Selected Online Reading on Food Safety

Food Safety Management: A Practical Guide for the Food Industry, Second Edition continues to present a comprehensive, integrated and practical approach to the management of food safety throughout the production chain. While many books address specific aspects of food safety, no other book guides you through the various risks associated with each sector of the production process or alerts you to the measures needed to mitigate those risks. This new edition provides practical examples of incidents and their root causes, highlighting pitfalls in food safety management and providing key insights into different means for avoiding them. Each section addresses its subject in terms of relevance and application to food safety and, where applicable, spoilage. The book covers all types of risks (e.g., microbial, chemical, physical) associated with each step of the food chain, making it an ideal resource. Addresses risks and controls at various stages of the food supply chain based on food type, including a generic HACCP study and new information on FSMA Covers the latest emerging technologies for ensuring food safety Includes observations on what works and what doesn't on issues in food safety management Provides practical guidelines for the implementation of elements of the food safety assurance system Explains the role of different stakeholders of the food supply

This book provides insights on regulatory effectiveness in the field of food safety, by focusing on the variety of institutional factors affecting regulatory outcomes. Drawing upon the Institutional Analysis and Development framework, it investigates differences in effectiveness of food safety regulation and explains them by differences in domestic governance designs, by applying Qualitative Comparative Analysis. The empirical focus of the book is the food safety governance designs of 15 EU Member States, which are investigated through the collection of an original dataset inclusive of measures of independence and accountability of the domestic food safety agencies, of policy capacity and of food safety delivered. The results show the prominent role of the institutional dimension of policy capacity in producing regulatory effectiveness, in conjunction with an integrated model of distribution of the regulatory tasks. As to ineffective governance, the conjunction of low independence or low accountability with low institutional capacity produce ineffective responses.

Recent advances in agri-food technology have brought increasing complexity and emerging challenges to food safety regulation and governance, with many countries greatly divided in their regulatory approaches. As more advanced CRISPR-based gene-editing technologies and novel foods such as cloned animal products, non-traditional plants, nanofood, and plant-based meat are rapidly being developed, debates arise as to whether the existing models of governance require revision to ensure consumer safety. Of equal importance is the extensive use of pesticides, additives, and animal drugs, which raise concerns over the methods and approaches of government approval and phasing out of potentially risk-causing chemicals. Heightened public criticism of food safety and technology poses a signifi cant challenge to governments around the world, which struggle to strike a proper balance between technocracy- and democracy-oriented risk governance models. Drawing on expertise from the United States, European Union, Japan, China, Korea, Association of South East Asian Nations, Malaysia, and Taiwan, this book explores existing and emerging issues of food law and policy in the context of technology governance to offer an overarching framework for the interaction between food regulation and technology. It will be essential reading for academics, students, and practitioners with an interest in food law and policy, agricultural law and policy, and food safety and nutrition studies.

Present Knowledge in Food Safety: A Risk-Based Approach Through the Food Chain presents approaches for exposure-led risk assessment and the management of changes in the chemical, pathogenic microbiological and physical (radioactivity) contamination of 'food' at all key stages of production, from farm to consumption. This single volume resource introduces scientific advances at all stages of the production to improve reliability, predictability and relevance of food safety assessments for the protection of public health. This book is aimed at a diverse audience, including graduate and post-graduate students in food science, toxicology, microbiology, medicine, public health, and related fields. The book's reach also includes government agencies, industrial scientists, and policymakers involved in food risk analysis. Includes new technologies such as nanotechnology, genetic modification, and cloning Provides information on advances in pathogen risk assessment through novel and real-time molecular biological techniques, biomarkers, resistance measurement, and cell-to-cell communication in the gut Covers the role of the microbiome and the use of surrogates (especially for viruses)

Food Safety: Past, Present, and Predictions offers a multidisciplinary approach on major food industry regulatory compliance changes that have emerged since the landmark 1993 E.coli outbreak. The book is broad in coverage, providing a look back at 25 years of change in order to better conceptualize the future of effective and sustainable food safety compliance efforts and technologies. Historical case studies and technological developments are written by experts and those who played key roles in events. Topics are explained in a way that not only helps improve industry and consumer awareness, but also offers tools to improve education and communication.

Despite advances in hygiene, food treatment, and food processing, diseases caused by foodborne pathogens continue to constitute a worldwide public health concern. Ensuring food safety to protect public health remains a significant challenge in both developing and developed nations. Food Safety and Human Health provides a framework to manage food safety risks and assure a safe food system. Political, economic, and ecological changes have led to the re-emergence of many foodborne pathogens. The globalization of food markets, for example, has increased the challenge to manage the microbial risks. This reference will help to identify potential new approaches in the development of new microbiologically safe foods that will aid in preventing food borne illness outbreaks and provides the basic principles of food toxicology, food processing, and food safety. Food Safety and Human Health is an essential resource to help students, researchers, and industry professionals understand and address day-to-day problems regarding food contamination and safety.

Safety and Practice for Organic Food covers current food safety issues and trends. It provides detailed information on all organic and pasture practices including produce-only, farm-animal-only or integrated crop-livestock farming, as well as the impact of these practices on food safety and foodborne infections. The book explores food products that organic, integrated and traditional farming systems are contributing to consumers. As the demand for organic food products grows faster than ever, this book discusses current and improved practices for safer products. Moreover, the book explores progressive directions, such as the application of next-generation sequencing and genomics to aid in the understanding of the microbial ecology of the agro-environment and how farmer education can contribute to sustainable and safe food. Safety and Practice for Organic Food is a unique source of organic agricultural practices and food production for researchers, academics and professionals at agriculture-based universities and colleges who are involved in food science, animal sciences including poultry science, food safety, food microbiology, plant science and agricultural extension. This book is also an excellent source of information for regulators and federal government officials (USDA, FDA, EPA) and the food processing industry.

The average consumer often ignores the conditions their food is grown or raised in. Generally, it is only when a deadly outbreak of foodborne illness occurs that people scrutinize the food industry and food safety regulations. Illuminating text, augmented with informative charts and detailed fact boxes, provides a comprehensive guide to the history of food safety laws in the United States. Readers learn about major foodborne diseases and what causes them, as well as what is being done to stop those diseases from spreading. Annotated quotes from experts and full-color photographs enhance this essential reading experience.

Globally, there are many safety concerns emanating from the consumption of food, and are categorized as physical, biological and chemical hazards. This volume explores a number of safety issues pertaining to foods consumed across the globe today. It represents a useful resource for researchers, food handlers and legislative bodies as it presents key findings in the area of food safety, and details the findings of a number of scientific research studies conducted through surveys, laboratory analysis and environmental assessments. The findings indicate the presence of eminent food safety threats along the food chain, ranging from pathogens, pesticide, and antibiotic residues, to heavy metals, food additives, aflatoxins, and allergens, among others. Food handling practices along the food chain and the importance of adhering to good agricultural and manufacturing practices are shown to play a crucial role in ensuring safe foods.