on the 'leading works' of the discipline. It presents contributions from leading scholars of public international law and the works discussed represent a diverse range of subjects within the broader discipline.

This collection shares the authors' discomfort with the present legal order and some of its institutions and courts, and dives into either a corrective or a profound reimagination of these, so that they can better address rising global challenges. Leading experts in their areas present their new and cutting-edge perspectives.

Highlighting the close relationship between foreign relations law and international law, this impressive book places parliament and domestic courts' engagement with treaties at the heart of its inquiry. It presents a timely assessment of the impact that different rules of constitutional law have on parliamentary and judicial approaches to treaties in four different states (Germany, India, South Africa and the US), thereby incorporating valuable comparative dimensions. With intellectual rigour, Felix Lange demonstrates how diverse conceptions of foreign relations law affect whether parliaments act as promoters, shapers or translators of human rights treaties, the Rome Statute to the International Criminal Court, and climate change treaties. Lange not only analyses the ways in which domestic courts rely on treaties through consistent interpretation and direct application, but also how they may dismiss treaty provisions as non-self-executing or employ the concept of non-justiciability in matters of foreign affairs. Ultimately, Lange embraces the view that parliaments and courts are being increasingly heard and suggests that their voices should become even louder. This book will prove indispensable to academics and students interested in law and politics, public international law and constitutional law. Legal practitioners with a keen interest in these areas will similarly benefit from the connections drawn between international law and constitutional law.

This book offers an in-depth analysis of the problem of mistakes of fact in connection with the law of state responsibility - mistakes which have significant implications for global governance and legal certainty that have yet to be fully mapped out in contemporary international law.  The book begins by defining the underlying problem: the abundance of cases in which states have unintentionally violated international law and the law of state responsibility's apparent silence regarding the juridical consequences of such errors. In turn, it addresses three key areas of state responsibility. First, it explores how mistakes of fact can influence the analysis of attribution in international practice. Second, it addresses the implications of mistakes of fact in identifying "breaches" of international law. This includes a range of case studies, such as state responsibility for accidentally shooting down civilian aircraft or for the accidental killing of civilians on the part of state agents. Thirdly, the book delves into how mistakes of fact can preclude responsibility for established breaches of international law, either on their own or within the matrix of existing defenses. This book is primarily intended for researchers focusing on the international law of state responsibility. Its aim is to spark a discussion about how to address important aspects of state practice that existing instruments do not exhaustively codify. As it seeks to provide clarity on existing state practice regarding mistakes of fact, the book will also benefit professionals whose work involves issues of state responsibility in practice. 

The public policy exception in private international law is designed to provide a national backstop in the application of foreign laws. This book provides detailed and practical comparative coverage of the use of public policy in the context of private international law across a number of important jurisdictions spanning three continents.

This comprehensive Research Handbook considers the place of human security, both in practice and as a concept within international law, examining the preconditions for and consequences of applying human security to international legal thinking and practice. It also proposes a future international law in which human security is central to the law's purpose. Contributions by leading authors in the field critically engage with 25 years of human security practice in different areas of international law and explore the challenges, successes and setbacks of realising human security in a state-based international legal order whilst re-conceptualizing central elements of international law from a human security perspective. Organised around six core themes, the Research Handbook shows how human security can be used as an overarching framework to preserve peace, protect people and counter vulnerability through international law. Progressive and engaging, this Research Handbook will be a key resource for scholars and students of public international law, security, and international relations, who wish to further their knowledge of human security as the central purpose of international law.

There is a common perception of reciprocity as a concept that is opposed to the communitarian interests that characterise contemporary international law, or merely a way of denoting reactions to unfriendly or wrongful conduct. This book disputes this approach, and highlights how reciprocity is instead linked to the structural characteristic of sovereign equality of States in international law. This book carries out an in-depth analysis of the concept of reciprocity and the elements that characterise it, before examining the various roles and articulations of reciprocity in a number of fields of public international law: the law of treaties, the treatment of individuals, the execution of international law, and the jurisdiction of international courts and tribunals. In all these areas, it analyses both more traditional and more contemporary examples, to demonstrate how reciprocity is closely linked to the very structure of public international law.

Sovereignty, security, rights, participation: these four macro-issues have been deeply affected by the impact of digital technologies on the inner infrastructures of public international law. But what role does international law play for the internet? And how have the internet and the platforms, rogue actors, cyber weapons, and multistakeholder approaches to law-making influenced international law? This book examines the reciprocal influences between digital technologies and public international law and contributes to further debunk the persisting myth of the internet as an unregulated space. By these means, it current and future fields of inquiry emerging from the interface between public international law and digital technologies which will become even more relevant in the future.

Public debates in the language of international law have occurred across the 20th and 21st centuries and have produced a popular form of international law that matters for international practice. This book analyses the people who used international law and how they used it in debates over Australia's participation in the 2003 Iraq War, the Vietnam War and the First World War. It examines texts such as newspapers, parliamentary debates, public protests and other expressions of public opinion. It argues that these interventions produced a form of international law that shares a vocabulary and grammar with the expert forms of that language and distinct competences in order to be persuasive. This longer history also illustrates a move from the use of international legal language as part of collective justifications to the use of international law as an autonomous justification for state action.

In this cutting-edge book, Alexander Orakhelashvili addresses the doctrine of causation, examining its suitability to influence, or contribute to, the process of responsibility of State and non-State actors in international law. In doing so, the book considers the record so far and places the international legal system's practical experience within its normative context. Split into four chapters, the book begins by examining the workings of causation across various national legal systems, including the common law and the civil law systems. The central second chapter considers the doctrine of causation within the structure of the law of State responsibility for internationally wrongful acts, focusing mainly on the ways in which causation is both adopted and bounded within the international legal system. The next chapter deals with the practice of international courts and tribunals relating to causation, including the International Court of Justice and the European Court of Human Rights, and the final chapter offers some critique of secondary literature on causation and related issues arising in national and international law. Deeply grounded in evidence, illuminating, comprehensive and timely, Causation in International Lawwill be key reading for academics, postgraduate students and practising lawyers in the areas of public international law and legal theory.

At a time where multilateralism is coming under increasing pressure, a new reflection on the foundations of international law is warranted. Democracy and Sovereignty: Rethinking the Legitimacy of Public International Law addresses urgent new and intrinsically international subject areas, such as digitalization, climate change and transborder investments. This volume looks at the changing role of state sovereignty and explores more democratic modes of legitimation in order to supplement the traditional concept of state consent, and sharpen the notion of democracy itself.

Significant use has been made of the jurisprudence of the International Court of Justice because it is the principle judicial organ of the world's most universal international organization, the United Nations. Moreover, article 103 of the Charter of the United Nations makes the obligations in this treaty superior any other treaty obligations into which States may enter. The Dictionary of Public International Law contains a chronology, an introduction, glossary of Foreign Terms, tables of Treaties and Cases, an extensive bibliography, and an index. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on significant persons, important treaties and conventions, organizations and tribunals, and important cases and issues they have dealt with. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about international law.

This book examines interactions and discusses intersectionality between public international law and private international law. With contributions from scholars from USA, Canada, Australia, India and EU, this book brings out truly international perspectives on the topic. The contributions are arranged in four themes--Public international law and private international law: historical and theoretical considerations of the boundary; Harmonisation of private international law by public international law instruments: evaluation of process, problems, and effectiveness; Case studies of intersectionality between public international law and private international law; Future trends in the relationship between public international  law and private international law. The ultimate aim of this book is to analyse whether these two legal disciplines become convergent or they are still divergent as usual. With wide coverage spanning across these four themes, the book has takeaways for a wide readership. For scholars and researchers in the fields of public international law and private international law, this book sparks further thoughts and debates in both disciplines and highlight areas for continuing research. For practitioners, this book offers fresh insights and perspectives on contemporaneous issues of significance. This book is also be a great resource for students at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels taking subjects such as public international law or private international law or some related disciplines such as international sale of goods, international trade law or international investment law to advance their knowledge and understanding of the disciplines.

This collection of chapters tracks and explains the impact of the nine core United Nations human rights treaties in 20 selected countries, four from each of the five UN regions. Researchers based in each of these countries were responsible for the chapters, in which they assess the influence of the treaties and treaty body recommendations on legislation, policies, court decisions and practices. By covering the 20 years between July 1999 and June 2019, this book updates a study done 20 years ago.

In the context of the break-up of the Soviet Union and Yugoslavia, the independence of Montenegro and the unification of Germany, can a new State be held responsible for wrongful acts committed before its independence by the predecessor State? This book is the most comprehensive analysis of State practice, case law and scholarship identifying the factors and circumstances under which the rights and obligations arising from wrongful acts committed before independence can be transferred to a new State. This updated and revised second edition covers new developments, including the recent works of the International Law Commission and the Institute of International Law.