Cryptocurrencies and Blockchain

Handbook of Digital Currency: Bitcoin, Innovation, Financial Instruments, and Big Data, Second Edition offers readers new ways to learn about subjects outside their specialties and provides authoritative background and tools for those whose primary source of information is journal articles. Encompassing currencies, payment methods, and computer communication protocols, digital currencies are growing in use and importance. The book's comprehensive view of the field covers history, technical, IT, finance, economics, legal, tax, and the regulatory environment. For those coming from different backgrounds with different questions in mind, this new edition is an essential starting point.

The financial sector is witnessing rapid technological innovations, leading to the emergence of Fintech (financial technologies), revolutionizing national and international financial landscapes. Fintech is expanding and enhancing financial products and services, making them more accessible and affordable while transforming customer relationships, payment methods, financing, and transfers. Advances in Emerging Financial Technology and Digital Money provides a platform for collective reflection, bringing together institutions, policymakers, digital and financial service providers, professionals, and academics from various disciplines. The aim is to clarify the challenges, opportunities, and socio-economic impacts of innovations in finance and technology on citizens and businesses in Morocco, Africa, and worldwide. This comprehensive collection offers valuable insights into the current state and prospects of financial technology and digital money. This book covers all the essential topics, including: AI and Machine Learning in Fintech and Beyond Financial Inclusion, Literacy, and Behavior Fintech Ecosystems, Collaboration, and Analysis Blockchain, Security, and Sustainability Fintech Innovations and Applications In this new book, the authors share their experiences to provide a comprehensive and well‑researched overview of the technologies and concepts that will transform the banking industry as we know it. It aspires to be a useful reference for executive managers, CIOs, Fintech professionals, and researchers interested in exploring and implementing an efficient Fintech strategy. The book also presents selected papers from International Fintech Congress (IFC 2022).

Over the last several years, the number of cryptocurrencies has exploded from the hundreds to the thousands. The use of cryptocurrency was supposed to democratize money or build a more inclusive economy, but none of these promises have materialized. Wild price swings and high transaction fees from cryptocurrencies make them useless for payments, the one thing they claim to be designed for. Stablecoins were supposed to solve this problem. Unlike other cryptocurrencies, their value is not just based on market enthusiasm; a stablecoin's value is supposed to be backed by real assets held by the company that issues the stablecoin.

The new Data Act is not only the centrepiece of the new EU data regulation, but probably also the most complex piece within the mosaic created by the EU Data Strategy. The regulation establishes b2b and b2c data access rights, stipulates rules for 'fair' data contracts, and tackles b2g data access in exceptional circumstances. The new rules are especially directed at IoT devices, smart contracts, and cloud services. The work offers an introduction to the new rules. Genealogy, structure, and practical consequences of the new Act are laid down - nonetheless with regard to the existing legal framework (e. g. data protection law). The authors' research is dedicated to European and International Information and Data Law.

Dive into the world of fintech and cryptocurrency through the engaging perspectives of this diverse group of authors and uncover the intricate connections between technology, finance, and cryptocurrency that make this a must-have for anyone intrigued by the future of digital society. Digital currencies, decentralization of money, and the growth of new technologies like blockchain, the Internet of Things, and machine learning have produced new opportunities and difficulties for banking and finance, as well as users of these services in electronic commerce. New banking and finance technologies may improve operational efficiency, risk management, compliance, and client pleasure, but they can decrease barriers and introduce new concerns, such as cybersecurity risk. Cryptocurrencies with smart contracts for payments and trading, as well as AI systems with adaptive algorithms that allow picture and speech recognition, expert judgement, group categorization, and forecasting in a variety of fields, are instances of increased automation. Simultaneously, the potentials pose risks and raise regulatory concerns. The rise of blockchain technology and its widespread use have had a significant impact on the operation and management of digital systems. At the same time, researchers and practitioners have paid close attention to digital finance. Blockchain's first applications were limited to the production of digital currency, but it has now been expanded to include financial and commercial applications. Innovative digital finance has had a huge impact on business and society since it has been extensively adopted by businesses and consumers. As a result, the goal of this edited book is to expand and deepen our knowledge of the business possibilities of novel blockchain and digital financial applications.

This book provides an interdisciplinary critical perspective regarding risk, uncertainty and governance challenges of cryptocurrencies.
It considers the perspectives of several disciplines including accounting, cybersecurity, cyberlaw, economics, ethics, finance, financial regulation, Shariah (Islamic) law and technology. Different from other books on a similar topic, this book's in-depth analysis and critical discourse on cryptocurrency risk categories are supplemented by research evidence gathered from surveys and interviews with stakeholders. The inclusion of an Islamic insight matters given mixed views at present regarding the permissibility of cryptocurrencies and some countries have indeed imposed somewhat restricted functions of cryptocurrencies for non-religious reasons.
It is envisaged that this book will help enlighten stakeholders on this aspect of uncertainty and inspire fit and proper governance strategies for the public interest.

This book provides a comprehensive analysis of the cryptocurrency phenomenon from a financial/monetary point of view. It offers a unique slant in at least two ways, with the financial perspective as the reference point. An examination of the technicalities surrounding blockchain and the mining of cryptocurrencies is included, but the reading is oriented to those who seek to better understand how these technical issues help to explain the functioning and the potential of cryptocurrencies, without touching on coding aspects. Moreover, the book addresses cryptocurrencies as an evolution of the concept of money, and it frames the analysis to give readers all the knowledge needed to connect the cryptocurrency phenomenon with traditional monetary theories. In so doing, cryptocurrencies are not considered as a completely disconnected trend, set apart from traditional financial systems, but as innovations that will push the concept of money forward, without dismantling previous foundations. The book also includes a discussion on central banks, and stresses how their initial diffidence toward cryptocurrencies has turned into a more active approach that includes projects to develop the so-called Central Bank Digital Currencies (CBDC), thereby completing the analysis of the state of the art of the cryptocurrency surge. The mix of theoretical content on the concept of money, the description of payment tools and the functioning of the payment industry, and the analysis of blockchain and the cryptocurrency markets makes the book interesting reading for researchers, scholars and students of economics, finance, or business, enabling them to develop the ability to understand the dynamics of the cryptocurrency phenomenon and its possible evolution.

Whether the source is more industry-based or academic research, there certainly appears to be a growing interest in the field of cryptocurrency. The New York Times had a cover story on March 24, 2022, titled "Time to Enter the Crypto Zone?," and they talked about institutional investors pouring billions into digital tokens, salaries being taken in Bitcoins, and even Bitcoin ATMs in grocery stores. Certainly, there have been ups and downs in crypto, but it has a kind of alluring presence that tempts one to include crypto as part of one's portfolio. Those who are "prime crypto-curious" investors are usually familiar with the tech/pop culture and feel they want to diversify a bit in this fast-moving market. Even universities are beginning to offer more courses and create "Centers on Cryptocurrency." Some universities are even requiring their students who take a crypto course to pay the course tuition via cryptocurrency. In response to the growing interest and fascination about the crypto industry and cryptocurrency in general, Cryptocurrency Concepts, Technology, and Applications brings together many leading worldwide contributors to discuss a broad range of issues associated with cryptocurrency. The book covers a wide array of crypto-related topics, including: Blockchain NFTs Data analytics and AI Crypto crime Crypto industry and regulation Crypto and public choice Consumer confidence Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. Presenting various viewpoints on where the crypto industry is heading, this timely book points out both the advantages and limitations of this emerging field. It is an easy-to-read, yet comprehensive, overview of cryptocurrency in the U.S. and international markets.

The crypto era has arrived, and business will never be the same. Real applications of crypto technology are growing exponentially: cryptocurrency payments are moving frictionlessly across borders; NFTs are generating real value for creators and consumers alike; and new blockchain-enabled business models are being built around decentralized finance and Web3. What do you and your company need to know and do today to create new opportunities and avoid disruption? Crypto: The Insights You Need from Harvard Business Review will show you how innovative organizations of all kinds are embracing decentralized technology, reinventing themselves, and thriving in the new age of crypto. Business is changing. Will you adapt or be left behind? Get up to speed and deepen your understanding of the topics that are shaping your company's future with the Insights You Need from Harvard Business Review series. Featuring HBR's smartest thinking on fast-moving issues--blockchain, cybersecurity, AI, and more--each book provides the foundational introduction and practical case studies your organization needs to compete today and collects the best research, interviews, and analysis to get it ready for tomorrow. You can't afford to ignore how these issues will transform the landscape of business and society. The Insights You Need series will help you grasp these critical ideas and prepare you and your company for the future.

This book discusses the dogmatic (that what is settled) and the dynamic (that what is changing) aspects of the relationship between blockchain and the law from a critical perspective. With contributions from legal and financial experts involved in both academy and business from Europe, Africa and North and South America, the book looks at the abstract complexities and practical challenges of regulating blockchain technology and its developments, such as crypto assets and smart contracts, from the perspectives of financial, tax, civil, and international law. Moreover, the book also delves into some exciting and cutting-edge related topics such as blockchain applications for litigation, CBDC and elections. The volume offers insightful considerations that will be helpful for legal practitioners involved in the crypto and Distributed Ledger Technology (DLT) phenomenon. Francisco Pereira Coutinho is Associate Professor at the Nova School ofLaw in Lisbon, Portugal. Martinho Lucas Pires is Teaching Assistant in the Department of Law of the Universidade Católica Portuguesa in Lisbon, Portugal. Bernardo Correia Barradas is a Lawyer and Senior Legal Advisor in payments in Washington DC, United States.

This open access book examines regulating an environment that has no jurisdiction, is fully anonymous and infinitely vast? Welcome to the Metaverse, an online virtual reality that is expected to add billions to the global economy. The Metaverse offers a new type of virtual economy with practically endless business opportunities. The question is how to prevent these opportunities from being abused to commit money laundering and finance terrorism (MLFT).
This book explores the current European Union legislation designed to prevent MLFT in connection with the Metaverse. It analyses the legislation in relation to the three traditional stages of MLFT: placement, layering and integration. Furthermore, some additional risks specific to the Metaverse are discussed, such as Non-Fungible Tokens (NFTs) and the high level of anonymity. The book concludes that the current legislation is not suitable for facing the new challenges of the Metaverse.  In turn, the book putsforward a novel approach to regulating and enforcing MLFT legislation: using a system of smart assets equipped with AI to prevent and detect MLFT. In addition, it makes recommendations on how to improve the legal framework with regard to the new challenges arising from the Metaverse. Particular attention is given to creating a legal framework that incorporates the use of smart assets and the Internet of Things, in order to provide a safe environment for potential users and society. With a solid background in financial law and technology, the author successfully creates a novel system of regulation and enforcement that is based on the use of automatic enforcement, whilst keeping sufficient legal safeguards in place for potential Metaverse users. This book will be of interest to anyone interested in the Metaverse. Whether you want to regulate it or open your own virtual business, it's a must-read!

Blockchain is the first global mechanism for the transfer and storage of value. Despite being conceived as an alternative to state and law, the technology and its use cases raise many legal questions, most notably, regarding jurisdiction and applicable law with respect to transactions and assets recorded on the blockchain. The issue is complex given the decentralised nature of the network. In this volume, academics and practitioners from various countries try to provide detailed answers to these questions as they relate to crypto-assets, cryptocurrencies, crypto derivatives, stablecoins, Central Bank Digital Currencies and Decentralised Autonomous Organisations (DAOs), as well as specific transactions and issues, such as property rights, secured transactions, smart contracts and bankruptcy. With specific chapters on national approaches (Germany, Japan, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, United States), the volume explores the need and possibility for legal harmonisation of these issues through global fora, such as the Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH) UNIDROIT.

This book looks at the analogic application of standard corporate valuation approaches to trendy digital tokens, expressed by cryptocurrencies, and validated through blockchain systems. Whereas traditional firm appraisal follows institutional guidelines and best practices, frontier research still must define the boundaries of these trendy issues, linking a strong theoretical background to practical advances that still need fine-tuning. This book, written by an academic and a senior consultant, combines theoretical rigor with practical insights, providing an innovative framework for evaluators, managers, and practitioners, and academics of corporate valuation and financial technology.

Providing a comprehensive explanation of blockchain, cryptocurrency and the international regulation and challenges that apply, this book introduces the reader to the core topics, including: global regulation of blockchain and cryptoassets; the Internet of Things; the Right to be Forgotten and the right to erasure; environmental, social and governance metrics; smart contracts; initial coin offerings; data protection regulation; Decentralised Autonomous Organisations ('DAOs') and the Metaverse. Written by leading UK experts in cyber law, the Second Edition includes: - fungible and non-fungible cryptoassets ('NFTs') - remedy and tracing strategies - financial hygiene requirements that flow from anti-money laundering - counter-terrorist financing regulations. Explaining the fundamentals of blockchain and cryptocurrency in an accessible and understandable way, and sparking new thinking about how old problems can be solved in new ways, this book is essential reading for anyone wishing to have a wider understanding of this complex and evolving area of law.

Current systems are failing the poor because these systems are unable to provide the financial inclusion needed for basic subsistence and commerce, which in turn would drive micro- and macro-economic growth. This book introduces the reader to a new way of thinking about how value can be created, captured, measured, and understood, economically and financially, and within the context of social contracts. It underscores the need to revisit such models through technological advancements, namely, Industrial Revolution 4.0, in order to solve pressing global issues such as economic inclusion and poverty eradication. The book proposes that for humanity to make the leap forward and for any real sustainable development to occur, the world needs a disruptive approach to value creation using currency systems, considering that currencies underpin value exchange. This disruption will result in a level of decentralization that facilitates peer-to-peer value exchange and drives financial inclusion, all of which should be underscored by a new, digital social contract. The author asserts that a time-based digital currency could address these issues by creating a new and truly inclusive currency model that allows economies to gain more value than previously possible. In addition, by leveraging 4IR technologies, a currency system can be designed where each unit of money accurately reflects the context and range of socio-economic factors that influence each human interaction. This book is aimed at futurists, technologists, researchers, policymakers, and anyone that is curious about how technology could make a difference in our collective futures. It cuts across a range of subject areas from economics, finance, philosophy, innovation to social development and takes an interdisciplinary approach to present a logical framework and theoretical foundation for the monetization of time as a digital currency.

This book provides a thorough overview of Bitcoin, cryptocurrencies, and digital assets and their impact on the future of money and finance. It provides a 360-degree practical, concise, and engaging overview of all the topics that one interested about digital assets needs to know including how Bitcoin and Ethereum work, an overview of the most important digital assets in the market, and deep dives into the various types of digital assets including cryptocurrencies, stable coins, CBDCs, utility tokens, security tokens, NFTs, and many others. The book also covers all the essentials including DeFi, crypto mining, crypto regulations, crypto investors, crypto exchanges, and other ecosystem players as well as some of the latest global crypto trends from Web 3.0 and the Metaverse to DAOs and quantum computing. Written by a leading industry expert and thought leader who advises some of the leading organisations in the digital assets space globally, this book is ideal for anyone looking to acquire a solid foundational knowledge base of this fast-growing field and understand its potential impact on the future of money.