Global Food Security

As the world population increases, food security is a major global issue. This book provides an in-depth examination of the three necessary conditions for the achievement of food security: (1) availability of food; (2) adequate incomes and (3) increasing agricultural productivity. The author draws lessons from history, explores these three conditions and discusses the prospect of feeding an expected nine billion people in 2050. The author discusses the major factors inhibiting food being available and explores how these constraints can be lifted. First, the book describes conditions necessary for food to be truly, consistently available. Second, adequate incomes and programs such as food stamps and foodbanks are explored. Third, the drivers of increasing agricultural productivity are examined. Agricultural economists and scientists, food policy practitioners in government and international organizations and food aid NGOs, and students of agriculture and public policy will find Food Security as thought-provoking as it is informative.

Events such as the COVID-19 pandemic and the war in Ukraine have drawn the subject of food security firmly into the public eye. This timely Handbook examines and responds to this pertinent topic, offering calculated solutions to food insecurity. Exploring an international range of perspectives surrounding food security, the Handbook of Food Security and Societyillustrates clear links between food and broader social welfare policy and economic determinants. Chapters describe histories of food security, its measurement and question the role of movements, such as charitable organisations, that have been involved in the food security debate. They resolutely locate food welfare as a fundamental human right. This comprehensive Handbook will be essential for politics, economics and social policy academics and researchers seeking to gain a clearer understanding of food security history and policy. It will additionally be beneficial to specific practitioners, such as nutritionists and policy makers, working to understand key connections between welfare strategies, wellbeing and food security.

Advances in Food Security and Sustainability, Volume Seven in this informative serial, highlights new advances in the field, with this new volume presenting interesting chapters on Nutritional improvement of cereal crops to combat hidden hunger during COVID-19 pandemic: Progress and prospects, Resilience and food security, Food insecurity in Lebanon, Promising technologies on food security and sustainability, and Agrobiodiversity.

Climate change, increasing population, food-versus-fuel economics, pandemics, etc. pose a threat to food security to unprecedented levels. It has fallen upon the practitioners of agriculture and technologists of the world to innovate and become more productive to address the multi-pronged food security challenges. Agricultural innovation is key to managing food security concerns. The infusion of data science, artificial intelligence (AI), advanced analytics, satellites data, geospatial data, climatology, sensor technologies, and climate modeling with traditional agricultural practices such as soil engineering, fertilizers use, and agronomy are some of the best ways to achieve this. Data science helps farmers to unravel patterns in fertilizer pricing, equipment usage, transportation and storage costs, yield per hectare, and weather trends to better plan and spend resources. AI enables farmers to learn from fellow farmers to apply best techniques that are transferred learning from AI to improve agricultural productivity and to achieve financial sustainability. Sensor technologies play an important role in getting real-time farm field data and provide feedback loops to improve overall agricultural practices and can yield huge productivity gains. Advanced Analytics modeling is essential software technique that codifies farmers' tacit knowledge such as better seed per soil, better feed for dairy cattle breed, or production practices to match weather pattern that was acquired over years of their hard work to share with worldwide farmers to improve overall production efficiencies, the best antidote to food security issue. In addition to the paradigm shift, economic sustainability of small farms is a major enabler of food security. The book reviews all these technological advances and proposes macroeconomic pricing models that data mines macroeconomic signals and the influence of global economic trends on small farm sustainability to provide actionable insights to farmers to avert any financial disasters due to recurrent economic crises.

The resilience of food systems and security to emerging challenges and threats, especially in the context of environmental and climate risks and global pandemics such as the Covid-19 crisis, is currently gaining growing importance in research, policy, and practice. Based on this, the core focus of this book, as a part of a series of CERES publications, consists of identifiying and exploring the best ways to overcome such challenges and shocks and to build resilience in the Global South. More precisely, the book analyzes current dynamics and trends related to the climate resilience of food security and assess the relevance of emerging approaches such as climate-smart agriculture, new roles of agriculture extension, smart farming, and climate adaptation of farming systems.The book includes both conceptual and empirical research reporting lessons learned from many geographical, environmental, social, and policy settings while focusing on Africa, Middle East, and Asia. It also provides research and policy-oriented inputs and recommendations to guide change processes at multiple scales.

This open access book compiles a series of chapters written by internationally recognized experts known for their in-depth but critical views on questions of resilience and food security. The book assesses rigorously and critically the contribution of the concept of resilience in advancing our understanding and ability to design and implement development interventions in relation to food security and humanitarian crises. For this, the book departs from the narrow beaten tracks of agriculture and trade, which have influenced the mainstream debate on food security for nearly 60 years, and adopts instead a wider, more holistic perspective, framed around food systems. The foundation for this new approach is the recognition that in the current post-globalization era, the food and nutritional security of the world’s population no longer depends just on the performance of agriculture and policies on trade, but rather on the capacity of the entire (food) system to produce, process, transport and distribute safe, affordable and nutritious food for all, in ways that remain environmentally sustainable. In that context, adopting a food system perspective provides a more appropriate frame as it incites to broaden the conventional thinking and to acknowledge the systemic nature of the different processes and actors involved. This book is written for a large audience, from academics to policymakers, students to practitioners. This is an open access book.

This book explores the multilateral control of agro-economic spaces in West African developing countries through international trade, spearheaded by the World Trade Organization's Agreement on Agriculture. Responding to growing food insecurity in the region, Ichimi here examines the web of intricacies in this arrangement by discussing some of the main international trade policies directly and indirectly impacting on food security in West Africa and critically engaging with empirical praxis as well as the theoretical underpinnings vis-a-vis multilateral strategies adopted for the amelioration of the crisis. In so doing, he expose how multilateral trading agreements under the auspices of the World Trade Organization produce negative outcomes for the food security status of a large and growing population in West Africa, privileging primary commodity production and export, maintaining the preference for food imports, and driving the pattern of agricultural investment towards an inexorable dependence of the sector on the dictates of the international market.

This book examines food resistance movements as a form of alternative food network, charting the author's journey as a cultural anthropologist through three food resistance movements. In Australia, freegans' consumption of 'garbage' in the food waste movement of the early 2000s reveals the extent of food going to waste from commercial sources while people go hungry. In contrast, Venezuela's food sovereignty movement is part of a national transition from a capitalist to socialist economy, highlighting processes of decentralisation, collectivisation, and government-grassroots' coalitions. The study of autonomous spaces in Catalonia illuminates how food sharing can enable people to live their politics, as well as the centrality of issues around urban governance, consumption, technology and use of space to food resistance efforts. This engaging volume brings an important and engaging contribution to current discussions around the transition to just and sustainable food systems.

OMICs-based Techniques for Global Food Security Forward-thinking resource discussing how to integrate OMICs and novel genome editing technologies for sustainable crop production OMICS-based Techniques for Global Food Security provides an in-depth understanding of the mechanisms of OMICs techniques for crop improvement, details how OMICs techniques can contribute to identifying genes and traits with economic benefits, and explains how to develop crop plants with improved yield, quality, and resistance to stresses through genome editing technologies, providing evidence on the developments of climate resilient crops via applications of genome editing techniques throughout. The text covers the application of OMICs in crop plants, the integration of bioinformatics and multi-OMICs for precision breeding, de-novo domestication, CRISPR/Cas system for crop improvement, hybrid seed production, transgene free breeding, regulation for genome edit crops, bioinformatics and genome editing, and other topics related to OMICs and genome editing. The text also includes a chapter on global regulations for genome edited crops, and explains how these regulations influence novel plant breeding techniques in their adopted countries. Edited by two highly qualified academics, OMICs-based Techniques for Global Food Security covers topics such as: Crops genome sequencing and their application for crop improvement, and functional characterization of cereal genome The role of OMICs-based technologies in plant sciences and utilization of different multi-OMICs approaches for crop improvement Genomic database and genetic resource of cereals, speed breeding for rapid crop improvement, and evolution of genome editing technologies CRISPR system discovery, history, and future perspective, and CRISPR/Cas system for biotic and abiotic stress resistance in cereals Providing a collection of recent literature focusing on developments and applications of OMICs-based technologies for crop improvement, OMICs-based Techniques for Global Food Security is an important read for plant breeders, molecular biologists, researchers, postdoctoral fellows, and students in disciplines for developing crops with high yield and nutritional potential.

This book makes a systematic study of the history, current situation and trend of China's food security and the global food security. COVID-19 has triggered a world food crisis. Understanding the history, current situation and trend of China's and global food security is conducive to the rational arrangement of agricultural production, food storage, scheduling and import by management departments; it is conducive to the understanding of the situation of food supply and demand; it is conducive to the rational arrangement of production and operation planning. This book systematically studies the history and experience of China's food security, analyzes the 9 major problems facing the current food security, calculates the potential food production, puts forward the strategies and countermeasures for food security in the next 20 years and puts forward 4 strategies and 8 countermeasures for ensuring food security. This book will be of great value to scholars of international relations and sinologists, and has special relevance to United Nations sustainable development goal 2, eliminating hunger.

In less than half a century (1978-2020), China has transformed itself from a country that barely fed itself to a powerful player in the global food system, characterized by massive food imports, active overseas agricultural engagement, and the global expansion of Chinese agribusiness. This Element offers a nuanced analysis of China's global food strategy and its impacts on food security and the international agri-food order. To feed a population of 1.4 billion, China actively seeks overseas agri-food resources whilst maintaining a high level of domestic food production. This strategy gives China an advantageous position in the global food system, but it also creates contradictions and problems within and beyond the country. This could potentially worsen global food insecurity in the long term.

This open access book considers the water, energy, food (WEF) nexus in the Pacific region. The region comprises seventeen sovereign countries and seven territories spread across the Pacific Ocean, a blue expanse that covers a fifth of the world's surface area but contains only 0.5% of the population--or 44.5 million people. The uniqueness of the Pacific and the need for a Pasifika-led approach to sustainability across environmental, societal and economical spheres requires this blue continent to be considered in a separate volume under the 'Water Security in a New World' series. This Pacific volume is focussed on water, energy and food security in Pacific Island Countries and Territories (PICTs) and the challenges produced by the impacts of anthropogenic climate change and human population pressures. The diversity of culture, traditional knowledge and ways of life across the Pacific are united by similar geographies and opportunities to apply a 'Pacific specific' WEF nexus approach; a coordinated approach to manage water, energy and food that is centred on active decision making across the three sectors to increase the security of each. Importantly, a WEF nexus approach builds on national and international efforts to date in the Pacific which include Integrated Water Resource Management, Ridge to Reef, Source to Sea, UNESCO Biosphere Reserves, Integrated Coastal Zone Management and other similar approaches. (...)