Geopolitics of Energy Security in Europe

This book explores the role which policy networks and particularly advocacy coalitions play in EU energy policy, and the factors that account for their policy success. It captures the often neglected interaction between public and private actors in EU energy security policy and between opposing advocacy coalitions. The volume’s case studies examine coalitions working on two issues central to EU energy policy debates over the last decade: fracking for shale gas and developing the Southern Gas Corridor, a pipeline system linking Europe with the gas region of the Caspian Sea. Although the coalitions studied are focused on impacting EU energy policy, they stretch beyond the EU borders. The book draws on original, rich, and intriguing data, around 90 interviews with energy stakeholders and over six months of fieldwork and participant observation, analysed through an innovative combination of frame analysis and social network analysis. Alexandra-Maria Bocse is a researcher at the London School of Economics and Political Science, UK. She received a PhD in Politics and International Studies from the University of Cambridge and was a Fulbright-Schuman Fellow at Harvard University. Her research, analysis and teaching interests are related to European affairs, environmental governance and international energy politics and policy.

This Handbook provides the most comprehensive account of energy governance in Europe, examining both energy governance at the European level and the development of energy policy in all European countries. Authored by leading scholars from around the globe, the first part of the book offers a broad overview of the history and theories of energy research and covers a wide range of topics, including the global framework of energy governance, strategies and norms of energy policy, and the policy instruments in the field. Furthermore, it examines the internal and external dimensions of energy governance in the European Union. The second part presents in-depth country studies, which investigate national trajectories of energy policy, including an analysis of the policy instruments and coordination mechanisms for energy transformations. This book is a definitive resource for scholars in energy research as well as decision makers in national governments and EU institutions.

Das Studienbuch ist das erste Lehrbuch zum gesamten europaischen Energierecht. Um das Energierecht in seiner Breite zu erfassen, ist es unabdingbar, die europäischen und internationalen Rahmenbedingungen zu kennen. Diese Kenntnis ist Voraussetzung fur eine erfolgreiche Tatigkeit in Energiewirtschaft, Politik, Verwaltung und Verbanden. Nicht zuletzt ist sie auch Basis fur ein Verständnis der Energiewende in Deutschland und Europa. Das Studienbuch erlautert privat- und öffentlich-rechtliche Aspekte des Energiewirtschafts- und Energieumweltrechts. Ausgehend vom Energiebinnenmarkt werden aktuelle energierechtliche und regulatorische Fragen von der Energieunion bis zur Globalisierung des Energiehandels behandelt. Zahlreiche Beispiele und Wiederholungsfragen erleichtern das Verständnis.

"Although technological innovation is undoubtedly crucial for addressing climate change, low-carbon innovation policies and politics have hardly been studied. This book clearly reveals the promises and pitfalls of European efforts in this field - recommended reading!" --Sebastian Oberthür, Institute for European Studies, Belguim "This compact volume effectively addresses a surprisingly unknown territory in an otherwise well-explored landscape. In doing so, it will provide a useful resource to all who follow the uneven progress of climate and energy policy in the EU context, as well as those who are interested in policies to stimulate technology development more broadly." --Tim Rayner, Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research, University of East Anglia, UK The EU Strategic Energy Technology Plan (SET-Plan) was aimed at accelerating low-carbon innovation by raising, coordinating and concentrating resources to certain low-carbon technologies. At the ten-year anniversary of the SET-Plan, this book examines why it was adopted and what it has achieved. Using an analytical framework developed to capture the 'politics of innovation', the authors trace the history of the Plan from initiation to implementation, and then explain its development as seen from the perspectives of the EU institutions, member-states, industry, the research community and international technology markets. The concluding chapter discusses lessons and prospects for European low-carbon innovation towards 2030 and beyond. This new work fills a void in the literature on EU climate and energy policies, and will appeal to scholars, students and practitioners in these fields.

This book investigates how the EU member states' domestic energy policies have transformed in the last two decades as a consequence of horizontal and vertical integration forces. Integration is a dynamic process where member states adopt community rules, norms, and values, and meanwhile, learn from each other's experiences. Today, Europe experiences an energy transition from fossil-fuels to cleaner sources of energy and European policy makers are committed to taking this significant step forward. Domestic structural change is, thus, observed in all member states' environmental and energy policies. This book presents an overview of the EU norms, legislation, and policy standards for renewable energies and analyses how member states transpose them into their domestic structure. The book also analyses the policy outcomes in the EU member states in a comparative perspective by using the most recent statistical data. This comparative analysis gives insight to investors and developers to decide on investment projects and/or manufacturing of renewable energy devices to these countries. It also provides a useful reference for policy makers, academics, students, and NGOs who need a quick overview of relevant national and EU legislation, policy standards, and policy outcomes.

Since the beginning of the 1990s, Europe has been struggling to establish a competitive as well as a fully integrated internal energy market. Until the early 1990s, the European energy markets consisted of national monopolies possessing vertically integrated structures. They were also still nationally segregated. Since, the EU has made the decision to open European energy markets to competition and subsequently establish an internal energy market. The European energy markets are currently controlled by a dual structure consisting of two different regulatory frameworks: Competition Law and Sector-Specific Regulations. The primary goal of these legal instruments is the establishment of an internal energy market. This book aims at analysing the development of the European energy markets and policies from the perspective of competition law as well as sector-specific regulations and, hence, identifying the problems regarding the introduction of competition into the energy markets.

This book deals with the European Union energy law. It contains an introduction (terms, overview), the market system for electricity and gas (e.g. equal treatment, network access), the regulatory institutions (ACER, requirements for the national regulatory authorities) and the European coordination institutions (ENTSO for Electricity etc). A separate chapter is dedicated to the security of supply for electricity and gas (risk-preparedness plan [electricity], emergency plan and solidarity principle [gas]). In addition the book deals with renewable energies, energy efficiency, storage, decentralisation (energy communities) and digitalisation (Smart Meters). It closes with the chapter "Energy System of the Future" (Green Smart Grid).

An increase in the global demand for energy, combined with an increase in the price of energy and energy products, has advanced the growing interest in renewable energy technologies and the wide implementation of renewable energy sources (RES). Member States of the European Union have been global leaders in the use of renewable energy and in the transition to new technologies. Management of Civic Energy and the Green Transformation: A Case Study of Poland examines the current issues of transitioning from traditional energy sources to newer, renewable energy sources, while balancing supplies, and working synergistically with existing, conventional sources. Features: Offers a balanced blend of theory and practice of development economics for renewable energy implementation Presents a case study of how Poland is working towards their energy transition, and provides other examples and recent statistical data from other European Union countries Analyses the legal and systemic conditions supporting the development of renewable energy systems and offers direction on the potential for the green development of the civic energy sector

The purpose of this book is twofold. First, it aims to explain the general framework for cooperation in the energy sector in Europe, with a conceptual basis that allows for a better understanding of the dynamics that led to its existence. Second, the volume deals with Romania both as a representative case for the region, given the commonalities raised by the transition process in the last three decades, and also as a country with a specific energy agenda, with implications for internal and foreign policy that can only be perceived and understood in the Romanian context.

This book provides a comprehensive overview of the energy policies in the European Union and Japan in terms of electricity markets and climate action, including energy efficiency, renewable energy sources, and the reduction of emissions. The book evaluates and compares the regulatory frameworks for achieving energy transitions by answering a number of questions focused on the essence and range of the regulatory models used by leading global economies which herald carbon neutrality by 2050. The book provides a useful framework that systematises Japanese and European energy policies and legislation including electricity-related policies, plans, and programmes. Discussing these issues in relation to the European and Japanese 2050 energy transition the author delves into the four pillars of the transition: market reform, reduction of emissions, promotion of renewables, and enhancing energy efficiency. Each chapter demonstrates the timing of the actions undertaken both in Europe and Japan; analyses the character of the conducted actions, evaluates the stakeholders of the realised agenda; and presents the technologies involved in the energy transition.

This handbook offers a comprehensive transdisciplinary examination of the research and practices that constitute the emerging research agenda in energy democracy. With protests over fossil fuels and controversies over nuclear and renewable energy technologies, democratic ideals have contributed to an emerging social movement. Energy democracy captures this movement and addresses the issues of energy access, ownership, and participation at a time when there are expanding social, political, environmental, and economic demands on energy systems. This volume defines energy democracy as both a social movement and an academic area of study and examines it through a social science and humanities lens, explaining key concepts and reflecting state-of-the-art research. The collection is comprised of six parts: 1 Scalar Dimensions of Power and Governance in Energy Democracy 2 Discourses of Energy Democracy 3 Grassroots and Critical Modes of Action 4 Democratic and Participatory Principles 5 Energy Resource Tensions 6 Energy Democracies in Practice The vision of this handbook is explicitly transdisciplinary and global, including contributions from interdisciplinary international scholars and practitioners. The Routledge Handbook of Energy Democracy will be the premier source for all students and researchers interested in the field of energy, including policy, politics, transitions, access, justice, and public participation.

This book explores the issue of energy poverty in post-communist Europe and shows how it is viewed and addressed through public policies. Energy poverty is severely affecting many parts of the European Union, but up until now only a few comparative analyses have been developed to understand the phenomenon and its diversity throughout the region. Filling this gap, this volume focuses specifically on the Eastern European region, drawing on contributions that cover a wide range of countries including Germany, Hungary, Poland, and Romania. This region has undergone significant transitions over the past three decades, but, as the contributions demonstrate, it still faces major challenges to providing clean and affordable energy to its citizens and renovating existing housing stock. The chapters explore the extent of energy poverty in each country and examine the drivers, while casting light on how policy-makers tackle the issue through a critical examination of the instruments implemented to help energy poor people. This book will be of great interest to researchers in the fields of energy policy and comparative politics, to policy-makers in post-communist countries and EU institutions, and also to other relevant actors, such as companies and NGOs who focus on issues of energy poverty. This book is based upon work from EU COST Action 'European Energy Poverty: Agenda Co-Creation and Knowledge Innovation' (ENGAGER 2017-2021, CA16232) supported by COST (European Cooperation in Science and Technology -- www.cost.eu).

This book will show that when some countries begin using oil and gas as an instrument of exerting pressure and to realize political goals, energy security becomes synonymous with national security as well as economic security. It is within this context that the Nordic countries serve as role models and an exemplification of modern, innovative and ecofriendly solutions. This book highlights that the Nordic countries represent a very broad spectrum of competencies and techniques in the field of making use of various energy sources, which basically exhausts all the possible and currently available possibilities. 

This book is an approach, in the wider theoretical considerations on scientific research and study, of issues relating to energy resources and energy security and, at the same time, it is a case study on Eastern Mediterranean energy security. The Mediterranean has been known since ancient times as a large semi-enclosed sea, surrounded by more than two states as it lies between three continents: Europe, Asia and Africa. However, developments in the 21st century have necessitated viewing it conceptually as a distinct "new" region with specific characteristics. Comprised by Cyprus, Egypt, Greece, Israel, Lebanon, Libya, Syria, Turkey, Italy the region is assuming increased significance in world affairs. More specifically, the region of the Eastern Mediterranean is currently of vital importance for the EU, due to several prospects and challenges, such as migration flows, energy, security and sustainability of the region. The individual objectives are the recognition of energy actions and resources, forms of energy, energy security and in general, all actions at the energy level mentioned in the specific area. Research this study will focus on the qualitative method to the subject. The structure of the present study was developed as follows: The Preface provides a general presentation of the topic. The first chapter presents an overview of eastern Mediterranean and energy issues. The second chapter reports on energy resources and it focuses on energy security and its basic principles. The third chapter is about energy and security. The fourth Chapter offers discussion on European Union's energy policy development and on the EU interests, strategy and policy regarding the Eastern Mediterranean region. The fifth chapter presents the changes in the East Mediterranean energy map and data on geopolitical chessboard. The last chapter presents the conclusions. A useful tool in completing this study was the understanding of the delicate ethnocultural and religious synthesis of the region, the current challenges and underlying controversies, considering the interlinked nature of interests and the importance of cross-border affiliations. All the findings of the study demonstrate certain dimensions of a reality, which are expected to be dynamic, creating risk but also future opportunities. The main finding of the study points out not only the strong correlation between energy, power, economics and politics but also the increased dependence of the latter two on the former, thus creating a hotbed of tensions, rivalries, and conflicts every time the existing relationship between economy and energy are destabilized. The shifting to energy sources, which are safe and eco-friendly, is a one-way process, the only means of survival and safe development for humanity. Generating energy based on economic, safe, cost-efficient and renewable criteria is the current ecological and technological challenge if, firstly, the vast interests in the energy sector are dealt with successfully. Finally, this book will be of key interest to scholars and students, for researchers in the fields of Energy Economics, Policy, and Security, Energy Law, Business, Regulation and Policy, Geopolitics, who aim to have a better understanding of the current trends or research in the relevant fields, for professionals in EU politics and foreign policy, energy policy and security, and more broadly to security studies, European politics and international relations and newcomers in the profession of energy security, and for policymakers who intend to apply the collective knowledge included into this volume into policy and decision -making.

Capacity remuneration mechanisms (or simply capacity mechanisms) have become a fact of life in member states' energy markets and are one of the hottest topics in the wider European regulatory debate. Concerned about the security of electricity supply, national governments are implementingsubsidy schemes to encourage investment in conventional power generation capacity, alongside already heavily subsidized renewable energy sources. With the increasingly connected European electricity markets, the introduction of a capacity mechanism in one country not only tends to distort itsnational market but may also have unforeseeable consequences for neighbouring electricity markets. As these mechanisms are adopted by member states with limited supra-national coordination as well as consideration for the cross-border impact, they tend to cause serious market distortions and put thefuture of the European internal electricity market at risk.This second edition will take stock of how capacity mechanisms have actually worked so far and consider the consequences they have for the European internal electricity market. It will include a detailed overview of national capacity mechanisms, their implications for the EU internal market, andwill outline the nature of market failures which are likely to occur in the European electricity markets. This edition is intended to serve as a point of reference for regulators and policy-makers on how to design optimal capacity mechanisms in Europe. It will be an invaluable resource for anyoneinterested in energy market design, regulation, and competition issues.

This book offers an overarching view of the underlying challenges that the energy transitions pose to interstate energy relations. Geopolitics of energy currently epitomizes one of the principal sources for geopolitical vicissitudes affecting global energy landscapes. The ever-changing global energy architecture, global decarbonization plans and low-carbon technology developments are having deep geopolitical consequences. The extensive and rapid adjustment towards low-carbon energy is unsettling the conventional transnational energy structures, affecting economies and altering energy interstate relations. The geopolitics of the energy transitions is a field in the making, hence the existent academic literature is scarce and limited in scope. Current debates on decarbonization tend to mimic the geopolitics of oil and gas when discussing the stakeholders involved in the energy transitions. Besides, energy transitions tend to be studied at the national level overlooking the interactions at regional and global scales. Most research on the geopolitics of the energy transitions to date has mainly focused on the path to achieve the transitions to low carbon energy systems, and less on the global dynamics and the impacts of those transitions to inter-state relations and energy security. The fundamental question that needs dwelling is: How, and to what extent, will the multiple dimensions of the ongoing energy transitions affect existing fundamental geopolitical issues, and what new dynamics may result from the decarbonization process of the planet? The reasons to organize this publication are many, but among them stand one, which is functioning as the driving force behind this project: to contribute to a broader discussion on the ways in which energy transitions and geopolitics intersect.

This volume examines the role of Russia in the world under President Putin's rule. When the Soviet Union disintegrated after the Cold War, Russia seemingly embarked on the establishment of a democratic political system and seemed intent on joining the liberal international order. However, under President Putin's rule, there have been dramatic shifts in Russian domestic and foreign policies, in order to re-establish itself as a great power. This book examines broad aspects of Russian political culture and threat perception, such as Russia's reaction to NATO expansion; its information warfare and energy policies; and its policy towards the Global South, especially the Middle East and Africa. The objective of the analyses is to explain the factors that influence Russian foreign policy, and to show how and why Russian relations with the European Union and the United States have deteriorated so rapidly in recent years. The volume introduces an alternative approach to the standard realist perspective, which often underlies existing analyses of Russian policy - namely, the work offers a theoretical perspective that focuses on the Russian sense of identity and on ontological security. This book will be of much interest to students of Russian foreign policy, security studies, and International Relations.

Russia’s use of its vast energy resources for leverage against post-Soviet states such as Ukraine is widely recognized as a threat. Yet we cannot understand this danger without also understanding the opportunity that Russian energy represents. From corruption-related profits to transportation-fee income to subsidized prices, many within these states have benefited by participating in Russian energy exports. To understand Russian energy power in the region, it is necessary to look at the entire value chain—including production, processing, transportation, and marketing—and at the full spectrum of domestic and external actors involved, from Gazprom to regional oligarchs to European Union regulators. This book follows Russia’s three largest fossil-fuel exports—natural gas, oil, and coal—from production in Siberia through transportation via Ukraine to final use in Germany in order to understand the tension between energy as threat and as opportunity. Margarita M. Balmaceda reveals how this dynamic has been a key driver of political development in post-Soviet states in the period between independence in 1991 and Russia’s annexation of Crimea in 2014. She analyzes how the physical characteristics of different types of energy, by shaping how they can be transported, distributed, and even stolen, affect how each is used—not only technically but also politically. Both a geopolitical travelogue of the journey of three fossil fuels across continents and an incisive analysis of technology’s role in fossil-fuel politics and economics, this book offers new ways of thinking about energy in Eurasia and beyond.

This book presents a cutting-edge analysis of the economic effects and challenges of Russia's invasion of Ukraine, with a special focus on EU sanctions on Russian energy and Ukraine's political relationship with the European Union in a global context. Welfens outlines key macroeconomic perspectives on the ongoing conflict between Russia and Ukraine, highlighting in particular how sanctions posed by the international community will have a wider economic impact than what has so far been envisaged. The book discusses the effects of Russian gas supply boycotts against Western countries as well as global effects of an EU energy import boycott on Russia, especially for China and the Asian continent. An innovative proposal to cut electricity prices is presented. It also explores the challenges to relations between the EU, China and Russia caused by the invasion, the effects of the unfolding refugee crisis (within a post-Brexit EU), military and humanitarian aid pledges to Ukraine, and the risks of reduced multilateralism within the world economy as a direct result of the war. The book also analyses the risks and benefits of potential enlargement of the EU to integrate Ukraine as a member state. The topics covered by the book are all set within a long-run view of diplomatic and economic relations between the West, Russia and Ukraine. The factors analysed here provide a new, broader picture of the international effects of the conflict, as well as its potential implications for policy design as we enter a new global order marked by the Russo-Ukrainian war. The book will be of interest to researchers and policy-makers working in international economics, new political economy, European politics and integration, and macroeconomics more broadly.

Das Buch analysiert umfangreiche Literatur zum Konflikt um die Erdgaspipeline Nord Stream 2 und zeigt auf, dass praktisch alle geführten Argumente innerhalb weniger Jahre nach Baubeginn obsolet wurden. Das Festhalten an den Argumenten auch nach Entfall ihrer Gültigkeit zeigt, dass eher die erhoffte Wirkung (pro oder contra) als die Argumente selbst für die Akteure ausschlaggebend sind. Nach einem Überblick über die Rahmenbedingungen werden die Argumente pro und contra Nord Stream 2 besprochen, gegliedert nach den Dimensionen des erweiterten Zieldreiecks der Energiepolitik, also Bezahlbarkeit im Wechselspiel von Angebot und Nachfrage, Umweltschutz, Versorgungssicherheit sowie neu einer außenpolitischen Dimension. Als extrem schwierig zeigt sich die Abschätzung von Angebot und Nachfrage, angesichts der Schiefergas-Revolution, dem drastischen Rückgang der eigenen Förderung und der laufenden Dekarbonisierung der EU. Den eigentlichen ,,Game-Changer" bildet indes die Einrichtung des EU-Binnenmarktes für Erdgas sowie die Wirksamkeit der damit verbundenen Maßnahmen, was die einseitige Abhängigkeit drastisch verringert. Die umweltpolitische Diskussion übersieht vielfach den Vorteil von Erdgas wegen der schadstoffärmeren Verbrennung, v.a. aber die Gefahren durch Leckagen (80-fach höhere Klimawirksamkeit gegenüber CO2). Die submarine Nord Stream 2 ist hier unbedenklich, anders als viele russischen Zuläufe, dem maroden ukrainischen Korridor, und dem Flüssiggas aus unkonventionellen Förderungen der USA. Das Buch schließt mit einer Diskussion der Faktoren und von geostrategischen Aspekten.

As the EU's relations with Russia remain at an all-time low and continue to be in a state of paralysis, marked by de-institutionalisation, inertia and estrangement, the EU's policy towards Russia seems up for review. By taking stock of the implementation of the EU's Global Strategy and the five principles that are guiding EU-Russia relations, this volume provides a forward-looking angle and contributes to a better understanding of the current EU-Russia relationship and the prospects for overcoming the existing deadlock. By bringing together European and Russian scholars and adopting an interdisciplinary perspective that combines insights from EU studies, international relations, and European and international law, the book provides a comprehensive and holistic view on the state of affairs in EU-Russia relations.
From the table of contents: 11 The EU's Energy Relationship with Russia Between Resilience and Engagement -- Marco Siddi --

This book analyses the key political challenges to regional energy cooperation in South Asia. It argues that investment in the planning of regional energy projects can increase their viability and also drive integration and peacebuilding. Regional cooperation has been substantiated by academics and multilateral development banks as one of the most viable solutions to South Asia's crippling energy crisis. However, three decades of national and regional efforts have failed to develop a single multilateral energy project or foster high levels of bilateral cooperation. Using data collected through extensive interviews with policymakers in India, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Nepal, this book identifies the specific roadblocks to energy cooperation - including domestic politics and the failure of leadership on multiple levels - and evaluates how these political challenges determine regional interactions on energy securitisation, environmental cooperation and human rights. Huda then undertakes case studies on four transnational energy projects to highlight specific policy recommendations to overcome these challenges, suggesting planning mechanisms through which the significant issue of energy cooperation in South Asia can be addressed. This book will be of great interest to students and scholars of energy security and geopolitics, natural resource governance and South Asian politics.

This timely book examines the Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), assessing its effect on the international economic order and global governance more broadly. Through a variety of qualitative case studies the book investigates the implementation of the BRI and evaluates its development outcomes both for China and the countries it interacts with under the initiative, along with its international implications. Chapters discuss as-yet-unexplored cases from the ground in brand new studies based on fieldwork by leading academics, as well as providing alternative readings of the rationale behind the BRI. Questions about connectivity and the financial implications of Chinese investments are addressed, taking a balanced approach that demonstrates the complexity and nuance of these issues, and the far-from-linear impact that the BRI is having on global governance. This incisive book will be critical reading for scholars and policy makers working on China and global governance. It will also provide useful insights for officials and practitioners working in BRI countries and international institutions, think-tanks and NGOs. Contributors include:M.A. Carrai, J.-C. Defraigne, J.-F. Di Meglio, D. Freeman, F. Godement, A. Halegua, N. Kassenova, C.-C. Kuik, C. Ljungwall, S. Nanwani, T. Pairault, U. Wissenbach, J. Wouter

This book analyzes energy security through the lens of oil and natural gas and explains how geopolitics and security challenges affect India's quest for energy security. It also offers insights into India's international trade and investment in the overseas oil and natural gas markets and discusses shale energy, adopting region-specific (Africa, West Asia, Central Asia, and LAC), country-specific (Russia and the US), maritime-specific (Arctic and South China Sea), and pipeline-specific (TAPI, MBI, IPI, and RCI) approaches to analyze India's oil and natural gas trade and investment abroad. The introductory chapter examines energy perspectives in international relations and conceptualizes energy geopolitics and energy security from both international and Indian standpoints. The book also highlights the similarities and differences in the issues involved in the global oil and natural gas market, and India's approach to these, offering a roadmap for holistic and integrated energy security through oil and natural gas. Since India's energy trade and investment in the international oil and natural gas market are not free from the effects of political instability, corruption, environment crisis, militancy, terrorism, war, and geopolitical involvement and interference, the book investigates the nature and extent of the security threats and competition India faces in the oil and natural gas-producing countries while pursuing its trade and investments there. As major sources of energy, oil and natural gas are strategic assets, and energy security is one of the core areas of India's foreign policy pursuits. As such, the chapters critically assess India's energy policy and resource diplomacy, providing analyses of the issues raised, identifying the central arguments and presenting existing cooperations - with past examples where necessary. The book appeals to scholars and policymakers active in the fields of energy, political science, international relations, economics, foreign policy, peace and conflict, security and geopolitics, as well as non-experts interested in this topic.  

This open access book offers a holistic and interdisciplinary analysis of the energy sector in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region and its ongoing transformation. Taking into account global decarbonization policies, it offers a comprehensive overview of the transition's effects in the region highlighting socioeconomic, geopolitical and cultural aspects. The book is divided into four parts, the first of which illustrates the historical, cultural and socioeconomic heterogeneity of the MENA region. The second part assesses the region's energy sector, with a special focus on the energy mix and consumption evolution at the national level. The third part addresses the geopolitics and geoeconomics of the energy sector in MENA countries, including foreign interference, conflicts, investments and partnerships both related to hydrocarbons and energy transition. Lastly, the fourth part provides overall conclusions and key takeaways on all major aspects addressed by the book, highlighting various paths and strategies for decarbonization in the region.

L’énergie se prête bien à l’analyse géopolitique, conçue comme l’étude des relations entre pouvoirs et territoires. Rien n’est possible dans le monde sans recours à l’énergie, et les rivalités et conflits que son exploitation toujours croissante suscitent sont omniprésents à toutes les échelles de l’analyse géographique, de l’international au local. Cet ouvrage s’intéresse aux effets de la transition énergétique et écologique en cours sur la transformation de ces rapports de forces, mais également sur les reconfigurations des échanges internationaux et de la coopération interétatique. Les alternatives aux hydrocarbures s’élaborent depuis les années 1970, mais la révolution actuelle des pétroles et gaz de schiste bouleverse en profondeur la question des énergies sous un angle géoéconomique, géopolitique et environnemental.
Ainsi, à l’ère de l’économie numérique et des territoires « virtuels », la matérialité des énergies nous ramène à l’essentiel, c’est-à-dire les pieds sur terre, au cœur d’un « grand jeu » sans cesse réinventé au sein duquel les États font leur retour après des décennies de déréglementation.

This book will show that when some countries begin using oil and gas as an instrument of exerting pressure and to realize political goals, energy security becomes synonymous with national security as well as economic security. It is within this context that the Nordic countries serve as role models and an exemplification of modern, innovative and ecofriendly solutions. This book highlights that the Nordic countries represent a very broad spectrum of competencies and techniques in the field of making use of various energy sources, which basically exhausts all the possible and currently available possibilities. 

Gas makes or breaks economies, as shown by the effects of the 2009 Ukraine/Russia gas supply crisis. Joshua Posaner looks at four case study countries in Central and Eastern Europe. He examines the interdependence between the domestic political structure of a gas import-dependent country and the price it paid for imports up to 2014, using the level of reliance on the dominant supplier as an indicator. The more dependent a country is on a single supplier, the more it pays for its supplies. The author aims to explain why capitals prioritize energy security and balance their import portfolios differently, while taking a new angle on the European gas system. He offers a timely investigation into an oft-reported subject, with Russia's perceived "energy weapon" and themes of "energy dependence" weighing heavily on European political discourse.

This book provides an in-depth assessment of the modern geopolitics of hydrocarbon resources in the territorial waters of the Eastern Mediterranean, highlighting the current conflicts and disputes in the maritime territories of Egypt, Israel, Lebanon, Cyprus, and Turkey. Further, these geopolitical aspects are analyzed within the broader context of the tensions between and competing interests of big powers such as the USA, Russia, and the European Union. To what extent can major powers influence regional actors and guide them toward rational outcomes? To what extent can economic self-interest contain nationalistic impulses? What are the most practical and sustainable ways of promoting win-win scenarios? This book focuses on such questions and presents a number of clear policy guidelines to help the conflict-laden Eastern Mediterranean region gain a more peaceful and sustainable footing for the greater benefit of the peoples living there.

The principle of permanent sovereignty over natural resources was originally intended to protect economic independence and development of resource-rich countries. Now, it is heading towards fair and equitable distribution of resources. The complex of regimes for global governance of oil and gas resources includes trade, investment protection, maritime areas, environmental issues, transparency and accountability of oil and gas sector, human rights and protection of local communities. Despite the fact that it is national states who are traditionally perceived to be central actors in the governance of natural resources, the issue is currently the object of multidimensional global interest. The key to sustainable development in this area is intersectoral and transnational cooperation.

This book investigates the overall natural gas reform performance of Turkey, addressing both shortfalls and setbacks that have prevented Turkey from the fulfillment of the regulatory implementation since 2001, and how the prospectively liberalised natural gas market can effectively operate at all levels. Although eighteen years have passed since the introduction of the first legislation as a basis for a more liberalised Turkish natural gas market, the completion of the reform process still suffers from a lack of enforcement. The book offers recommendations to address this, the main one being that policy makers should give due consideration to the consolidation of EMRA's independent role with appropriate safeguards laid out to prevent attempts of regulatory misuse. The book concludes by suggesting that there is a compelling need to move forward with a consolidated reform sooner rather than later if Turkey genuinely wishes to take a leadership position in the race to become an efficient gas hub and be part of Europe's single energy market.