Public International Law

Eleven does not have the rights to sell this book in Italy. To purchase in Italy, please order via the co-publisher https://www.giappichelli.it/ This textbook provides an overview of the general functioning of international law, rather than presenting an extensive overview of the immense developments of international law in the last few decades. These developments cover a wide range of topics, including the regulation of the subjects, sources, state responsibility, the means of dispute settlement, and the increasingly problematic relation to domestic jurisdictions. In addition, substantive international law has expanded into numerous branches, such as the law of the sea, environmental law, jurisdictional immunities, human rights law, investment and trade law, and international criminal law.  Due to its concise nature, this book will be an incentive to students at first degree level to study the subject, while complementing the possible use of a syllabus in the public international law course. The basic character of the narrative is also meant to help attorneys understand how intertwined international law and domestic rules are, which they interpret and apply on a daily basis. And this may result in the use of many more arguments in their pleadings before a national court.

Synthèse sur le droit international public, ses sujets, les modes de formation et d'application de ses normes, ses finalités et ses champs d'application. ©Electre 2022

Le droit international public est une discipline qui a aujourd'hui envahi la plupart des secteurs de l'activité humaine. Si les États en sont les sujets originaires, ils ont perdu le monopole des relations internationales qui fut longtemps le leur, concurrencés qu'ils sont désormais par les organisations internationales et la promotion de sujets internes dans le domaine des droits de l'homme, des investissements internationaux ou de la responsabilité pénale internationale. Le consentement des États - exprimé par diverses sources (traités, coutumes) et procédés (actes unilatéraux, etc.) - conduit à former les obligations et droits internationaux qui constituent la trame essentielle du droit international public. Ce dernier est appelé de façon de plus en plus pressante à s'appliquer dans la vie quotidienne des sujets internes, c'est pourquoi l'accent est mis sur la question de son application dans le droit interne, devenue capitale. Par ailleurs, cet ouvrage expose l'essentiel des régimes de responsabilité internationale, des sanctions internationales et du règlement pacifique des différends.

Cassese's International Law is a new edition of an established classic. Authors Gaeta, Viñuales, and Zappalá have built on the legacy of international law luminary Antonio Cassese to offer a thought-provoking and lucid account for today's undergraduates and postgraduates.The authors have refreshed Cassese's original approach, ensuring the book continues to compare the traditional legal position with the developing and evolving law. Advancing areas such as the law of the sea, territorial matters, and international environmental law have been expanded to give proper place to their evolving development, while brand new chapters on international trade and foreign investment have been written to reflect the advancements of these areas. In maintaining the broad structure and approach but providing new material, the authors bring fresh context to Cassese's thinking and provide students with an up-to-date, compelling account of the landscape of international legal thinking.

The United Nations, whose specialized agencies were the subject of an Appendix to the 1958 edition of Oppenheim's International Law: Peace, has expanded beyond all recognition since its founding in 1945. This volume represents a study that is entirely new, but prepared in the way that has become so familiar over succeeding editions of Oppenheim.An authoritative and comprehensive study of the United Nations' legal practice, this volume covers the formal structures of the UN as it has expanded over the years, and all that this complex organization does. All substantive issues are addressed in separate sections, including among others, the responsibilities of the UN, financing, immunities, human rights, preventing armed conflicts and peacekeeping, and judicial matters.In examining the evolving structures and ever expanding work of the United Nations, this volume follows the long-held tradition of Oppenheim by presenting facts uncoloured by personal opinion, in a succinct text that also offers in the footnotes a wealth of information and ideas to be explored. It is book that, while making all necessary reference to the Charter, the Statute of the International Court of Justice, and other legal instruments, tells of the realities of the legal issues as they arise in the day to day practice of the United Nations.Missions to the UN, Ministries of Foreign Affairs, practitioners of international law, academics, and students will all find this book to be vital in their understanding of the workings of the legal practice of the UN.

The Oxford Handbook of the History of International Law provides an authoritative and original overview of the origins, concepts, and core issues of international law. The first comprehensive Handbook on the history of international law, it is a truly unique contribution to the literature of international law and relations. Pursuing both a global and an interdisciplinary approach, the Handbook brings together some sixty eminent scholars of international law, legal history, and global history from all parts of the world. Covering international legal developments from the 15th century until the end of World War II, the Handbook consists of over sixty individual chapters which are arranged in six parts. The book opens with an analysis of the principal actors in the history of international law, namely states, peoples and nations, international organisations and courts, and civil society actors. Part Two is devoted to a number of key themes of the history of international law, such as peace and war, the sovereignty of states, hegemony, religion, and the protection of the individual person. Part Three addresses the history of international law in the different regions of the world (Africa and Arabia, Asia, the Americas and the Caribbean, Europe), as well as 'encounters' between non-European legal cultures (like those of China, Japan, and India) and Europe which had a lasting impact on the body of international law. Part Four examines certain forms of 'interaction or imposition' in international law, such as diplomacy (as an example of interaction) or colonization and domination (as an example of imposition of law). The classical juxtaposition of the civilized and the uncivilized is also critically studied. Part Five is concerned with problems of the method and theory of history writing in international law, for instance the periodisation of international law, or Eurocentrism in the traditional historiography of international law. The Handbook concludes with a Part Six, entitled "People in Portrait", which explores the life and work of twenty prominent scholars and thinkers of international law, ranging from Muhammad al-Shaybani to Sir Hersch Lauterpacht.The Handbook will be an invaluable resource for scholars and students of international law. It provides historians with new perspectives on international law, and increases the historical and cultural awareness of scholars of international law. It aims to become the new standard reference work for the global history of international law.

This book takes the reader on a sweeping tour of the international legal field to reveal some of the patterns of difference, dominance, and disruption that belie international law's claim to universality. Pulling back the curtain on the "divisible college of international lawyers," Anthea Roberts shows how international lawyers in different states, regions, and geopolitical groupings are often subject to distinct incoming influences and outgoing spheres of influence in ways that reflect and reinforce differences in how they understand and approach international law. These divisions manifest themselves in contemporary controversies, such as debates about Crimea and the South China Sea.Not all approaches to international law are created equal, however. Using case studies and visual representations, the author demonstrates how actors and materials from some states and groups have come to dominate certain transnational flows and forums in ways that make them disproportionately influential in constructing the "international." This point holds true for Western actors, materials, and approaches in general, and for Anglo-American (and sometimes French) ones in particular. However, these patterns are set for disruption. As the world moves past an era of Western dominance and toward greater multipolarity, it is imperative for international lawyers to understand the perspectives and approaches of those coming from diverse backgrounds. By taking readers on a comparative tour of different international law academies and textbooks, the author encourages them to see the world through the eyes of others - an essential skill in this fast changing world of shifting power dynamics and rising nationalism.

Elgar Advanced Introductionsare stimulating and thoughtful introductions to major fields in the social sciences and law, expertly written by the world's leading scholars. This accessible and concise introduction provides a salient overview of contemporary international environmental law as well as a critical assessment of the controversies that arise when trying to achieve environmental protection through international law. Covering the origins, content, institutional structure and accountability mechanisms of international environmental law, in their social-economic and political context, Ellen Hey discusses substantive and procedural fairness, thus exploring questions of distributive justice, accountability and legitimacy. Providing an invaluable entry point to this complex area of the law, this book enables a rapid understanding of the core principles of this multi-faceted topic. Key features include: Concise and compact overview Discusses contemporary developments Examines IEL's relationship to other areas of international law Considers the social-economic context.