Selected Online Reading on the Single Market: The Origins and Evolution

Partant du constat d'un discours critique sur l'Europe libérale en France, l'enquête sur l'évolution des politiques de l'UE depuis les années 1980 met en évidence le statut ambigu du marché dans la construction européenne. La relance par le marché apparaît non pas comme une simple manifestation du tournant libéral mais comme le produit historiquement d'une stratégie politique a priori improbable.

The clearest and most up-to-date account of the achievements—and setbacks—of the European Union since 1945. Europe has been transformed since the Second World War. No longer a checkerboard of entirely sovereign states, the continent has become the largest single-market area in the world, with most of its members ceding certain economic and political powers to the central government of the European Union. This shift is the product of world-historical change, but the process is not well understood. The changes came in fits and starts. There was no single blueprint for reform; rather, the EU is the result of endless political turmoil and dazzling bureaucratic gymnastics. As Brexit demonstrates, there are occasional steps backward, too. Cutting through the complexity, Richard Pomfret presents a uniquely clear and comprehensive analysis of an incredible achievement in economic cooperation. The Economic Integration of Europe follows all the major steps in the creation of the single market since the postwar establishment of the European Coal and Steel Community. Pomfret identifies four stages of development: the creation of a customs union, the deepening of economic union with the Single Market, the years of monetary union and eastward expansion, and, finally, problems of consolidation. Throughout, he details the economic benefits, costs, and controversies associated with each step in the evolution of the EU. What lies ahead? Pomfret concludes that, for all its problems, Europe has grown more prosperous from integration and is likely to increase its power on the global stage.

Le Droit du marché intérieur expose l’ensemble des règles européennes applicables en la matière : libre circulation des marchandises, des personnes, des services, des capitaux, directives de libération. À partir des sources jurisprudentielles, législatives et réglementaires, l’ouvrage permet au lecteur de comprendre des règles disparates et complexes et de prévoir leurs interactions et leur évolution.

Le droit matériel de l’Union européenne comporte toutes les règles de droit issues de l’Union européenne qui prescrivent, interdisent ou autorisent un certain comportement dans le but de réaliser les objectifs des Traité sur l’Union européenne et Traité sur le fonctionnement de l’Union européenne. Parmi les multiples objectifs que posent ces Traités fondateurs, l’établissement d’un marché intérieur reste toujours l’un des plus importants. Afin de pouvoir comprendre aujourd’hui l’intégration économique européenne, il est donc nécessaire de retracer les fondements juridiques gouvernant l’établissement d’un tel marché et limitant le pouvoir réglementaire des États membres.Ce manuel éclairera les normes et principes de base structurant ainsi que les techniques juridiques employées par les institutions européennes afin de maintenir et promouvoir la réalisation et le fonctionnement d’un marché intérieur européen. Soucieux du profond impact du droit du marché intérieur sur le droit des États membres, le manuel a également pour objectif de montrer dans quelle mesure le droit du marché intérieur intervient ou peut intervenir dans des litiges nationaux et comment des argumentations fondées sur le droit du marché intérieur peuvent être invoquées dans des dossiers spécifiques. Par le biais des schémas récapitulatifs et des tableaux algorithmiques résumant le raisonnement juridique particulier soutenant ce domaine du droit européen, le manuel offrira un état-de-lieux de la jurisprudence de la Cour de justice de l’Union européenne sur les libertés de circulation, des rapports entre cette jurisprudence et le droit dérivé européen, ainsi que des propositions faites pour améliorer le fonctionnement du marché intérieur.

Exposé des règles de droit commercial applicables au marché unique européen. Les principes directeurs sont illustrés d'exemples concrets tirés de la jurisprudence.

Law of the Internal Market provides a wide-ranging review of the European rules: free movement of goods, persons, services capital, liberalization directives. Extensively referencing case law and legislative and regulatory sources, Law of the Internal Market interprets the various complex rules for a better understanding of how they can interact and develop.

Christiane Heimann provides insights on how the economic and political situation in Spain, Germany and the UK affects the institutional implementation of free labour movement and how mobile EU citizens navigate the institutional policies strategically. The study examines different profiles of EU citizens exercising free labour movement and shows ways of EU labour recruitment and transnational labour integration taking into account the institutional implementation of related EU policies. Intra-Community mobility policies and practices will be assessed in terms of their effectiveness for international recruitment and labour integration.

The services sector is increasingly important for the euro area economy, but productivity growth in the sector has stalled over the past two decades. Remaining barriers to cross-border trade in services within the EU Single Market contribute to this weak performance. Our empirical analysis suggests that slow progress in tackling these barriers is associated with political economy factors such as weak government support in parliaments, low government efficiency and high markups. To remove the cross-border restrictions on services trade, we suggest combining incentives such as financial support, technical assistance and improved communication on barriers with more effective enforcement.

This collection marks the rich legacy of Professor Laurence W. Gormley's scholarship in the field of EU internal market law, providing a definitive critical appraisal of all the key aspects of the internal market, with an emphasis on goods and judicial protection; Professor Gormley's expert fields. Forty chapters deal with constitutional aspects of the EU internal market, the free movement of goods, persons and services, EMU, public procurement and competition law, institutional and procedural dimensions, and the EU's external relations, which includes matters relating to Brexit. The broad theme of the book, reflecting the many interests of Professor Gormley, will appeal to scholars, students and practicing lawyers. Dealing with both classic, foundational aspects of the EU internal market as well as highly topical matters, such as Brexit, this book will be a most welcome addition to every engaged legal scholar's library, thereby celebrating the legacy of a mentor and dear friend.

This edited volume brings together leading authors and actors in EU internal market law and policy, revisiting the classic themes in a contemporary context and considering (re-)directions for the future. The EU would not be where and what it is today without its internal market. It is the cradle of the EU's most important legal doctrines and the source of the most significant amount of European integration. And, as Brexit has underlined, it remains the primary political reason for EU membership. Considering the well-established and fundamental nature of internal market law, it is striking to find many crucial doctrinal questions still unanswered today, as explored by this book. Furthermore, these questions now find a new legal, social and political context: one that is acutely aware of the contested nature of the EU and its policies and the need to embed the internal market project in a broader setting of constitutional norms and values. This need is made all the more pressing by the rapidly changing and often disruptive technological context. The various contributions to this book contribute to finding a new direction for continued European integration in changing times, by rethinking, and where necessary reinventing, the role and purpose of this area that remains the EU's beating heart.

Exploring the importance of the EU Services Directive (Directive 2006/123), this book provides an expansive insight into the controversial legislation regulating the internal market in services, whilst examining the challenges of positive harmonisation. In addition, by analysing the functioning and judicial interpretation of the directive, it considers EU trade regulation values and the broader significance of EU regulation in global regulatory standard setting. The book analyses the directive's contribution to the fundamental freedoms and to the completion of the internal market, with particular focus on the remit of EU and national regulatory autonomy and general interests protection in the context of positive harmonisation. Through the lens of the directive, the study evaluates the status of EU integration and appraises the resilience of the internal market regulatory paradigm, including the interaction between primary and secondary law and the effectiveness of administrative law reinforcement, for the governance of the modern economy, as well as exploring more broadly the import and international influence of EU trade regulation. The book considers a variety of policy themes, including the relationship between national autonomy and supranational competence; the interaction of economic advancement and related general interests, such as environmental and consumer protection; market harmonisation techniques and enforcement challenges, along with potential mechanisms for regulatory enhancement. Discussing a central legal and economic framework for the regulation of trade in services, from regulatory, constitutional and policy perspectives, this book will be of significant interest to students, academics, practitioners and officials on European Union policy and law, as well as to anyone interested more generally in business regulation in evolving technological contexts, international trade law and comparative market integration themes.

East African Community Law provides a comprehensive and open-access text book on EAC law. Written by leading experts, including the president of the EACJ, national judges, academics and practitioners, it provides the most complete overview to date of this increasingly important field. Uniquely, the book also provides a systematic comparison with EU law. EU companion chapters provide concise overviews of EU law and its development, offering valuable inspiration for the application and further development of EAC law. The book has been written for all practitioners, judges, civil servants, academics and students faced with questions of EAC law. It discusses institutional, substantive and jurisdictional issues, including the nature of EAC law, free movement and competition law as well as the reception of EAC law in Partner States.

Behind the controversies that have marked the history of the idea of Economic Constitution emerges the highly political issue of the room for manoeuvre left to public authorities in the economic sphere. The notion thus encapsulates a fundamental tension: between democracy and rule of law, which model of legal ordering of the economy should prevail?From physiocrats to neo-liberals, from the Weimar Republic to European integration, from national constitutions to Global Governance, this collective book invites us to explore the genealogy of the controversial concept of Economic Constitution. The result of this interdisciplinary dialogue is a comprehensive reflection on the legal and political issues at stake in the current constitutionalization of the market order in Europe.Contributors are: Philippe Steiner, Guillaume Grégoire, Hugues Rabault, Peter C. Caldwell, Thomas Biebricher, Werner Bonefeld, Serge Audier, Vincent Valentin, Pieter van Cleynenbreugel, Xavier Miny, Frédéric Marty, Claire Mongouachon, Hans-Wolfgang Micklitz, Francesco Martucci, Michael Wilkinson, Hjalte Lokdam, Susanna Maria Cafaro, Peter Lindseth, Cristina Fasone, Pierre Nihoul, François Colly, Peter-Christian Müller-Graff, Tony Prosser, Damien Piron, Mahmoud Mohamed Salah, Stephen Gill, Thibault Biscahie, Sebastien Adalid, and Christian Joerges. Derrière les controverses qui jalonnent l'histoire de l'idée de Constitution économique émerge la question éminemment politique de la marge de manoeuvre laissée aux autorités publiques dans la sphère économique. La notion cristallise ainsi une tension fondamentale : entre démocratie et État de droit, quel doit être modèle d'organisation et d'ordonnancement juridique de l'économie?Des physiocrates aux néolibéraux, de la République de Weimar à l'intégration européenne, des constitutions nationales à la Global Governance, cet ouvrage collectif nous invite dès lors à explorer la généalogie du concept polémique de Constitution économique. Les auteurs ouvrent alors, à travers un dialogue interdisciplinaire constant, une réflexion globale autour des enjeux juridiques et politiques du processus actuel de constitutionnalisation de l'ordre de marché en Europe.

Far from displaying a uniform pattern, European integration varies significantly across policy areas and individual countries. Why do some member states choose to opt out of specific EU policies? Why are some policies deeply integrated whereas others remain intergovernmental? In this updated second edition, the authors introduce the most important theoretical approaches to European integration and apply these to the trajectories of key EU policy areas. Arguing that no single theory offers a completely convincing explanation of integration and differentiation in the EU, this thought-provoking book provides a new synthesis of integration theory and an original way of thinking about what the EU is and how it works.